Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.959465
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 18, 2013

Our tour (Adams Twp, Butler County, PA) is currently on a brief summer hiatus and I can't wait for the next program. As a Tour Director, and as a member of the Board of Directors, I carefully watch t... more

March 25, 2014

I have been a tour director for a number of years and always look forward to each presentation. The reactions that we get from the young people and parents who attend each program constantly motivates me and reinforces the knowledge that we are doing the right thing, every time, all the time. Our message is consistent, timely and another educational tool to help families cope with the scourge that wants to get its grip into our children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get this program into every single community across the United States.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2013

Our tour (Adams Twp, Butler County, PA) is currently on a brief summer hiatus and I can't wait for the next program. As a Tour Director, and as a member of the Board of Directors, I carefully watch the expressions on the faces of the families who come and experience our program. At the beginning of each Tour, I tell our guests that the program will last about 2 1/2 to 3 hours. That's when the eyes start to role. LOL. Then I promise them that by the end of the evening, they will be convinced that this was one of the best 3 hours they have ever spent as a family. And interestingly enough, the people who rolled their eyes the most at the beginning are the ones who make a concerted point to stop and sincerely thank the volunteers for being involved. I only wish I could bottle that feeling and send it to everybody, everywhere. I know in my heart we make a difference and because of that, I am extremely proud of what we do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes we need are to be in more communities. If everybody keeps spreading the word, it can happen. The reviews on this site clearly demonstrate the commintment of everyone who is actively involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I am currently a board member and volunteer with the Reality Tour program. I have been involved since the idea was little more than a seed and am proud to say that that seed was planted, carefully nurtured and grew into this wonderful fruit bearing program. I am constantly amazed when families come to one of our Tours and realize what is actually happening in their very own communities, how it can have a devastating impact on their families and that as a family they can be an active deterrent. It is especially gratifying when the young people discover that one wrong decision can have permanent and unfortunate consequences. But the absolute best part is when people come up after the end of the Tour and offer a sincere and heartfelt thank you to all of the volunteers. We are definitely making a difference in people's lives. I can't think of a better reason to be a part of such an organization. John Walchesky

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I learned about REALITY TOUR two years ago and I love the program so much I am helping to start one in the Murrysville, PA, area! Every time I attend a TOUR, I gain more knowledge of the current dangers that illegal drugs and the abuse of prescription medications present to our children and our communities. I'm always surprised that the emotional power of REALITY TOUR continues to affect me no matter how many times I attend. I have young children, so my personal connection to videos and scenes at REALITY TOUR is strong. I never want to see these events unfold for my children or their friends and I'll do whatever it takes to help educate them and lead them in the right direction and help others in our community delay or stop experimentation that can lead to addiction. God Bless CANDLE Inc. for the work they are doing saving lives, families and communities. Once addiction sets in, there is no easy road back to "normal." Prevention -- specifically evidence-based prevention -- plays a vital role as the best way to fight the negative power of addiction and keep the drug trade out of our communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Convince every school district to adopt evidence-based prevention practices and integrate REALITY TOUR into their regular monthly activities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

"Thank you so much for caring about our kids enough to show them how dangerous and easy it is to get involved with drugs & alcohol. Very informative and creative in helping our awareness." - Adult participant at the Indiana County Reality Tour in January 2010.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I wanted a share my personal story on how the Reality Tour impacted my family - even after several years. My children (a son and a daughter) and I were volunteers for the tour when it first started. At the time, my son was 15 and my daughter was 12, and they were members of the opening peer pressure scene. As time goes by, we all tend to forget the impact or significance of past involvements that at the time were so impactful and important to us when we were in the midst. However, the impact on the Reality Tour has been so beneficial to my children and my son, in particular - even several years later. Let me tell you why.....

My son is now 24 years - and reconnecting with some of his former friends from high school since returning from college. He shared with me some shocking news that some of his former class mates are experiencing with drugs, such as: LSD. I asked him what his thoughts were -- and here are his own words: 'I know the impact of drug usage. The Reality Tour taught me as a young teen the negative affect that drugs would have on my life - and I'll never forget it!'

What an amazing validation for the benefit of this program! It is truly a must-see for all pre-teens/teens and their parents. THANK YOU, Reality Tour for leaving such a lasting, postive impression on my children!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 21, 2013

more

July 21, 2013

My name is Rob Fabriiz. I first experiened the Reality Tour when I was in 6th grade with my parents and younger brother, the program not only opened the door for my family to talk about the drug use that is all around us in school and in the streets but it also made me want to help out. I wanted to help bring this awareness to others. From that day forward I felt the need to help with the program. I took the role of being arrested one Tuesday night a month. As a teenager being involved with this program, it helped me not only be aware of the dangers of drug use but it helped me to look out for those around me . This program is a must see for every family, it helps to open the door for kids and partens to talk about drugs, it helps parents to be aware of what their kids face when it comes to the dangers of drugs and how easily available they are. I have recommended this program to all my friends. BEST PROGRAM EVER!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2013

more

July 20, 2013

I am amazed by the powerful and lasting impression the Reality Tour is having in our community! We so much appreciate being a part of serving our community with this program and are hoping for future successes as Candle, Inc. continues to offer hope and education to individuals in our communities battling drug use and addiction.

Sincerely,
Nicole Slaughter
Fayette County WV

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow county schools to attend the Reality Tour during school hours, transporting students by bus and offering the tour on a larger-scale to the "higher-risk" students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2013

more

July 20, 2013

The Butler Reality Tour is dedicated to educating both the parents and children of our community. As a volunteer, I see the commitment given to each part of the program and the love shown to each participant. Even though the leadership struggles with funding cuts to the program, the dedication to the families never falters. Innovative ideas and community/business support have helped to sustain this great program. As a retired public educator, I see the need and value in the Reality Tour and hope it's message continues to be spread throughout America!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

Our tour (Norwin Reality Tour) started one year ago. We have had an incredible response from our community. We have had over 250 people attend from 9 area school districts. We have the full support of our local police and school district. I truly believe we are making a difference. Our reviews have been great! I am proud to be a part of the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

Our County Child Death Review Team began the Reality Tour in 2007. We have the most dedicated volunteers that ALWAYS show up for team meetings and tours. It is because of the hard work of the organization CANDLE, Inc. in making such an easy to understand, comprehensive, and educational program available. It is our hope that this program impacts families in a very positive way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it closer to our location in Pennsylvania!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

My daughter attended the tour when she was in 6th grade. It impacted her so much that she wanted to volunteer. We have been doing so for the last 6 years. She is now on her way to college with the skills to stand up to peer pressure and make good choices. It has been a blessing to meet and work with all of the volunteers and learn from their stories.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Assist at Reality Tour as a Group Leader, Registration aid, Actor or assist with Photo Morphing. 2. Office help is sometimes needed in our Butler Office. Volunteer