Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Write A Review
November 24, 2014

more

November 24, 2014

This is the first board I've ever served on and I can't imagine a more meaningful, upbeat organization! Group homes full of love and caring. Transportation getting participants safely to work, appointments or community events. Day programs with cutting edge technology, expansive learning. Creative programs teaching participants to refinish furniture, volunteering within the community and broadening their horizons in innumerable ways. But my favorite is to see everyone in action in their jobs - especially at the Cape Abilities Farm - growing tomatoes in a greenhouse, giving tours to shoppers, loading Christmas trees onto the roofs of cars. The pride in their work and the joy they exude is hard to explain and irresistible to be around. Opportunities are created, lives are changed. It's simple, Cape Abilities works!
November 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

We are very enthusiastic supporters of Cape Abilities, which serves developmentally-challenged adults on Cape Cod. Our son, age 28, has Down Syndrome and attends the terrific day hab in Hyannis, MA.... more

November 25, 2014

Cape Abilities has enhanced the quality of life for our son tremendously. As a direct result of work of its gifted staff, our son now participates in community trips, swims at a local pool and has developed wonderful relationships with his peers. None of these achievements would have been possible without the dedication, creativity and commitment of Cape Abilities' staff. We are grateful for the superb work they do.
Innovation is the hallmark of the organization both in its work with people like our son, and in the Cape community. For example, just recently Michael's (retailer of arts and crafts supplies) generously donated 100 boxes of art supplies which Cape Abilities' people turned into holiday gifts for the elderly in nursing homes. Another think-outside-the-box concept which benefits all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to serve a greater geographical area since the work Cape Abilities does is so vital.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2012

We are very enthusiastic supporters of Cape Abilities, which serves developmentally-challenged adults on Cape Cod. Our son, age 28, has Down Syndrome and attends the terrific day hab in Hyannis, MA. Being in the program for the last three years has been an amazing, positive experience for him. He has learned many new skills, developed solid friendships with peers and with staff and even made significant advances in his verbal skills. Our son is not capable of working in the community, as many adults in the program do. But he has a broad choice of activities each day, ranging from bowling, swimming, music, dancing, etc. We give enormous credit to the dedicated, innovative staff. They are professionals through and through. What sets them apart from others is their commitment to ensuring that each person in the program thrives to the best of his or her ability. They are creative and tireless in seeking solutions to challenges - true think-outside-the-box problem solvers. We are thrilled we found such an excellent program for our son. Creativity runs throughout the organization. Both my husband and I are active in the organization. My husband volunteers two days a week at the Eastham, MA dayhab and loves it. He serves on the Human Rights and Finance Committees. I am on the Board of Directors. CapeAbilities is remarkably innovative at creating jobs for the people in the program by partnering with many local businesses and organizations, including for example Centerville Pie, Woods Hole Oceanographic Society, Gustare, "Farm to Table" in Chatham, Audobon Society, as well as many restaurants. One amazing venture is the CapeAbilities farm at Marstons Mills and the farm stand in Dennis, MA. CapeAbilities just opened a new wheel-chair-accessible green house in Hyannis so they can start the hydroponic tomato seeds early for the farm stand. Many consumers are able to work part-time at the farm and the farm stand and are proud they can earn a good paycheck. Cape Abilities' tomatoes win awards every summer. And chefs at the finest restaurants on the Cape are eager to obtain produce from the farm. Cape Abilities is a terrific organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was thrilled when I was first asked to serve on the CapeAbilities board over 15 years ago. At the time, I had (and have) a niece with special needs--- and as a newcomer, I was very motivated to learn all I could about this organization and its wonderful mission to serve people like Lin. Since that time, I have come to admire the competent and deeply sensitive management skills which staff members bring to their daily efforts to stabilize, improve, and give meaning to the lives of so many on Cape Cod. I have been grateful for the opportunities which serving CapeAbilities have given me to support its work in the Cape Cod community--- both as an involved volunteer and through my own annual donations to a very deserving organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My son started attending the Day Habilitation program 2 1/2 years ago and has gone from being afraid to leave the house to someone who looks forward to getting up and out of the house to Cape Abilities every day. He looks forward so much to going, that his birthday wish last March (while recovering from pneumonia) was to return to his program the next day. He got his wish and was ecstatic! I truly believe that without this organization in his life, his overall health and happiness would be compromised. He goes on outings every day and has made many new friends. It's been amazing to see the positive changes in his life, both mentally and physically. Thank you Cape Abilities for being such a positive influence in our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have been blessed to have had capeAbilities provide excellent services to our daughter for over 18 years. Through the years there have been many challengers for her; this organization has been extremely supportive of her needs and has assisted us all.

The professional manner from the
top administrators to the direct care staff is reflected by the many long term and dedicated employees. Seeing her continuing growth, self esteem, and confidence assisting her to reach her on going needs and potential is a credit to this wonderful community based program.

The vision, commitment, goals, innovating entrepreneurial spirit of this organization has been outstanding throughout Cape Cod.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Family Pantry of Cape Cod is most appreciative of the support that CapeAbilities has provided to us in many ways. For the past few years we have had a CapeAbilities Team help access nutritious food for us at Stop & Shop, which is a huge benefit to us. Most recently we have a CapeAbilities group that comes and works in our garden sharing their expertise from their own garden. It is our privilege to work with people from this fine organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am fortuante to serve as a board member of CapeAbilities. The commitment and dedication of all involved in this organization is incredible. We all work toward our mission of helping those with disabilities on Cape Cod by educating, counseling and providing residential, therapeutic, social and employment supports so as to empower them to achieve meaningful and valued roles in society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of working for the CapeAbilities' programs for the past eleven years. Their work is outstanding in not only bringing quality programs to men and women with disabilities, but also with their work with their members' parents and relatives. They have a broad range of different programs to assist the many and varied needs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I first became acquainted with CapeAbilities about 4 years ago. This is truly a wonderful organization which does so much for individuals with challenges. CapeAbilities's programs have given these individuals skills and confidence that they can and do make a valuable contribution; help build self esteem and self worth. I am proud to donate to this wonderful local non-profit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've known Cape Abilities for a number of years and the impact they have on the individuals they serve is simply amazing! Every time I walk in there, I can see the smiling faces of the people they impact. And it's not just that but also thanks to their business focus and their collaborative approach, they have a great rep all over Cape Cod... I'm proud to be involved with Cape Abilities, their staff, volunteers and all individuals impacted.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Work with our participants to help grow our award-winning tomatoes! Volunteer