Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.785715
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I am honored to be a part of the Capitol Commission. Jim Young, the state ministers and all others involved truly have a heart for the Lord and count it a blessing to serve our nation's many capitol communities. My hope and prayer is that God will enable us to place ministers in all 50 states.
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 8, 2013

For many years, an Indiana legislator was our neighbor, and we enjoyed getting to know him and his wife as we helped with campaigns for the past 14 years. While in high school our oldest son served as... more

October 31, 2014

Having known of Capitol Commission for several years, I would like to commend this nonprofit for the work they are doing in state capitols across the nation. The pressures and temptations of those in various leadership positions,as well as of their families, are immense. Capitol Commission chaplains come along side leaders to give spiritual support and encouragement. I have met many leaders who have been served by CC chaplains, and they are quite grateful for the chaplains' efforts in a culture of trust and confidentiality in this often lonely environment of public service. Having met many of those who serve in Capitol Commission, I am impressed by their integrity, knowledge and wisdom. I volunteer with the Indiana chaplain, however I have access to social media that serves leaders nationwide. These leaders state they are always grateful for any prayers and support they and their families receive. With very high respect for this nonprofit, I believe that the results of Capitol Commission's efforts will be evident for many generations to come.
September 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

For many years, an Indiana legislator was our neighbor, and we enjoyed getting to know him and his wife as we helped with campaigns for the past 14 years. While in high school our oldest son served as a personal intern for another legislator during two legislative sessions at the Indiana Statehouse. As a family we took an active interest in state government and became acquainted with even more legislators and helped with various other campaigns. Instead of being intimidated by those in authority, we discovered that they are real people with many of the same challenges that we all face. Those in leadership often face additional pressures both professionally and personally from being in public positions. Capitol Commission chaplains provide a tremendous ministry to elected officials as they build a culture of trust, care, and confidentiality. We have seen Capitol Commission's work close-up in the ministry of Rev. Matthew Barnes at the Indiana Statehouse. Capitol Commission state directors/chaplains do invaluable nonpartisan work by being available and "on call" for leaders daily and in times of joy and sorrow. Capitol Commission directors have a special ministry to carry out the mandate of 1Timothy 2 both in prayer and in service to elected leaders locally and nationwide. They are becoming a very positive and visible ministry which calls our nation to serve and pray for elected officials.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help promote visibility to every state and national elected leader so they could avail themselves to the chaplains' ministry. I would promote this ministry and call the nation to pray for all in authority.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

First, I thank God for CC leadership and those that make it continue to minister to public officials in local, state and national leadership for our nation.
Second. I believe that all citizens must engage themselves in Prayers with their financial support to keep CC going. It could be CC is the
only frame work God has provided to unite our politicians to make good decisions for nation.
I personally vote and pray for leaders in our nation regardless of their political stand. I also pray for international leaders of foreign nations-------whose decisions affect our national security.
It is my prayer that God will continue to give us men and women of good character. I and others travel to the nations of the third world to provide civic education to their citizens for the purpose to vote for issues that affect their daily lives. Third world leaders affect USA in our foreign policy.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Capitol Commission is fulfilling a strategically important role of providing pastoral support to public servants who are engaged in visible and high-pressured leadership roles that are often accompanied by ethical dilemmas, physical and financial hardships and stress on families. CC provides a context and avenue for prayer, wise counsel and encouragement for these politicians. Based on numerous firsthand testimonies I have heard, I believe investing in the ministry of CC makes a positive difference for these men and women.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I just want to say thanks to Capitol Commission for all that they do for our country, I live in the GA and to know that our state Representatives believe in doing GOD's work keeps me praying for our state leaders every day. GOD Is in the center of everything, GOD's ways are not man's ways.. let's seek him first in all that we do. T.HALL

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As one who loves my country and shares a keen interest in politics, I am so blessed to serve alongside one of Capitol Commission's State Directors in Indiana. What I appreciate about Matthew Barnes and this organization as a whole is their vision to reach our country's leaders with the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Their emphasis is not political party or agenda but on ministering to the needs of public servants and encouraging believers to pray for them. The impact here in the Indiana Statehouse has been far-reaching! Through teaching weekly Bible studies, organizing statehouse chapel services, meeting one-on-one with our legislators, and calling on churches to pray, I have seen first-hand how this Gospel emphasis is changing lives. Capitol Commission is fulfilling one of the greatest needs in our country: taking Jesus Christ and the message of the cross into the heart of our nation's capitols. I whole-heartedly support their efforts and greatly appreciate they sacrifices they make to invest their lives in this calling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Capitol Commission is a unique ministry because it is aimed at giving spiritual encouragement and support to politicians, whatever their party affiliation. Its work to generate prayer support for these dedicated people is growing exponentially, and gives people a positive, as opposed to the usual negative, way to be involved in the legislative process. As a naturalized citizen of the USA I am honored to be a part of this ministry and a part of my adopted land's democratic process.

Pam Russell

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I appreciate this organization who introduced me to an organized way to pray for my legislators. Because I receive notices on Facebook, I regularly pray for whichever legislator comes up for that day. THANK YOU Capitol Commission for keeping this on the forefront of my mind.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My brother is following his call to serve his country by praying for our political leaders. I'm extremely proud of the man he is and I look up to him spiritually. I love you Matt!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Praying for our government leaders is something I now do each day, after learning of the work Capital Commission does to encourage and bring God into our government houses. Frank Erb California State Director works tirelessly to serve The Lord in the mission field of Sacramento. Thanks to Frank, I am now aware of the difficult job our elected leaders face with demands, distractions and temptation. I believe the work of this organization serves God with each State Director bringing light into a some times dark place in our country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Distribute printed Bible studies to the offices of the state legislators and their staffs.