Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
91 Reviews
1234.956045
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014



It was an absolute honor for me to be part of the Reality Tour group last night. From the very beginning with the boy scouts, the very excellent film and right up to the very end at the viewing I felt involved in the life of the girl (on the tape).
I watched the faces of the kids
and although you cannot always read, I read enough to tell me that the message was making a deep impression.
The viewing was so real, the mirror made such a dramatic impact. I know I was moved by it but in watching the parents and kids standing at the casket you could almost sense the shock as they looked in the mirror.

THE TOUR MAKES AN IMPACT and if the message sinks in to hopefully most, then it is a "life success".

Thank you for welcoming me.

Dori Daigle
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I have been working with the Reality tour for over a year and I have had the opportunity to see first hand how it changes lives. I also work at George Junior Republic where the majority of the speakers come from to speak about their life experiences with drugs or alcohol. I recently had a youth who has spoken 4 different times at Reality Tours make a great connection with a member of the audience who wanted to hire him to work with him once he is discharged from George Junior. This connection has done amazing things for the youth's attitude and I am proud to see how a member of our community can see the true potential in a youth from GJR. A huge thank you to the Reality Tour for letting the GJR youth speak and share their stories, this not only helps with their public speaking skills but also with their communication skills and confidence.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I first encountered Candle Inc and Norma at a reality tour through an internship. I'm currently in school for addiction counseling and absolutely loved the program and everything it stood for. After seeing one reality tour I knew I wanted to be involved in more. Drug prevention is very important to me and I fully stand behind everything Candle Inc is about and strongly suggest it to others!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

When Norma Norris asked me ten years ago to help put together ONE reality tour I thought it was a great idea. Over those years I have volunteered and seen the faces of the children who never thought about the consequences of drug use, over and over and over.
When a group of "hard core" kids
from an alternate education facility attend a tour and came up to us afterwards, with tears in their eyes, saying: "I want my sister/cousin/brother to see this program" and gave us hugs, I KNEW this was one of the most valuable programs available for young children.
I don't know how many lives this has saved, but if it saved ONE child from drug abuse, it's well worthwhile!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I was originally involved with the Westmoreland Reality Tour for about 1 year after the loss of my son (David Baughman) to a heroin overdose. In November of last year I took on the venture of bringing the program to the Latrobe Area. The Latrobe Reality Tour will cover the Latrobe, Derry and Ligonier School districts as the Westmoreland Reality Tour no longer has the capacity for our families. Our first tour will be on Wednesday September 17 at the Latrobe Municipal Authority. If I can help deter one child from going down that terrible road then my son's death was not in vain.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I have been volunteering for CANDLE, Inc./ Reality Tour through my on campus organization at Slippery Rock University of PA, Rock PRoductions, for about two years now and I recently started interning for them this fall semester. They have an amazing impact on families and that impact increases each day. Several months ago I attended Reality Tour on my own just to get a feel for how they run things and it far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend ALL parents to take the time to go to Reality Tour with their kids!
September 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2013

I have volunteered with Candle, Inc at the Reality Tour in Butler and other surrounding communities for many years. I continue to do so because of the positive feedback from the parents (many thank y... more

September 3, 2014

I have volunteered at CANDLE, mostly the Butler Reality Tour, for 10 years now. I can't tell you how many families have come up and held me at the end of the dramatic scenes and thanked me for our efforts, saying that they know this will make a difference in the lives of their children. I have had a friend's child, going off to college years after attending the Reality Tour, tell me that he never tried drugs and didn't intend to, because he was sincerely impacted by the facts he learned that evening with his parents. I also work all day at a not for profit community, and have had co-workers approach me asking for information about what they can do with their children. This is a tremendous resource for the community, brought about by people who just sincerely care about children and families having the information they need to keep themselves healthy. Bring your family! You will be glad you did.
July 17, 2013

I have volunteered with Candle, Inc at the Reality Tour in Butler and other surrounding communities for many years. I continue to do so because of the positive feedback from the parents (many thank you messages as they pass through the "condolence" line at the funeral scene) and the impact you can see on the faces of the children. Truly, this feels like a gift you are giving the community. It is powerful and informative and gives parents a feeling of being in a "fair fight" rather than the helplessness they feel when they read the newspaper or watch the local news.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get it more resources

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

I have been with CANDLE Inc. and The Reality Tour for a little over a year now. The countless lives I have seen impacted over that short time has been tremendous. I myself do not have children, but I recommend all of my friends with children 10 and up take their child to Reality Tour. The positive responses I receive back is astounding. So many parents and pre-teens / teens do not realize the severity drug abuse has on an entire family. The knowledge they gain at the tours is so profound, many change their entire thinking about ever trying drugs in the first place. This program should be in every school district and every county nationwide.

Tara M
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

We have been working on bringing the Reality Tour to Russell, Ontario, Canada. Over the last few years I have noticed the increase in drug use amongst the youth in our community. Having two teenage children these statistics scare me to death! While in the States last summer I heared about the Reality Tour from some youth that had done the Tour. They said it was "life changing". There was nothing like this available to youth in Canada. We contacted Norma Norris and she is helping adjust a few things with the program to make it suitable for Canada. We are excited to be the first community in Canada to launch the Reality Tour. It is an amazing program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 18, 2013

Our tour (Adams Twp, Butler County, PA) is currently on a brief summer hiatus and I can't wait for the next program. As a Tour Director, and as a member of the Board of Directors, I carefully watch t... more

March 25, 2014

I have been a tour director for a number of years and always look forward to each presentation. The reactions that we get from the young people and parents who attend each program constantly motivates me and reinforces the knowledge that we are doing the right thing, every time, all the time. Our message is consistent, timely and another educational tool to help families cope with the scourge that wants to get its grip into our children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get this program into every single community across the United States.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2013

Our tour (Adams Twp, Butler County, PA) is currently on a brief summer hiatus and I can't wait for the next program. As a Tour Director, and as a member of the Board of Directors, I carefully watch the expressions on the faces of the families who come and experience our program. At the beginning of each Tour, I tell our guests that the program will last about 2 1/2 to 3 hours. That's when the eyes start to role. LOL. Then I promise them that by the end of the evening, they will be convinced that this was one of the best 3 hours they have ever spent as a family. And interestingly enough, the people who rolled their eyes the most at the beginning are the ones who make a concerted point to stop and sincerely thank the volunteers for being involved. I only wish I could bottle that feeling and send it to everybody, everywhere. I know in my heart we make a difference and because of that, I am extremely proud of what we do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes we need are to be in more communities. If everybody keeps spreading the word, it can happen. The reviews on this site clearly demonstrate the commintment of everyone who is actively involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I am currently a board member and volunteer with the Reality Tour program. I have been involved since the idea was little more than a seed and am proud to say that that seed was planted, carefully nurtured and grew into this wonderful fruit bearing program. I am constantly amazed when families come to one of our Tours and realize what is actually happening in their very own communities, how it can have a devastating impact on their families and that as a family they can be an active deterrent. It is especially gratifying when the young people discover that one wrong decision can have permanent and unfortunate consequences. But the absolute best part is when people come up after the end of the Tour and offer a sincere and heartfelt thank you to all of the volunteers. We are definitely making a difference in people's lives. I can't think of a better reason to be a part of such an organization. John Walchesky

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Assist at Reality Tour as a Group Leader, Registration aid, Actor or assist with Photo Morphing. 2. Office help is sometimes needed in our Butler Office. Volunteer