Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I had a wonderful opportunity to foster a CWAC dog. The goal of this organiation is such a win-win for all involved. The more you understand the far reaches of this program....the more it's importance to the communities it touches becomes apparent. Take a moment....learn more and I'm sure you'll want to be supportive and involved in some way with Canines with a Cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I love the ways in which this organization is growing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have had the privilege of knowing the Canines with a Cause team since the concepting phase for this amazing not-for-profit organization. I am continually at awe by the dedication and service this team provides to Military Veterans as well as well deserving shelter animals. The concept of this pairing is so logical and natural. The execution takes a loving and diligent team willing to make continual sacrifices on behalf of this program. To date 165+ animals have been placed in loving homes. This not only means that 165+ shelter animals have been saved from a life of total uncertainty, it also means that 165+ loving families have been given the gift of unconditional love and companionship. The time and financial resources necessary to make these connections happen are a necessary part of the equation - but the return makes every minute and dollar spent well worth it. BRAVO Canines With A Cause for your diligent work serving both the shelter animal community as well as the Military Veterans community. You are an incredible group!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their grant funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 24, 2012

I used to train Seeing Eye dogs for the blind in NJ. I did this for 15 years. I loved the whole process of matching the right dog to the right person. Then, watching them blossom into a team was am... more

October 31, 2013

I have volunteered with CWAC, then hired a year ago. I have been working with shelter dogs and veterans closely. It is awesome to see how dogs can change a veterans life. I constantly point our to our participants any change I see in their own personality. I see a lot of smiles when thing go well. This is a great organization that I am happy to work for.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2012

I used to train Seeing Eye dogs for the blind in NJ. I did this for 15 years. I loved the whole process of matching the right dog to the right person. Then, watching them blossom into a team was amazing to watch. The hard work I put into training a dog for a blind person and then watching what I did for someone was VERY rewarding. Because of my husband's job, I moved here to Utah and got involved with CWAC because of a good friend of mine. This program helps to match veterans with PTSD with the perfect dog that they themselves, through the expertise of a head trainer, will take classes to learn how to train there own service dog. Being involved with this whole process brings me back to my days working for The Seeing Eye. I feel the same reward for taking a shelter dog and matching them to a veteran who can change their life forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My involvement with Canines with a Cause has been virtually since the beginning. The work and effort produced by this organization is so underrated they definitely deserve any accolades coming their way. The lives they save and impact from both a human and canine point of view are truly remarkable. Cathy King is amazing, as well as all the volunteers, board members and everyone who make the organization what it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Canines with a cause stays with you as you try to go through whether adopting a rescue dog, or training a service dog. They help you find the right dog with your needs. They're a great organization that fill a great need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

Canines With a Cause is making a difference in the lives of shelter dogs as well as the veterans who benefite from the unconditional, non-judgemental love they provide. The training process is wonderf... more

October 31, 2013

I have been involved with CWAC since inception. This organization not only gives shelter dogs another chance to have loving homes, the dogs enhances the lives if the veterans they are partnered with. The dogs will soon be trained in a local prison, the offenfers in the prison will benefit from skills learned training and grooming the dogs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

Canines With a Cause is making a difference in the lives of shelter dogs as well as the veterans who benefite from the unconditional, non-judgemental love they provide. The training process is wonderful therapy and gives the veterans a sense of accomplishment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

For years, I appreciated the work Cathy King and Canines with a Cause did . . . every rescue saved two lives. But, in addition to saving animals from shelters and giving veterans companions, Cathy was generous with her time. On numerous occasions she came to my classroom to help my eighth and ninth grade students understand that animals matter. Cathy taught my children how to write letters to legislators and about sustainable rescue.

Then, on July 9th, Cathy called me. A few months earlier, I lost a sweet senior poodle. She told me about Timmy. Timmy spent most of his life helping a veteran with PTSD. When his veteran could no longer care for him, Cathy asked if he could stay with me.

Almost 15-years-old, without teeth, hard-of-hearing, unable to see very well and little wobbly, Timmy moved into my home. His big heart, gentle spirit, lopsided ears and sweet appreciation for everything re-taught me how to love.

A month later, I accepted a position on the Board for Canines with a Cause. CWAC makes a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing about the organization . . .I only wish we had a ranch so we could save more animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

** I adopted a young yellow lab, through CWAC. At first, he was so crazy and hyper. I often considered returning him, and giving up being his forever home. His name is Romeo. He saved my life. Keeping him was like deciding to live. Suicide was no longer an option. I needed him. He needed me. We toughed it out. Now we are better friends then I could have ever imagined. I thank CWAC for saving Romeo from a shelter, and indirectly saving me from suicide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I have a hard time writing or talking about this wonderful organization with out a tear in my eye. It comes straight from my heart I LOVE this organization and putting it very straight forward this organization saves lives. I have always felt we do not do enough to edecate people about dogs, so they don't end up in shelters or pounds. And I feel we owe more to our veterans, who give so much for us as a nation. CWAC SAVES LIVES. The first life it saves is that of shelter dog, who does not understand where they are or why they are there. The second life it saves is that of the brave solider coming back from war who has fought for our country, our freedom, our rights. Cathy, Shawn and all the volunteers, fosters, donors, work selfless to match dogs with veterans, so they can both sleep peaceful at night. CWAC has spread the word that we can all work together to make a win/win situation. Cathy has spoke to church groups, businesses, government agencies, attends conferences, lobbies on capital hill for animal rights and veterans rights. This orgainzation deserves to be spot lighted and known to everyone - it shows we can help... one dog and one solider at a time turns into many.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just make it more successful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

What a wonderful thing to Save 2 Lives! I love helping Canines With a Cause save dogs on death row in shelters and place them with Veterans who have PTSD and need help putting their lives back. The ... more

August 21, 2013

Canines With a Cause is such a great organization! They save 2 lives - the Veteran and the Dog! Their Executive Director works so hard to make sure that the needs of the Veterans and their Companion Dogs are met. The difference between the Dogs and Veterans once they start to work together on training is a wonderful site to behold !!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they could help more people and dogs!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

What a wonderful thing to Save 2 Lives! I love helping Canines With a Cause save dogs on death row in shelters and place them with Veterans who have PTSD and need help putting their lives back. The dog training program really helps to make sure the Veteran and the Dog get the help to be able to stay together as a family. The Veterans love their dogs so much and in turn, the dogs love them. It is a match made in Heaven!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk dogs or help Veterans in our training program Volunteer