Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Canine Assisted Therapy is definitely setting new standards in pet therapy. The programs that are provided to those in need are second to none. The dogs are closely evaluated and the volunteers are very well trained.

I love the fact that the dog is the main concern. No dogs are forced to
do pet therapy if they do not truly enjoy the experience. That is so important for not only the dog, but for the people who are receiving the pet therapy.

Pet therapy organizations should all live up to the standards set forth by Canine Assisted Therapy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

My dog and I volunteer with this fantastic group. Both handler and dog go through testing and certification for safety of those we visit with. By doing this wherever we go they know they are getting t... more

June 5, 2013

Canine Assisted Therapy, Inc. sets their standard high for both the volunteer people and their dogs. People are trained and fingerprinted, dogs must pass tests. All are tested extensively on various situations that they are liable to run into so you are assured that the team can handle it successfully. I am proud to be a part of this group.
Linda and Scruffy

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

My dog and I volunteer with this fantastic group. Both handler and dog go through testing and certification for safety of those we visit with. By doing this wherever we go they know they are getting the type of dog and individual they can trust. We work with children, handicaped individuals, hospital patients, nursing home occupants and much more. It always brings a smile to my face when I walk into one of the nursing home rooms and hear the person call my dog's name happily....and know they never remember my name! To me, that's proof that my little dog is doing her job well.
Linda and "Scruffy"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Macy (my 3 year old labrador) and I became involved with Canine Assisted Therapy (CAT) in January. As an individual who has been involved with dog related organizations for many years, I feel that CAT is setting a higher standard for therapy dogs. Every Canine Assisted Therapy Volunteer team we have meet have been exceptional people and dogs! This group is some of the kindest people I have ever met! The group is wonderful in making sure you and your dog are comfortable and find the best placement match for you (nursing home, school, pack readers, etc). Canine Assisted Therapy is truly an Organization that makes a difference in many lives; Getting involved with CAT is one of the best things I have done!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with other organizations, observed friends who are affiliated with other organizations, and find C.A.T. to be one of the best. C.A.T. executive members and volunteers all demonstrate a commitment to finding the right placement for the dog and his/her handler. This is of utmost importance for the benefit of both the animal and the people they are helping.

They also work with the groups being visited to insure all the proper documentation and background checks are completed. This allows a comfort level to both the visiting location, insures state laws are being satisfied, but most importantly insures those affiliated with C.A.T can maintain a comfort level when working with other individuals at various locations.

To insure the teams are always at the top of their 'game', they consistently offer ongoing education. This education covers everything from how to recognize signs in your dog to how to safely work within a given environment.

My dogs and I have been active with therapy for several years now. Nothing replaces the joy of watching an individual's face when they see the dog; whether it's a child reading to the dog at one of our Pack Reading events, a patient in hospital recovering, or an alzheimer's patient who has trouble connecting but experiences peace and a small memory from the feel and warmth of the dog. I truly appreciate the efforts made by C.A.T. to insure my dogs and I can continue to enjoy that warm feeling in an educated and safe environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

This is by far the most organized, thorough, detailed, highly experienced, dedicated, and safest Dog/AnimalTherapy Organizations in the Country. Me and my dog volunteer for C.A.T. from Florida to Pennsylvania. I have trained my dog for 7 years and chose C.A.T. to certify her because of the highest standards in this industry. I always feel safe, prepared, relaxed and confident when visiting any facility with my dog, because I know I have the support from C.A.T. and she has been evaluated to the highest standards. C.A.T. volunteers are very knowledgeable and come from a vast background. We all as a group hold C.A.T. to the highest standards, and as a group, come together to place the organization in unique facilities. C.A.T. continues to grow by leaps and bounds and me and my dog wouldn't have it any other way. If you are considering a professional Dog Therapy Organization, make your first and last stop at Canine Assisted Therapy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I found Canine Assisted Therapy, Inc. by accident at a dog show a few years ago. I had just had my two dogs tested for their therapy certification with another organization, but after hearing what Canine Assisted Therapy (C.A.T.) was about, I decided to have my dogs retested by them. They passed and became C.A.T. Dogs! Canine Assisted Therapy provides ongoing training and support for its volunteers which I never received from the other therapy dog organization. They also provide mentoring, followup with the facilities, and a much more intense evaluation than the other (international) therapy dog group. I like the personal attention that Canine Assisted Therapy provides to its volunteers (making sure you and your dog's needs and abilities match your facility), and to its "clients". I would definitely recommend Canine Assisted Therapy to anyone wanting to make a difference by volunteering with their well-trained, well-behaved dog.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

From my experience, C.A.T. should be the standard that all Pet Therpy organizations should strive to emulate. I have been a member and observed other organizations and find this one the best because of it's commitment to first and foremost finding the best fit for the dog both in the type of facility and the individuals to be visited through their testing. Second, they work with the groups being visited to provide the background checks of the handlers that are required by Florida law and setting up the visits that work best for the facility. Finally, they follow through after placing a team to offer the teams continuing education and being sure the facility is happy with their service and they are dedicated to teach children and everyone they come in contact with how to treat and respect animals. I have two dogs who are members and the experiences we have had are heart warming. We have personally watched children grow and show confidence in their ability to read through the Pack Reader program, felt the spirits and and overall emotional well being of individuals with Alzheimer's and other dementia and their families respond with recognition and smiles from touching and talking to my dogs. You cannot top the joy my dogs and I get from someone opening their eyes and lighting up at seeing us. We continue to work on trying to help individuals perform their therapy and giving all ages a little of what they need to be happy and successful in their lives. My dogs love their work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

My son had been seriously ill and in the hospital for almost a month. During that time we were missing our Golden Retriever Wally that was at home with family members, but we were lucky enough to be visited by many of the therapy dog teams the hospital had to offer. Shortly after getting home, I was determined to get Wally certified and to bring joy to others like we had experienced. After researching many local pet therapy groups, I found C.A.T. Debra and Joanne are wonderful and the organization has made me a better person. They are professional,caring and supportive. I have volunteered with Wally is multiple settings, with the elderly and with children. I have also volunteered as a mentor to new teams. C.A.T. is simply the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2011

I started my role with Canine Assisted Therapy as a volunteer and eventually was asked to be on the board. This is my first experience being a "Board Member" in addition to being a volunteer. I have... more

October 16, 2012

My dogs and have volunteered with several organizations and canine assisted therapy by far stands out in all areas! Professional, fun, organized and super friendly. I highly recommend them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I started my role with Canine Assisted Therapy as a volunteer and eventually was asked to be on the board. This is my first experience being a "Board Member" in addition to being a volunteer. I have worked for many business which running a nonprofit is very similar and I have to say Canine Assisted Therapy should be in Forbes 500 for a company that is innovative, going above and beyond a typical Pet Therapy Organization. The structure and follow up, customer service, testing, evaluating all outstanding. I have grown so much as a person volunteering for the amazing organization and my dogs love the work!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have grown into a better person and learned to appreciate and respect every human being that walks this earth. We all have something special to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help more to grow the organization.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach well over 100 individuals in nursing homes, help to improve the reading skills of a child, help a patient with their rehabilitation. Volunteer