Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Write A Review
November 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

We are very enthusiastic supporters of Cape Abilities, which serves developmentally-challenged adults on Cape Cod. Our son, age 28, has Down Syndrome and attends the terrific day hab in Hyannis, MA.... more

November 25, 2014

Cape Abilities has enhanced the quality of life for our son tremendously. As a direct result of work of its gifted staff, our son now participates in community trips, swims at a local pool and has developed wonderful relationships with his peers. None of these achievements would have been possible without the dedication, creativity and commitment of Cape Abilities' staff. We are grateful for the superb work they do.
Innovation is the hallmark of the organization both in its work with people like our son, and in the Cape community. For example, just recently Michael's (retailer of arts and crafts supplies) generously donated 100 boxes of art supplies which Cape Abilities' people turned into holiday gifts for the elderly in nursing homes. Another think-outside-the-box concept which benefits all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to serve a greater geographical area since the work Cape Abilities does is so vital.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2012

We are very enthusiastic supporters of Cape Abilities, which serves developmentally-challenged adults on Cape Cod. Our son, age 28, has Down Syndrome and attends the terrific day hab in Hyannis, MA. Being in the program for the last three years has been an amazing, positive experience for him. He has learned many new skills, developed solid friendships with peers and with staff and even made significant advances in his verbal skills. Our son is not capable of working in the community, as many adults in the program do. But he has a broad choice of activities each day, ranging from bowling, swimming, music, dancing, etc. We give enormous credit to the dedicated, innovative staff. They are professionals through and through. What sets them apart from others is their commitment to ensuring that each person in the program thrives to the best of his or her ability. They are creative and tireless in seeking solutions to challenges - true think-outside-the-box problem solvers. We are thrilled we found such an excellent program for our son. Creativity runs throughout the organization. Both my husband and I are active in the organization. My husband volunteers two days a week at the Eastham, MA dayhab and loves it. He serves on the Human Rights and Finance Committees. I am on the Board of Directors. CapeAbilities is remarkably innovative at creating jobs for the people in the program by partnering with many local businesses and organizations, including for example Centerville Pie, Woods Hole Oceanographic Society, Gustare, "Farm to Table" in Chatham, Audobon Society, as well as many restaurants. One amazing venture is the CapeAbilities farm at Marstons Mills and the farm stand in Dennis, MA. CapeAbilities just opened a new wheel-chair-accessible green house in Hyannis so they can start the hydroponic tomato seeds early for the farm stand. Many consumers are able to work part-time at the farm and the farm stand and are proud they can earn a good paycheck. Cape Abilities' tomatoes win awards every summer. And chefs at the finest restaurants on the Cape are eager to obtain produce from the farm. Cape Abilities is a terrific organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My son started attending the Day Habilitation program 2 1/2 years ago and has gone from being afraid to leave the house to someone who looks forward to getting up and out of the house to Cape Abilities every day. He looks forward so much to going, that his birthday wish last March (while recovering from pneumonia) was to return to his program the next day. He got his wish and was ecstatic! I truly believe that without this organization in his life, his overall health and happiness would be compromised. He goes on outings every day and has made many new friends. It's been amazing to see the positive changes in his life, both mentally and physically. Thank you Cape Abilities for being such a positive influence in our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have been blessed to have had capeAbilities provide excellent services to our daughter for over 18 years. Through the years there have been many challengers for her; this organization has been extremely supportive of her needs and has assisted us all.

The professional manner from the
top administrators to the direct care staff is reflected by the many long term and dedicated employees. Seeing her continuing growth, self esteem, and confidence assisting her to reach her on going needs and potential is a credit to this wonderful community based program.

The vision, commitment, goals, innovating entrepreneurial spirit of this organization has been outstanding throughout Cape Cod.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My son started his Day Program at Cape Abilities about 18 months. Cape Abilities has a very structured and well run program for individuals that are developmentally challenged. The staff are very caring and interested in the consumers. Cape Abilities offer many activities and programs to help the consumers lead a maximum achievable life.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful



We are the parents of a consumer whose needs are being met at the highest level of care and interaction from the Staff of CapeAbilities Corcoran Center location in N.Eastham, Ma...Our son is working and enjoying his program and has for many years now. The Staff of CapeAbilities and the
Van drivers are very caring people and understand the needs of people like my son who has Downs Syndrome. The Staff are special people taking care of very special people. Sincerely Carole Taylor

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son Anthony has been attending Cape Abilities for ten years. This great organization helps to foster the psychological and physical growth of developmentally challenged adults.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter is a 20-something young lady who can neither walk nor speak. When she completed her school years she could have been facing a bleak future. This is when we were introduced to Cape Abilities. Now my daughter has a daily program of activities and exercise with a delightful group of friends. The clients and staff are all very supportive of each other's varying needs. There are structured exercise programs daily. There are special holiday celebrations from Halloween costume contests to Thanksgiving turkey dinners. Arts and Crafts groups are constantly updating the decor according to the season. In the summer there are outdoor picnics around Cape Cod, and year-round there are weekly activities and trips of interest to members. Each week there are multiple activities out in the community such as swiming, bowling, horseback riding and shopping. This program, with its capable and caring staff, has been a blessing for our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had several opportunities to use the services at Capeabilities and they have been fantastic. From the Farm in Dennis, the work groups doing garden work at my place of employment in Eastham or through the vending services they provide, they are just a fantastic organization providing guidance and work opportunities for their residents. Always positive, always smiling and always helpful!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We are extremely fortunate to have an organization like Cape Abilities employing adults with disabilities in our area. Their work in the community has assisted many businesses and provided a tremendous opportunity for positive work experiences for this often neglected segment of our population. Their staff has represented the organization with personality and their administrative staff is second to none. They should be commended and rewarded for these efforts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

What a wonderful organization. We love visiting their farm and the thrift store they operate. Everyone we have met has been friendly and welcoming. The pride exhibited at the farm is fantastic and the quality of the produce is superb.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Work with our participants to help grow our award-winning tomatoes! Volunteer