Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
123.0238145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I support the HRC, UFW, Southern Poverty Law , Heifer with monthly donations and 3 African groups where I volunteer for a few months yearly. I was approached by CFC street worker while entering a shop in Hillcrest. I immediately needed to walk away. I felt like the street canvasser was doing a drug deal , no info packets, no table with info....and I being a bleeding heart gave him my credit card info!!
Pure stupidity on my part. At home I called and emailed to cancel monthly donations. Them I did some research and was not wanting to donate. I still have not had a response to email or phone calls.
I advise best to support reputable groups ...HRC does amazing work. Anyone can hang a shingle ask for $$$ and line their pockets.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I would like to take a moment to explain these reviews. Though I am a donor with Canvass for a Cause, I am also an independent contractor with the organization. I am both of these things because I believe in the values of CFAC and the impact we have on the community.

We are not perfect.


The recent explosion of reviews on this site are unfortunately not from our donors, coalition partners or high school students whose GSA's we visit but from former employees, who are also not perfect. I personally wish them the best in their futures and hope that soon they can let go of the past and continue to enjoy their lives as the happy people they once were.

I ask only that we treat each other with respect. Here, in person, and forever. We are all better than this as people and as an organization.

Please call if you have any questions about the activism at Canvass for a Cause and we hope you have a great day!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create better communication between employees. It breaks my heart to see it coming down to reviews on a website.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

this organization is very sketchy. they stand outside stores and collect donations to "end bullying" but the money goes to a whole host of other issues including medical marijuana. they have a huge staff that gets paid from these donations but from what i can tell very little (if any) of the money actually goes toward anti bullying efforts. i dont appreciate a group soliciting donations to pad their own pockets and not to make actual change.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am still unclear about this organization. I like to give people the benefit of the doubt, and after having a conversation with two canvassers yesterday, I agreed to make a one time donation. They were very informative and seemed well-meaning, BUT when I went home and tried to go to their website, found it was no longer up. Now, that might be a question of underfunding, but it rubs me the wrong way. There's plenty of ways to get free web hosting, and I feel mislead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went through the process that they told me to do in order to cancel and they are STILL charging me two months later. Going to try to go to my bank and despute the charge, I hope it works. I wish I could give this Org 0 stars. :[[[[[[

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I was approached by a canvasser outside a store and gave what I thought was a one time contribution because I support gay rights. I made sure to tell the canvasser, Holly, this was one time only because I am a student and could only afford that. Then come to find out my credit card was being charged monthly, and they produced a monthly contribution form with my signature on it... getting the money back is impossible and canceling also complicated, can't just cancel over the phone. When I started researching the organization after this sour experience, I found out that they are actually don't send any of the contributions to Equality California (the t-shirt canvasser was wearing!!), but keep it all for themselves! So instead of legitimate canvassing organizations like Grassroots Campaigns that are hired by EQ or HRC or the ACLU to do fundraising, these guys at CFAC pocket all the money, and pretend that the very act of hitting people for money outside stores is in and of itself a charitable cause, what a scam!!! Most people donating are sympathetic to gay rights already, and besides their whole pitch is all about the $, so they do nothing to advance gay rights, but just leach off the credulity of a well meaning public. I guess they have only been in business since 2010 and were started by an ex- GCI employee who was fired for embezzlement (obviously facts I was NOT aware of when I decided to make a donation..) , so it's only a matter of time until they are hopefully busted by the Feds, but in the meantime other well meaning people like myself get taken advantage of. It's really a despicable business model, can't believe I was so gullible, I just thought they were like GCI, to whom I have also donated in the past. BIg mistake, don't make it...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

While I believe in donating to causes that deserve it, I am looking for a different org to donate to. I originally signed up to donate $10 a month but CFAC continued to charge me $28 every time. Every time I emailed or called them in order to change this, they always sent me the same copied/pasted email about sending a letter via mail and that it'll take 30 days to process and that they will continue to charge my card until it has been processed. This isn't fair at all. As soon as my donation is cancelled, I'll be sure to never give them a cent again. Telling my friends to stay away as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

LeT me start by saying, I was a bit a concerned by some fo the stuff I read on this website. I really wonders myself about why people would get involved with a group that has bad reviews. That was until I actually met one of the staffers, and boy couldn't I be wrong. I met one of the staff, Nico, out in front of Target, and I had my suspicions, who wouldn't after reading all this. But we had an epic conversations about the issue of gay marriage, and how to change the average persons mind. He asked me for money, which I understand since the group is mostly funded bynthier efforts in the field. I said no, at first, then watched him. Conversations after conversation he poured out his heart to the people he was talking to. Not a single person donated, but clearly that wasn't his aim because he kept on preaching and passionately making the case for me, and my equality; the case I had never made myself.
One woman he talked with was a super religious type. She went off about the bible, and he just smiled. 5 min later she told him how sorry she was... That was amazing, I've never seen anything like it. I became a monthly donor that very day, and every day I am so happy there is someone out there fighting for me.

Over read the negative, and I was persuaded until I actually met someone who understands what this group really does. They all make very little like 500 a week, and even the head of the group doesn't make much compared to most people who have his job. 25,000 is not something to get rich by (they have their financial disclosure one ther website, the IRS form 990, read it before you believe the hype). Obviously they have pissed off a lot of people, and who doesn't that is doing things so different than the rest. Ive participated in a lot of gay , , groups, hrc, eqca, but none that I see every week out there in the streets trying so hard just to persuade people. It's a true inspiration

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching what they do in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask more people to call them up, or watch them or volunteer

February 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was approached by a volunteer 3 months ago. I think this is a good cause and had given before, so I had no problem doing it again. It wasn't until after all the paperwork was filled out that I was notified that I had signed up for a monthly donation. I wasn't sure about this at first, but since I was only giving a small amount and gave frequently anyway, I decided it was easier to do it that way. I was told that I would be emailed my account information once the donation processed so that I could change the amount I gave as need and keep track of it. I did not receive that information even after the money was taken out of my account, so I contacted Canvass for a Cause to ask for it. I was given the run around for several weeks until the finally stopped responding at all. The money continued to be withdrawn from my account, however. I then followed the instructions on their site and requested in writing that my donation be canceled. I did this both in letter form and through email. However, the next month the money was again withdrawn from my account. I have called and left several messages and sent several emails and have received no response. I'm considering legal action. I will NEVER donate to this organization again due to the extreme mishandling of my account.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Donating

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them much more responsible with their funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

What would you tell others about this organization?

Avoid it completely. They are untrustworthy.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers