Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.736845
Write A Review
March 26, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

Kudos to CCI!!! CCI is a wonderful organization. We have seen first hand how it has helped our son who lost his leg in Iraq. The service dog he received is very helpful to him and is his constant companion. We saw a change in our son immediately after he received his "companion" from CCI. They are now inseparable and go almost everywhere together. It is one of the best things that has happened to our son since his injury. I hope CCI will continue to help other severely injured "heroes" of our US Military. Thank you to all especially the volunteers who spend endless hours training the special dogs. What an awesome way for the volunteers and CCI to give back to these brave men and women who have sacrificed themselves for our freedom.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by watching our injured soldier develop a close & wonderful relationship with his service dog.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

I'm currently raising my first puppy for CCI. What a great organization. Raising this pup has made me even more aware of how people with disabilities are treated and how many fake service dogs there are out there. Kudos to CCI for starting the ball rolling on banning fake service dog equipment sales on the internet.
January 9, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 22, 2013

I am a Canine Companion Board of Director Member, a Puppy Raiser and the President of the Long Island Chapter of Canine Companions. I have proudly been a part of the Canine Companions family for over... more

January 9, 2014

Besides being a NER Board of Directors Member for CCI, I am raising my second puppy for them. I cannot think of a better way to serve the community. By volunteering for this wonderful organization I get to see first hand what these exceptional dogs can do for adults and children with a disability. It's by far the greatest joy to witness the remarkable difference it makes in a persons life. Each Recipient receives his/her dog free of charge too!!!! Bravo to CCI for all that they do to help give a person with a disability the independence to live life to the fullest by providing their highly trained assistance dogs. I'm honored to be on the Northeast Regional Board Member and thrilled to be raising another miracle for them.
~Yvonne Dagger
NER Board of Directors Member

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help bring even more public awareness and funds to CCI.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Canine Companion Board of Director Member, a Puppy Raiser and the President of the Long Island Chapter of Canine Companions. I have proudly been a part of the Canine Companions family for over 4 years now. Canine Companions is a quality non-profit organization that prides and is dedicated to their mission of providing their highly trained Assistance dogs to people with disabilities, FREE OF CHARGE. Relying on donations from volunteers, business, corporations and partnerships Canine Companions is able to continue their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more funds and awareness to a greater audience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for CCI for four Years now. In all my years of volunteering, and believe me, I have done a great deal of volunteering throughout the years...from holding an officers position on the PTA to Founding two organizations....CCI is by far the most well run non profit organization I have ever encountered in all my years of volunteering. From the top administrators, managers and Coordinators to their volunteer base CCI prides itself on the highest of standards. As a Puppy Raiser, currently raising my second, I have taken away some valuable lessons, not only for my Puppies in Training but my own pets. I can attest to their dedication to helping and supporting their puppy raisers as well as graduate teams. I have gone on many Demonstrations with my Puppy in Training with several graduate Teams and witness how well taken care of their highly trained assistance dogs are... From the health of the dog to keeping up with the commands, CCI makes sure their Puppies in Training and Graduate Teams continue to reach the highest of standards. I am passionate about the success of Canine Companions and I'm dedicated to their mission of providing "Exceptional Dogs for Exceptional People."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After much agonizing over the many worthy charities listed by the Pittsburgh Foundation for its Day of Giving, my daughter chose Canine Companions for Independence, as she was touched by the work and testimonials of many people who have helped disabled people by providing trained assistance dogs.

