Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have met with representatives from this organization in various community meetings. They are always very professional and are held in the highest regard in this community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I want to be a part of this organization because of all the great work they do. I attended a volunteer orientation and found them to know their stuff, take it very seriously and now I want to be a part of this organization. They take the happiness of the dog into consideration. Other organizations do not consider the dogs happiness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

This is by far the most organized, thorough, detailed, highly experienced, dedicated, and safest Dog/AnimalTherapy Organizations in the Country. Me and my dog volunteer for C.A.T. from Florida to Pennsylvania. I have trained my dog for 7 years and chose C.A.T. to certify her because of the highest standards in this industry. I always feel safe, prepared, relaxed and confident when visiting any facility with my dog, because I know I have the support from C.A.T. and she has been evaluated to the highest standards. C.A.T. volunteers are very knowledgeable and come from a vast background. We all as a group hold C.A.T. to the highest standards, and as a group, come together to place the organization in unique facilities. C.A.T. continues to grow by leaps and bounds and me and my dog wouldn't have it any other way. If you are considering a professional Dog Therapy Organization, make your first and last stop at Canine Assisted Therapy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I found Canine Assisted Therapy, Inc. by accident at a dog show a few years ago. I had just had my two dogs tested for their therapy certification with another organization, but after hearing what Canine Assisted Therapy (C.A.T.) was about, I decided to have my dogs retested by them. They passed and became C.A.T. Dogs! Canine Assisted Therapy provides ongoing training and support for its volunteers which I never received from the other therapy dog organization. They also provide mentoring, followup with the facilities, and a much more intense evaluation than the other (international) therapy dog group. I like the personal attention that Canine Assisted Therapy provides to its volunteers (making sure you and your dog's needs and abilities match your facility), and to its "clients". I would definitely recommend Canine Assisted Therapy to anyone wanting to make a difference by volunteering with their well-trained, well-behaved dog.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have been with Canine Assisted Therapy since it was founded in 2009 and I am so proud to be part of this fantastic organization. C.A.T.'s standards and values are based off of its passion to change lives and it demonstrates this passion through its hardworking and dedicated volunteers. C.A.T.’s high standards and testing ensure that the facilities we visit are receiving the best possible care and unconditional love from our pet therapy teams. I have seen life changing progress in the individuals we visit. One of the most touching experiences I have had volunteering with C.A.T. was when I was helping to conduct an evaluation at a nursing home. We walked up to an elderly woman sitting alone on a bench. Her eyes lit up when she saw our pet therapy team and she started tearing up from the experience. She then looked up at us and said, “this has been the highlight of my week, thank you.” It’s small moments like this that can create large impacts in a person’s life and this is what Canine Assisted Therapy strives to accomplish everyday.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I have worked with many non-profit organizations and C.A.T. has been one of the BEST! They are professional, up to date with standards, and show a TRUE passion for what they do. They provide a service that lifts spirits, brings back amazing memories, and improves overall well being. C.A.T. is a part of our community and not only assit those who need pet therapy, they help universities with research projets. I cannot say enough about this amazing organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

Having been in Canine Assisted Therapy since its inception, I can attest to the fact that it is professionally run and the best organization of its kind, not only in South Florida but, I am sure, in the country. The dogs are well trained, well behaved and love what they do. The owners (the second half of a pet therapy team) are dedicated and professional. These pet therapy teams are background checked, follow strict guidelines and perform with tremendous dedication. I am so proud to be one of the Canine Assisted Therapy Teams!

Going into a nursing home and visiting people that may not have anyone else to visit them for weeks on end is so very rewarding. These elderly people are so grateful and the love the dogs share with them cannot be replicated. The children we serve are also blessed to be able to share their love with such well trained dogs. Performing pet therapy is a volunteer position where you get so much more than you give…and what you give is a lot of love. I would highly recommend volunteering with Canine Assisted Therapy. Give and you shall receive!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

As an owner of a doggie daycare in Fort Lauderdale, I have the distinct pleasure of enjoying the company of one of C.A.T.'s dog's in my facility for daycare. She is one of the most well behaved dogs when she is with us, and I can only think that her behavior is due to the careful training that C.A.T. has done on her. If the dog, April, is any indication of how these dogs behave after going through training at C.A.T., then any facility that welcomes these dogs are in great hands. April is a kind and sensitive dog and gives the best attention when she is around. I salute Debra and her team for such a great job on her dogs and hope we can have more of them at our facility in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I am a trainer who among other things teaches and evaluates dogs for therapy programs. C.A.T. is my favorite therapy program because they think about how the dog feels doing their work. C.A.T. supervises clients with their dog, runs a class A program and brings light and love to those needing therapy dogs. Rose Lesniak C.D.T.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

From my experience, C.A.T. should be the standard that all Pet Therpy organizations should strive to emulate. I have been a member and observed other organizations and find this one the best because of it's commitment to first and foremost finding the best fit for the dog both in the type of facility and the individuals to be visited through their testing. Second, they work with the groups being visited to provide the background checks of the handlers that are required by Florida law and setting up the visits that work best for the facility. Finally, they follow through after placing a team to offer the teams continuing education and being sure the facility is happy with their service and they are dedicated to teach children and everyone they come in contact with how to treat and respect animals. I have two dogs who are members and the experiences we have had are heart warming. We have personally watched children grow and show confidence in their ability to read through the Pack Reader program, felt the spirits and and overall emotional well being of individuals with Alzheimer's and other dementia and their families respond with recognition and smiles from touching and talking to my dogs. You cannot top the joy my dogs and I get from someone opening their eyes and lighting up at seeing us. We continue to work on trying to help individuals perform their therapy and giving all ages a little of what they need to be happy and successful in their lives. My dogs love their work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach well over 100 individuals in nursing homes, help to improve the reading skills of a child, help a patient with their rehabilitation. Volunteer