Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
123.0238145
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
January 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

THEY ARE A COMPLETE SCAM,
I'M ALL UP FOR THE MOVEMENT OF GAY RIGHTS AND TO STOP BULLYING HOWEVER I REFUSE TO BE TAKING ADVANTAGE OF MYSELF, SOME GIRL STOPPED ME, AND OF COURSE MY HEART WAS IN THE RIGHT PLACE WHEN I VOLUNTEERED, I'M NO MILLIONAIRE I'M JUST AN AVERAGE HUMAN WITH AN AVERAGE JOB
BUT I STILL DECIDED TO DONATE 5.00 DOLLARS EVERY MONTH TO HELP THIS MOVEMENT, ONCE I LEFT THE GIRL MUST HAVE HAD SOME TYPE OF QUOTA TO MEET, BECAUSE SINCE OCTOBER THEY HAVE BEEN TAKING 15.00 OUT EVERY MONTH, I HAD'NT NOTICED THE PRICE BECAUSE LETS BE HONEST MOST PEOPLE DON'T CHECK EVERY SINGLE PURCHASE THEY MAKE ON THERE STATEMENTS, AND I'M USUALLY PRETTY GOOD ON WHO I GIVE THAT INFORMATION TOO, SO I NOTICED TODAY AND CALLED JUST TO CXL, NOTHING MORE BUT THE LADY THEN TOLD ME I HAD ONE MORE DONATION, FIRST OF ALL THIS IS A (DONATION) ARE YOU REALLY GIVING PEOPLE A CONTRACT ON WHEN THEY HAVE TO PAY?? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? SO THEN I WENT INTO DETAIL ON HOW I ALREADY FELT SCAMMED BY THERE COMPANY. THEY HAD BEEN TAKING 10.00 MORE THEN WHAT I EVEN AGREED TO OFFERING THE LADY SHARON OR SHANNON WAS SO DISRESPECTFUL AND RUDE. YOUR REPRESENTING THIS CHARITY, AND THIS MOVEMENT SORRY CUSTOMER SERVICE IS REQUIRED CHARITY OR NOT. BUT TO MAKE MATTER WORST SHE THEN HUNG UP ON ME, WOAH LADY YOU SERIOUSLY SHOULD BE OUT OF A JOB WITH AN ATTITUDE LIKE THAT. ANYWAY I NEVER EVER WRITE REVIEWS BUT AFTER THAT CONVERSATION I WANT TO AWARE ANYONE I CAN TO NOT DONATE TO THIS CHARITY THERE'S PLENTY OUT THERE WITH BETTER ATTITUDES AND DON'T SCAM INNOCENT PEOPLE

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

YES GET VOLUNTEERS OR HIRE PEOPLE WITH BETTER ATTITUDES, AND DOUBLE CHECK WITH CUSTOMERS BEFORE CHARGING THEM THE AMOUNT, SINCE CLEARLY YOUR VOLUNTEERS OR EMPLOYESS LIKE TO FORGE.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I support the HRC, UFW, Southern Poverty Law , Heifer with monthly donations and 3 African groups where I volunteer for a few months yearly. I was approached by CFC street worker while entering a shop in Hillcrest. I immediately needed to walk away. I felt like the street canvasser was doing a drug deal , no info packets, no table with info....and I being a bleeding heart gave him my credit card info!!
Pure stupidity on my part. At home I called and emailed to cancel monthly donations. Them I did some research and was not wanting to donate. I still have not had a response to email or phone calls.
I advise best to support reputable groups ...HRC does amazing work. Anyone can hang a shingle ask for $$$ and line their pockets.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Cfac is an organization full of hypocrites!!! they owe us a public disclosure of their budget and leadership salaries…..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recomend nobody donate and monthly members cancel your donation!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I would like to take a moment to explain these reviews. Though I am a donor with Canvass for a Cause, I am also an independent contractor with the organization. I am both of these things because I believe in the values of CFAC and the impact we have on the community.

We are not perfect.


The recent explosion of reviews on this site are unfortunately not from our donors, coalition partners or high school students whose GSA's we visit but from former employees, who are also not perfect. I personally wish them the best in their futures and hope that soon they can let go of the past and continue to enjoy their lives as the happy people they once were.

I ask only that we treat each other with respect. Here, in person, and forever. We are all better than this as people and as an organization.

Please call if you have any questions about the activism at Canvass for a Cause and we hope you have a great day!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create better communication between employees. It breaks my heart to see it coming down to reviews on a website.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a Cfac employee for three years, I have repeatedly witnessed acts of vengeful retaliation, by leadership. to shame, mock or humiliate ANYONE from asking obvious and innocent questions reguarding Cfacs methods. Weather at storefronts with supporters, during staff meetings with leadership. or on this website, ALL perfect examples of how this organizations top leadership attempts to absolutely reject and deny any form of accountabilty... The bottom line is simple....Cfac claims it raised over $600,000 last year, BUT..., spent well over that amount......Prove it Cfac!!!..... Prove it with a public accounting....The leadership of this organization touts its policy of total transpareny however launches smear campaigns against ANYONE who asks them to deliver on that boast.. All of us wunder...Why must that be??????

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

prompt a criminal investigation of its methods

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I currently work for CFAC and have for over a year. I can say WITH EVERY FIBER OF MY BEING that this is one of the most organized, structured, and passionate non profits I have EVER encountered. Leadership CONSISTENTLY gives support and education to all employees. Where else can you work that is concerned for your emotional AND physical well being? I can tell you: NOWHERE. Every employee is able to discuss ANY problems, concerns, complaints, etc with ANYBODY, providing they do ask for consent from the other individual. These FEW former employees on this site that keep howling about "safe space" obviously don't understand the definition of SAFE SPACE. It goes both ways. You may feel comfortable in the safe space enough to open up about issues YOU DEEM as problematic, but that DOES NOT give you the right to force those emotions onto others in said safe space. You MUST ask for consent. Otherwise, you are violating the OTHER person's SAFE SPACE. The sword cuts both ways. I can say WITH CONVICTION, that no job is all lavender and roses. EVERYONE and EVERY ORGANIZATION has it's bad days. That being said, here is some advice: If you are SOOOOO unhappy EVERYDAY with what you do for a living, and continually come into work sowing that negative energy and throwing it onto others like a giant sprinkler system, MAYBE you are in the wrong line of
work. This job isn't for everyone. Be a mature adult and bow out gracefully and with some DIGNITY. ALSO, instead of holding onto anger over one little organization and writing scathing and defaming, derogatory reviews about that organization, shouldn't you do something for YOU? Like look for other means of employment. Rent and food ain't free people. No matter what, we all have to make a living. Pick yourself up, dust yourself off, wipe away your tears, and MOVE ON WITH YOUR LIFE. You are only hurting yourself by holding onto all this anger. Let it go. Get a job. Live.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything. It is a wonderful, open place that is accepting of ALL PEOPLE.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Canvass for a cause it's a shameful organization. Let me preface this was saying the reason that no one has come out until now is that anybody who is fighting against the executive director who is also a lawyer and many of the board members who are best friends with the Executive Director are lawyers, have been blackmailed into silence. The sad thing is even though the brand itself is dead unsuspecting, caring individuals will be manipulated by their canvassers day in and day out into giving them at least small amounts of cash to sustain themselves until all the money is stolen and gone by the Corrupt leaders And unethical people that support them, run the organization Into the ground. Anybody who gives this organization a positive review is somebody that has invested their own money or profits from the success and continued corruption of this organization. You will see you on this website countless ex-employees and some anonymous current employees that explain how things really are there. The sad fact is this organization could've been great. The problem is trust was put into the wrong hands and those hands failed us. Many ex-employees have walked away burnt tired and pained and want nothing to do With bringing these Shameful "activists" to justice, they just want to walk away because they're so sick and tired of it. But more and more people that have had their hopes and dreams smashed by this organization are coming together to make sure that they don't hurt anyone else. That means anyone that They hold to the standard of an employee yet pay as an independent contractor, no sick time, no vacation time, no holiday pay and certainly no help with taxes. Do your research, cfac is the only canvasaing organization in San Diego that does not count their fundraisers as employees. I've been in leadership, I know exactly why they do it and it's to save money. Less money paid To IRS in taxes for employees, more money in the directors and executive directors pockets. With that you're on your own and that also includes employees that they have denied and fought hard to prevent Any ex-employee unemployment. Truth is contagious. and the truth is out there Cfac. you hurt good people. you believed liars. you screwed over "friends" and coworkers who supported you no matter what, even when it might have been YOU that were fired. Is minimum wage or a little more than that worth your integrity? it ended up not being worth mine.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you tell others about this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ugh tired of this place taking advantage of good, kind, hard working people i seen a lot of change happen in this place and i can say its not for good. i have seen many great people try to speak out against the corruption and one by one they were fired. its so sad to see all the good ppl there who are scared to speak out they call that a "safe space" ha!!! i was once afraid of them myself afraid to lose my job they are bullies isn't that ironic since they claim to work against that ha if only people could see what goes on in that place they claim also to be workers rights oriented well i can say from experience that they are not. i will NEVER go back to CFAC EVER unless one day people decide to push the bad out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

i agree with the reviews that state that this organization is sketchy and the money does not go to wha the fundraisers in the field say that it goes to. I worked for this organization since it was only six months old, I've been in all positions of leadership, and I have never seen them work on a real campaign. The board members are not active in the governing of the organization and nobody has control over the budget but the top three directors. Their salaries are inflated, meanwhile employees get paid the bare minimum that you can pay someone to call somebody them an employee by law. Anybody that tries to voice dissent against the corrupt and manipulative behavior of the leadership gets fired. Including people that have built the organization into what it is today. No one is exempt from getting fired except the people that suck up to the current leadership. and work to keep the status quo. As early as last night, employees tried to get together to make change and fight against the opressive nature of their bosses and this morning at least one of those employees were fired. Do not give money to this organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you tell others about this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I was a staff manager at Cfac for several years and as such, was privy to much of the design structure and development of each campaign during my tenure.This organizations primary function is to guarentee the continued employment of its upper management leadership through its daily fundraising initiative. The rhetoric deployed at storefronts by canvassers is crafted in order to compel supporters to donate as generously as possible, alledgedly, to provide the staffing and tools required to successfully protect the Student Non Discrimination Act, and or facilitate its safe passage and integration.

The money raised by Cfac, through that enterprise , in no way, lends direct support to anti bullying legislation!!! ...The donations instead go predominately, to pet projects launched by top leadership. Initiatives like marches and protests against marijuanna bans, rallies to "free Bradley Manning".and and a host of other projects that have traditionally been undertaken by a staff of UNPAID volunteers. The revenue garnered by canvassing largely goes to justifying inflated payrolls of largely inactive leadership and to fund the payroll of the canvass staff that solicites the donations of well meaning supporters

The organization expends great energy constructing,destributing and protecting its manipulative and deceitful practices and has caused great harm to way of live and reputation to those who attempt to evoke reform of those whose methods betray the community and those who support it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers