Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12.85345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

I have donated to this organization in the past several times. In January they sent a request for money that essentially where you can choose to give a donation and make it one and done which I did. It said to allow 8 weeks for it to take effect. I get continual harassment from CARE from not only Georgia but also from Merrifield, Virginia as well. I guess you could say just throw them out when they come in the mail. Now I am getting harassed continually via my private e-mail address as well. I wish I could file a more formal complaint for harassment with someone as they are total liars and harassers as well. I've reached the point where I am no longer polite with these people, especially after the uninvited invasion into my private e-mail. I don't know what else to do to stop the harassment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fine them if they continue to harass after being contacted to stop the harassment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Good luck getting off their mailing list. I have sent multiple requests in writing AND a personal letter to senior management and still they are happy to harass my frail, ill parents. It's unfortunate that any "care" the might have ends when they smell a dollar. BTW - they were warned that we would take this route to try to convince them to let my severely ill parents alone!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire their fundraising department and hire people who care about people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 13, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I convinced coworkers to join me in sending donations to CARE after a horrific natural disaster in the early 2000's. After that, the solicitations started coming...and coming...and coming. I tried to get off their mailing lists: via phone, snail mail, email...repeatedly. My coworkers were aggravated in the same way. It took years, not "4-8 weeks," and then finally the mailings stopped. Or so I thought. Some time passed, and I just got another solicitation. I used to work in the field of nonprofit development. It is not that difficult to record such donor wishes in a database system. CARE deserves this negative review.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Care results do not equal the high salary This says it all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

CARE's 3-star rating is below what one would expect for one of the highest paying non-profit execs. Compensation Paid to Title
$409,495 Helene D. Gayle President, CEO

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It appears that Carter Center functions more effectively than CARE, higher % of donations to program, consistently better ratings, lower executive pay, and perhaps a better focus on opportunity for improvement. CARE can try harder. I'm switching my donation in this category to Carter Center.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As someone who does a lot with nonprofits, it is a full time job–7 days a week/24 hours a day especially with our connected world. It's also complicated. CARE has a long history of doing good. Instead of focusing on the CEO, let's focus on the accomplishments. I've worked for and with CARE for years. When there is a disaster, they are there. And involved on so many levels from policy, women's health issues, gender discrimination, maternal health, hunger, disease and more. Does anyone want to imagine a world without CARE and similar organizations. I don't. Especially where there is so much injustice and preventable diseases and things left to resolve.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I wrote this charity, explaining that I could not contribute in the near future and suggested that they could try again in two years. It had no effect. Well, I tried. If they persist, I will keep any gifts received and throw everything else away.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

Let's say I am a former donor. I have been looking very closely at the salaries of the CEOs. I will not donate to CARE as long as the CEO makes $406,000. If they can afford to pay that high a salary, they don't need my money. I'll put it someplace locally.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 30, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 30, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

As another reviewer has noted, CARE uses nearly 90% of donations on its programs, and it meets all of the items on the Accountability & Transparency checklist. Apparently the rating gets knocked down a star mainly due to recent negative revenue growth. As for the high CEO salary, we should observe that it's a mere 0.06% of expenses--compared with lots of other charities, this is miniscule. I'm sure heading an organization of CARE's size and scope involves a heavy workload and great expertise, and you don't get top executives cheaply. Over the years I've seen lots of evidence of CARE's good work around the globe, and I'll continue to be a donor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

CARE encourages all of our U.S.-based supporters to join our CARE Action Network, a group of CARE advocates working to educate our nation’s leaders about issues related to global poverty. Join thousands of other supporters around the country in speaking out on behalf of women, children and poor families around the world.

CARE does not generally recruit volunteers for fieldwork for several reasons. Whenever possible, CARE works with local people in order to expand skills and knowledge in a county, as well as to ensure sustainability. Often, local laws prohibit or severely restrict the use of foreign volunteers. Most of our programs require specific expertise and several years of experience in international development and relief. Using volunteers internationally can be very costly in regard to airfare, meals, and lodging.

If you aren’t a U.S. resident or are interested in working abroad, please check http://bit.ly/CAREcareers for current career and internship opportunities. Or, you can contact our offices in countries around the world directly at http://bit.ly/CAREcountries

Volunteer