Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Volunteer and Board Member with Canine Assisted Therapy since its inception. This organization was established with the primary goal of being the most professionally run pet therapy organization in Florida...if not the Nation. I firmly believe this goal has been attained. C.A.T. serves so many different types of people. The sense of gratification from being a volunteer with CA.T. is tremendous. Our therapy teams have brought millions of smiles to thousands of people. The therapy teams are very well trained and tested to work with the different types of situations they provide pet therapy to. All volunteers must obtain a background screening prior to becoming a Therapy Team. The facilities that are served are provided with Volunteer Information Sheets that can help them during any type of inspection of their facility. C.A.T. knows where each of its therapy teams is volunteering at any given time and works with them in advanced training that will help them to be better volunteers. AND the dogs...well they are THE BEST! They have all passed their AKC Canine Good Citizen Test and then another internal test to ensure that they are suited to be therapy dogs. This organization is THE BEST!!! I would recommend it to anyone looking to give back to their community and to form an even better bond with their family pet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just recommend that they continue to take on the challenges of pet therapy in the constantly evolving role that man and dog play in the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have been with Canine Assisted Therapy since it was founded in 2009 and I am so proud to be part of this fantastic organization. C.A.T.'s standards and values are based off of its passion to change lives and it demonstrates this passion through its hardworking and dedicated volunteers. C.A.T.’s high standards and testing ensure that the facilities we visit are receiving the best possible care and unconditional love from our pet therapy teams. I have seen life changing progress in the individuals we visit. One of the most touching experiences I have had volunteering with C.A.T. was when I was helping to conduct an evaluation at a nursing home. We walked up to an elderly woman sitting alone on a bench. Her eyes lit up when she saw our pet therapy team and she started tearing up from the experience. She then looked up at us and said, “this has been the highlight of my week, thank you.” It’s small moments like this that can create large impacts in a person’s life and this is what Canine Assisted Therapy strives to accomplish everyday.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

Having been in Canine Assisted Therapy since its inception, I can attest to the fact that it is professionally run and the best organization of its kind, not only in South Florida but, I am sure, in the country. The dogs are well trained, well behaved and love what they do. The owners (the second half of a pet therapy team) are dedicated and professional. These pet therapy teams are background checked, follow strict guidelines and perform with tremendous dedication. I am so proud to be one of the Canine Assisted Therapy Teams!

Going into a nursing home and visiting people that may not have anyone else to visit them for weeks on end is so very rewarding. These elderly people are so grateful and the love the dogs share with them cannot be replicated. The children we serve are also blessed to be able to share their love with such well trained dogs. Performing pet therapy is a volunteer position where you get so much more than you give…and what you give is a lot of love. I would highly recommend volunteering with Canine Assisted Therapy. Give and you shall receive!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a board member of Canine Assisted Therapy, I am so proud to be involved with such amazing and dedicated group of people who have made Canine Assisted Therapy the top Pet Therapy organization in South Florida. Canine Assisted Therapy teams are evaluated, trained, and have ongoing education and guidance. Our teams are placed in already C.A.T. vetted facilities and are accompanied on first visits. This is vital because most organizations certify the teams then they are left to their own devices.
As a volunteer it is truly rewarding to watch the changes in the children in our Pack Readers program. Most children enter Pack Readers with an intense dislike of reading out loud and by the end of the year the same children are vying with one another to see who will be first to read aloud! Their fluency has improved and their motivation comes of a non-judgmental, loving dog, lying beside them listening!
The atmosphere is a little different in the children’s clinic where my dog also volunteers. The child who is screaming and fearful of injections etc. become distracted by the dog and begins to comply with whatever procedure is being given by the doctor. Then there is the child in a wheelchair who is motivated to move an arm to pet the dog. Always very touching!
Canine Assisted Therapy brings all this and more to our community. Volunteering with C.A.T. is a rewarding and humbling experience. It is a reminder just how fortunate we are to bring a smile to a child’s lips or comfort an adult who may be having a stressful day. All this takes place just by being there with my C.A.T. Dog!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Canine Assisted Therapy, inc. is the leading pet therapy organization in South Florida and setting the standards for service nationally. Over 100 therapy dog teams are providing services to schools, hospitals, physical and emotional therapy facilities, adult day care and nursing homes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2011

more

November 1, 2011

I was introduced to CAT over one year ago and was impressed with their mission and selfless dedication to bring smiles to people's faces when they are most in need. The volunteers spent endless hours to make sure their dog is properly trained to visit hospitals, Rehab Facilities and Nursing Homes. I am a big believer in the healing and rehabilitative powers of a dog. But as with many great organizations passion alone will not let it grow to its fuillest potential. This is a group that I hope to one day see in every major city in the US. CAT is the most thorough organization when it comes to taking care or proper training of their volunteers and dogs as well as proper Back Ground check to ensure the safety and privacy of the individuals they have contact with.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the effects that a CAT dog can have with a child with Sensory Processing Disorder.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see more individuals understand the positive impact that CAT dogs and their volunteers have on a person going through physical or mental rehabitlitation. Understanding that will also clarify the importance of maintaining and sustaining such a group with financial support.

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2011

I started my role with Canine Assisted Therapy as a volunteer and eventually was asked to be on the board. This is my first experience being a "Board Member" in addition to being a volunteer. I have... more

October 16, 2012

My dogs and have volunteered with several organizations and canine assisted therapy by far stands out in all areas! Professional, fun, organized and super friendly. I highly recommend them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I started my role with Canine Assisted Therapy as a volunteer and eventually was asked to be on the board. This is my first experience being a "Board Member" in addition to being a volunteer. I have worked for many business which running a nonprofit is very similar and I have to say Canine Assisted Therapy should be in Forbes 500 for a company that is innovative, going above and beyond a typical Pet Therapy Organization. The structure and follow up, customer service, testing, evaluating all outstanding. I have grown so much as a person volunteering for the amazing organization and my dogs love the work!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have grown into a better person and learned to appreciate and respect every human being that walks this earth. We all have something special to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help more to grow the organization.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach well over 100 individuals in nursing homes, help to improve the reading skills of a child, help a patient with their rehabilitation. Volunteer