Sadly though, despite this charity being listed as a non-profit available for matching funds on its web site [ http://pittsburghgives.org/?cat=3&s='' ], we were unable to donate as the Pittsburgh Foundation stated it as unavailable for donating. This was heartbreaking for my daughter, as she looked so forward to give, with the promised matching funds by the Pittsburgh Foundation. If the Pittsburgh Foundation no longer feels that this charity was worthy of receiving donations, I wish it had not listed it as one of the ones available.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it available to receive donations via the Pittsburgh Foundation’s Day of Giving, so that our donation could receive matching funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer puppy raiser for CCI since 2006. I turned in dog #4 for advanced training just last week. CCI has the most wonderful and supportive staff and volunteers. Take a few moments to learn more about this amazing organization that provides "exceptional dogs for exceptional people".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope for more recognition and funds for the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When you are a volunteer puppy raiser for Canaine Companions for Independence you are continually asked 2 questions: 1. Why is your dog wearing a muzzle? (It's not a muzzle, it's a Gentle Leader and helps to guide his head instead of pulling on his neck and choking him). and 2. How can you give him up? (It's like raising a child - you pour all your love and hard work into them. Then it's time for them to leave the house and go out into the world. You're so proud of all they've accomplished and wish them only the best in their next stage along life's journey). 13 years ago, when I was raising my first puppy for CCI, I worked as a volunteer in one of their regional offices. I was asked by one of the office staff a question that I had not been asked before: what will you do if your puppy makes it through advanced training and is matched with someone you don't think is appropriate for him? Hmmmm. What would I do? I thought about that for a short time and replied that I would then have to readjust my thinking. If the CCI trainers were matching my dog to someone I did not think was appropriate, then they must see something in my puppy and/or in my puppy's new partner that I had missed. The trainers at CCI have had many more years of experience with these dogs than I have. They understand their dogs in ways that I do not. They want the best for their dogs and want all their dogs to be successful. The trainer's decisions were not based on what was best for me - their decisions were based on what was best for their dogs.

As it turned out, my puppy did not graduate, but was released from the CCI program. We have done therapy dog work together for the last 12 years. At 13, he is still visiting an assisted living community and still spreading the word about all the wonderful work that CCI does.

CCI is an organization in which I truley believe. I have volunteered and donated to them for over 20 years. I have met many wonderful staff members, graduates and volunteers - some who have become valuable friends. I have seen first hand the life changing experiences this organization has been responsible for. I'm proud to be a CCI volunteer and proud to spread the word about this exceptional organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

I have been involved with Canine Companions for Independence for about 17 years. I sm a volunteer, a puppy raiser, and a monthly contributor. I am VERY proud to be associated with this marvelous organization that changes the lives of people with disabilities by providing highly trained service dogs FREE OF CHARGE. As a "dog person", someone who has not just owned dogs, but trained and competed with them, I can honestly say that their breeding program has resulted in exceptional dogs. Their commitment to their dogs is lifelong. Their efforts to insure that the puppy raiser helps the dog develop and achieve his potential are outstanding. I have seen first hand the difference these dogs make in people's lives, enabling people with disabilities to go to work, do their household tasks themselves, reach their own potential. The volunteers and puppy raisers are also a wonderful group of people who work tirelessly and cooperatively toward the common goals. Enough praise cannot be given also to the trainers and staff. I give this organization the highest rating, deservedly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

I have been involved with CCI for about a year now. Immediately upon walking into my local chapter headquarters, I could see that this is a very special organization. I was welcomed into the fold by dedicated, compassionate volunteers and made to feel part of the CCI community. I was astounded by how hard these individuals work to help others by providing these loving companions for exceptional people and their families. I have been able to see, first hand, how CCI helps children, adults, and the people who love them. I know it sounds trite, but the CCI community truly is a family, and I consider myself very fortunate to have become involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

I have loved volunteering and working with the fine people at CCI! Not only are the dogs exceptional for exceptional people but the organization itself is exceptional. I am proud to be a part of the community. I will continue to give what I can because you can see money and time being real components of change. Keep going guys, you are great!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

I am proud to be a Volunteer Puppy Raiser for CCI- the people involved in this organization are amazing- the trainers, volunteers and graduates - everyone! To me, volunteering means doing things to benefit others- what was so unexpected is the amount of gratitude everyone in this organization has for its volunteers- this has been an incredible experience for my entire family! So proud to be a part of CCI!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help Canine Companions raise money, assist at one of five regional training centers or help spread the word with family and friends. Volunteer