Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I first became involved with C.A.T. when friends got their dog (one of my dog's best buddies), who was released from the same organization my own hearing service dog was trained due to a minor medical condition, certified as a therapy dog and became volunteers; their "change of career" dog is an EXCEPTIONAL therapy dog. I was invited to one of their many educational presentations at a summer program and since then have witnessed the wonderful work they do and the difference and impact they have in the community.

From reading other posts, you notice a general theme... that C.A.T. has set higher standards, and frankly the standards that should be in place nationwide, for therapy dogs. They have very strict rules and standards for all their volunteers and dogs. Unlike other organizations with questionable standards, any dog wearing a purple C.A.T. vest is known and trusted in its ability and training because of their good reputation. They don't certify just any dog, and if at any point an already certified dog or human volunteer breaks a rule, they are immediately removed from the program because they take the safety of not only their dogs, but also the general public they serve very seriously. They make sure their volunteers are trained and are knowledgeable on all the laws, and they make sure that any place a volunteer team visits is safe for the dogs (and their humans).

In addition, they work hard at also raising awareness and educating the public about these wonderful dogs and the differences between service and therapy dogs, which is often mistaken for one in the same. They not only emphasize pet therapy, but also education as well which is so necessary and important. They encourage their volunteers and recognize the importance of what they do. Their work makes such a difference and has impacted the community very positively. They are always coming up with new programs that enhance their mission, and do/go where many have been scared to go/do. I cannot say enough great things about this organization and their volunteers.

I don't have a therapy dog, but I do have a service dog. I love partnering with them and helping any way I can because I feel it is so important what they do. They are honest, hard working, loving people and dogs... I have received pet therapy myself when I have been critically ill in the hospital. One time I actually started walking again with the assistance of a dog by my side, so I know the value of what they do... LIFE-CHANGING, MIRACULOUS, PRICELESS! And when I have been in need, C.A.T. has gone above and beyond for me, and that has no price.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That they can get even more funding and support so that they can continue with their mission... They are slowly expanding and adding to their mission, so they need more help and are so deserving of it because of what they do with it... touch so many people's lives day in and out.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

This organization is extremely professional and hard working. They helped organize pet therapy visits for a friend of mine and we were very impressed with how efficient and caring they were.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

This nonprofit extends comfort to those in need and utiliziing a natural resource, dogs. This is a great organization and I will always support it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

I have had other pet therapy organizations provide services to my clients but I will never use them again. Canine Assisted Therapy is by far superior both professionally and in the quality of therapy dogs they provide. I never have to worry about keeping updated information. They do it for me and we are delighted to be partnering with them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Canine Assisted Therapy is definitely setting new standards in pet therapy. The programs that are provided to those in need are second to none. The dogs are closely evaluated and the volunteers are very well trained.

I love the fact that the dog is the main concern. No dogs are forced to
do pet therapy if they do not truly enjoy the experience. That is so important for not only the dog, but for the people who are receiving the pet therapy.

Pet therapy organizations should all live up to the standards set forth by Canine Assisted Therapy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

My dog and I volunteer with this fantastic group. Both handler and dog go through testing and certification for safety of those we visit with. By doing this wherever we go they know they are getting t... more

June 5, 2013

Canine Assisted Therapy, Inc. sets their standard high for both the volunteer people and their dogs. People are trained and fingerprinted, dogs must pass tests. All are tested extensively on various situations that they are liable to run into so you are assured that the team can handle it successfully. I am proud to be a part of this group.
Linda and Scruffy

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

My dog and I volunteer with this fantastic group. Both handler and dog go through testing and certification for safety of those we visit with. By doing this wherever we go they know they are getting the type of dog and individual they can trust. We work with children, handicaped individuals, hospital patients, nursing home occupants and much more. It always brings a smile to my face when I walk into one of the nursing home rooms and hear the person call my dog's name happily....and know they never remember my name! To me, that's proof that my little dog is doing her job well.
Linda and "Scruffy"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Macy (my 3 year old labrador) and I became involved with Canine Assisted Therapy (CAT) in January. As an individual who has been involved with dog related organizations for many years, I feel that CAT is setting a higher standard for therapy dogs. Every Canine Assisted Therapy Volunteer team we have meet have been exceptional people and dogs! This group is some of the kindest people I have ever met! The group is wonderful in making sure you and your dog are comfortable and find the best placement match for you (nursing home, school, pack readers, etc). Canine Assisted Therapy is truly an Organization that makes a difference in many lives; Getting involved with CAT is one of the best things I have done!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Volunteer and Board Member with Canine Assisted Therapy since its inception. This organization was established with the primary goal of being the most professionally run pet therapy organization in Florida...if not the Nation. I firmly believe this goal has been attained. C.A.T. serves so many different types of people. The sense of gratification from being a volunteer with CA.T. is tremendous. Our therapy teams have brought millions of smiles to thousands of people. The therapy teams are very well trained and tested to work with the different types of situations they provide pet therapy to. All volunteers must obtain a background screening prior to becoming a Therapy Team. The facilities that are served are provided with Volunteer Information Sheets that can help them during any type of inspection of their facility. C.A.T. knows where each of its therapy teams is volunteering at any given time and works with them in advanced training that will help them to be better volunteers. AND the dogs...well they are THE BEST! They have all passed their AKC Canine Good Citizen Test and then another internal test to ensure that they are suited to be therapy dogs. This organization is THE BEST!!! I would recommend it to anyone looking to give back to their community and to form an even better bond with their family pet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just recommend that they continue to take on the challenges of pet therapy in the constantly evolving role that man and dog play in the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am the proud owner of the 2012 American Humane Association Hero Therapy Dog of the Year.

I only wish I knew about CAT when I had my puppy certified. CAT is incredibly organized and thorough in their evaluations and certifications. The staff has this perfect balance between knowledge
and compassion. CAT oozes professionalism and never fails to thank their volunteers for a job well done.

CAT dogs are evidence that not all medicine comes in a bottle.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with other organizations, observed friends who are affiliated with other organizations, and find C.A.T. to be one of the best. C.A.T. executive members and volunteers all demonstrate a commitment to finding the right placement for the dog and his/her handler. This is of utmost importance for the benefit of both the animal and the people they are helping.

They also work with the groups being visited to insure all the proper documentation and background checks are completed. This allows a comfort level to both the visiting location, insures state laws are being satisfied, but most importantly insures those affiliated with C.A.T can maintain a comfort level when working with other individuals at various locations.

To insure the teams are always at the top of their 'game', they consistently offer ongoing education. This education covers everything from how to recognize signs in your dog to how to safely work within a given environment.

My dogs and I have been active with therapy for several years now. Nothing replaces the joy of watching an individual's face when they see the dog; whether it's a child reading to the dog at one of our Pack Reading events, a patient in hospital recovering, or an alzheimer's patient who has trouble connecting but experiences peace and a small memory from the feel and warmth of the dog. I truly appreciate the efforts made by C.A.T. to insure my dogs and I can continue to enjoy that warm feeling in an educated and safe environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Reach well over 100 individuals in nursing homes, help to improve the reading skills of a child, help a patient with their rehabilitation. Volunteer