Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.986495
Write A Review
February 28, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

This nonprofit keeps me informed daily on my cancer and treatments. Without them I would be lost of any information about this rare cancer.
February 28, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 27, 2012

This is an amazing grass-roots organization that educates the public and carcinoid cancer patients. It is run by a couple in Long Island who started with nothing. The wife is a carcinoid patient who a... more

February 28, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

This group is one of a kind. The dedication of this couple to helping educate cancer patients about this cancer is unparalleled. This is the premier group to contact if a patient wants to know about carcinoid and neuroendocrine cancers. They keep up to date and have helped so many patients through their hotline, website, and conferences. Their fundraising efforts are many and have led to involvement by the foremost medical efforts in the field.
September 27, 2012

This is an amazing grass-roots organization that educates the public and carcinoid cancer patients. It is run by a couple in Long Island who started with nothing. The wife is a carcinoid patient who answers her phone night and day, runs conferences (the last one was in NOLA and had more than 450 registrants), fund-raising walks and galas and has come up with a large amount of money for research and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have seen this organization grow larger for the last 8 years. The education program is phenomenal, involving the key professionals in the area of carcinoid cancer and neuroendocrine tumors appearing at every function. This group represents international and national patients. The fundraisers are conducted in a professional manner and more and more people have been educated and helped by the money raised by this vibrant, undying, and unrelenting organization run by a woman with carcinoid cancer and her husband and other family members. The founder has appeared on radio programs, television programs, and has been a keynote speaker at many of the professional conferences. She is articulate, caring, and always available to those who have a need or desire to know about these diseases which have been virtually ignored, until recently, thanks to her work and the works of others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have attended events, read the brochures, seen patients who have been helped by this organization, met doctors foremost in the field, attended an annual gala, listened to Ms. Wahmann's radio appearances, explored the web site.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes. This is a very professional, efficiently run outreach and education program.

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

MaryAnn has done wonders to increase the knowledge both of patients, caretakers and the medical profession in general of Nets, the proper treatment,etc. she tirelessly organizes conferences, talks to anyone who calls her and is an inspiration to Carcinoid patients because of the way she has handled her own battles with the disease
March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with Carcinoid Cancer 2013. I had my surgery December 6 2013 to remove the prime location that it started at. I was lost on what step to take next. I went to three doctors that gave me different answers. I'm so thankful I found Maryann who also lives in Long Island and attended one of her meetings at Long Island Jewish Hospital. She gave me all the information I needed and led me on the right path on choosing my next step. Maryann has kept in touch with me since I spoke to her. She has given me more information than the doctors have! I'm no longer scared and feel safe that i can ask Maryann any question and know she will have an answer. I love the Zebra bracelets :)

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen first hand how this organization has helped so many cancer patients. This is an extremely helpful, knowledgable and caring organization .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I proudly support this charity and am pleased to be a volunteer in this organization. They strive to provide much needed information to patients with this disease and also to those treating them. They provide all kinds of assistance to support groups across the country and also sponsor much needed and valuable patient education conferences to help increase awareness and promote understanding of Carcinoid and neuroendocrine cancers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We count on them to send the info we need to educate doctors and newly diagnosed patients in our local support groups. (This is a disease called "rare" which is clearly much more prevalent and usually misdiagnosed for decades up to and including death. Educating MDs will save lives and educating patients will change imminent death to a long life with a manageable chronic disease.)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My brother in law has Carcinoid Cancer and this year I put on a fundraiser to raise money and awareness. Maryann with the Carcinoid Cancer Awareness Network got me everything I needed to help get the word out. I still keep the brochues in my businesses the the Carolina's. We need more people as dedicated to helping people understand and deal with like they are going through like Maryann with the Carcinoid Cancer Awareness Network.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Up until 3 years ago, I had never heard of Carcinoid Cancer...I have since had the pleasure of becoming close friends of the Wahmann Family, and have had the priveledge of being part of the CCAN experience....Watching Maryann and Bob spend time with Patients, families and doctors, Making people aware of not only the Disease itself, but the treatments available, who to call, what drugs to try has been such a rewarding experience for me to watch from an outside position The World needs to know about this disease, and CCAN is the organization to get it done!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers