Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Canines With a Cause helped us adopt our dog, Darwin, earlier this year, and we greatly appreciated their service and time. They were patient and welcoming as we discussed the possibility of meeting Darwin. And they graciously met us at a convenient location near our home so we could meet him. The representative we met with had so much info about the dog, and obviously cared a great deal about the home he was going to. We had support to make sure it was the right fit, and they even let us do a week long trial foster period. Canines With a Cause very clearly wanted to better our home life and give us the companion we wanted. They included his collar, crate, vaccines, and a microchip for Darwin, which we were very grateful for! I have since recommended people to CWAC and will continue to do so!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am a USMC Nam Era Veteran disabled Federal Fire Fighter of over 24 years, and former Correctional Sergeant/Fire Safety Officer. With the passing of our 2 canines Poke 2009 & Acacia Embers 2011, that we had adopted in CA, our family was not complete without the occasion bark, wag and paws on our laps, or going places as a family, camping and walking with our canine children, drawing others attention and praise.

PetFinders led us to Hank aka the Hank'ster, which brought us in touch with Canines With A Cause, adoption went smoothly and there was more laughter in our home once again...Hank a 3-4 month old Border Collie who had his own medical challenges in his young life. CWAC helped us with his treatment and CWAC since became part of our Family as well. I will not throw out any names as Buddy another BC rescued by CWAC came into our home to be Fostered until AD Journey, returned from Dog Trials in So.CA., where our family are from...and upon AD's return, Buddy had bonded so well with Hank, it was decided Buddy belonged here...and over 18 months later they remain close as Brothers.

https://www.facebook.com/hank.n.buddy and http://hankpokewilliamsjr.blogspot.com/

Now our family including 2 Felines and a Cockatiel are very happy, well our Felines (George & Janome) have another opinion, as in keeping a low profile, being quiet and watching from above....that is from the top of our TV cabinet. Hank n Buddy are very quiet, well behaving, lovable, love to play, ignore the Felines and love being with family...we could not ask for more, other than if we can only do more for CWAC and their Mission, as a family. And we offer to foster other CWAC rescues if needed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing has to be done, only the need of more support from the community so CWAC can grow and meet the need of Veterans and Special Need humans bonding with canines for a more rewarding and fulfilling life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I was able to adopt s dog through Canines with a Cause. It was the best and easiest adoption process I have ever been through. I have adopted 4 other dogs. 2 have passed away.
I will continue to adopted from them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Canines with a cause stays with you as you try to go through whether adopting a rescue dog, or training a service dog. They help you find the right dog with your needs. They're a great organization that fill a great need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

** I adopted a young yellow lab, through CWAC. At first, he was so crazy and hyper. I often considered returning him, and giving up being his forever home. His name is Romeo. He saved my life. Keeping him was like deciding to live. Suicide was no longer an option. I needed him. He needed me. We toughed it out. Now we are better friends then I could have ever imagined. I thank CWAC for saving Romeo from a shelter, and indirectly saving me from suicide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I was referred to Cath King's organization, Canines with a Cause (CWAC), I was looking for a dog which would help me cope with my PTSD. I have suffered from severe PTSD symptoms and knew that animals provide many helpful things to vets like me. Also, I did already have a dog named Timmy who is 14 years old and showing signs of deteriorating health and was losing his zest for life. Aware that he was likely to pass away in the near future, I feared that losing his companionship while living alone would be a devastating change. I felt that if I had another companion that I have bonded with, That event would be less painful. Also, there was a chance that bringing a new young dog into Timmy's life could bring to him new vitality.

I was referred to Cathy by my Equine Therapist Dr. Laurie Sullivan-Sakaeda when I asked her if she knew how I could obtain a PTSD certified service dog. Cathy And I spoke about my needs abd the needs of Timmy--my loyalty to Timmy gave him veto power over the choice of a dog. She already gad a dog in mind.

Unfortunately, the fiest choice was not successful because the puppy's size and energy bewildered Timmy. It was decided that a small breed and slightly older and calmer dog was necessary. Then came Puck, as he is now named. They were introduced to each other in a large quiet room and allowed to interract. It seemed the match might be a success. Puck was very docile, though he growled at first meeting.

Puck is a little Chihuahua like dog. He was very shut-down when I got him. It didn't take long for him to open up in my home with just me and Timmy. I was very careful to only show him love and patience so as to not set him back. When his personality revealed itself as he felt safe, I gave him the name Puck from Shakespeare's misunderstood and mischievous character from one of his plays.

I actually find those personalty traits in him endearing. It gives me plenty of opportunities ti observe, write about, and photograph his odd behaviors. It seems he is revealing something new almost daily.

The relationship with Timmy is definitely beneficial. Timmy seems to always be happy and more engaged now. He has resumed some of the puppy-like behaviors he used to have (some not mentionable in polite company). Timmy is almost completely deaf abd could not greet ne at the door anymore because he couldn't hear me come in. Now Puck sits on the window sill and waits for me and his bark is loud enough to alert Timmy. Now I have two dogs that greet me with enthusiasm when I come home.

As for a help for help coping with my PTSD, animals like my dogs and even the horses I work with are always about being in the moment. PTSD is an illness that rudely takes one out of the moment into a painful past. Anything that help keep one in the present or helps bring one ba.ck to the present when in a dark place is of great help.

CWAC has provided food for my dog when I was in need, access to good discounted veterinary care, and volunteers to care for my dogs when I was incapacitated. I believe Cathys organization has brought a new light into my life and given me a sense that my service was neither in vain nor forgotten. I have a greater trust for the inherent decency of most people as witnessed in the work of CWAC. Thank you Cathy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk dogs or help Veterans in our training program Volunteer