Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.946245
Write A Review
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

My husband and I have seen how heroin has ruined the young life of a son of our friends. This boy was stealing anything & everything to get money to feed his habit, and at age 21 is now in jail on felony charges. His mother's heart broke when the police came to subdue & arrest him at their house, on Mother's Day. If CANDLE, Inc keeps one kid from a future like that, then it is worth it. But we know they are opening the eyes of more than one kid, and that's why we support this organization.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

The Reality Tour and their volunteers provide the education and life-like exposure that parents and their middle school children need about drug prevention in today's world. The topics presented at a Reality Tour provide common knowledge for on-going discussions between parents and their children that attended a tour. These on-going parent-child discussions have helped many families avoid the negative impact drugs can have on the lives of family members.
September 4, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 19, 2013

ive been involved with many organizations and got to say this one is top notch.its all volunteer and everyone takes their roles seriously to reach the most impact on our children and families.i know f... more

September 4, 2014

ive been working with the candle inc for several years as a volunteer and now as a board member.i lost a daughter to a 11 year battle to drugs in march 2011 . my wish is by me helping this way of showing what happened that I can save others from going through what my family went through.
July 19, 2013

ive been involved with many organizations and got to say this one is top notch.its all volunteer and everyone takes their roles seriously to reach the most impact on our children and families.i know from personell expierence how how loosing a loved one after many years of harsh battles with addition and want to invite each and everyone to attend a reality tour near you.its the right thing to do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

pray for the local goverments to help make more of a impact on our schools to get involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

my family lost our lovely daughter march 6th 2011 to a drug overdose.after heart searching i decided to try and speak to others at the butler reality tour about my expierence of a fathers loss of his daughter.i have since after several speeches joined as a board member and continue to speak to others.i want to personelly invite each of you to come to a reality tour and see how there are so many ways for children to get involved with drugs today.my hopes are through the education of this program that your family will not have to go through what my family has to endure daily with our loss.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I have been volunteering for CANDLE, Inc./ Reality Tour through my on campus organization at Slippery Rock University of PA, Rock PRoductions, for about two years now and I recently started interning for them this fall semester. They have an amazing impact on families and that impact increases each day. Several months ago I attended Reality Tour on my own just to get a feel for how they run things and it far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend ALL parents to take the time to go to Reality Tour with their kids!
September 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2013

I have volunteered with Candle, Inc at the Reality Tour in Butler and other surrounding communities for many years. I continue to do so because of the positive feedback from the parents (many thank y... more

September 3, 2014

I have volunteered at CANDLE, mostly the Butler Reality Tour, for 10 years now. I can't tell you how many families have come up and held me at the end of the dramatic scenes and thanked me for our efforts, saying that they know this will make a difference in the lives of their children. I have had a friend's child, going off to college years after attending the Reality Tour, tell me that he never tried drugs and didn't intend to, because he was sincerely impacted by the facts he learned that evening with his parents. I also work all day at a not for profit community, and have had co-workers approach me asking for information about what they can do with their children. This is a tremendous resource for the community, brought about by people who just sincerely care about children and families having the information they need to keep themselves healthy. Bring your family! You will be glad you did.
July 17, 2013

I have volunteered with Candle, Inc at the Reality Tour in Butler and other surrounding communities for many years. I continue to do so because of the positive feedback from the parents (many thank you messages as they pass through the "condolence" line at the funeral scene) and the impact you can see on the faces of the children. Truly, this feels like a gift you are giving the community. It is powerful and informative and gives parents a feeling of being in a "fair fight" rather than the helplessness they feel when they read the newspaper or watch the local news.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get it more resources

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

I have been with CANDLE Inc. and The Reality Tour for a little over a year now. The countless lives I have seen impacted over that short time has been tremendous. I myself do not have children, but I recommend all of my friends with children 10 and up take their child to Reality Tour. The positive responses I receive back is astounding. So many parents and pre-teens / teens do not realize the severity drug abuse has on an entire family. The knowledge they gain at the tours is so profound, many change their entire thinking about ever trying drugs in the first place. This program should be in every school district and every county nationwide.

Tara M
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

The Reality Tour had a tremendous impact on our 10 year old daughter and us. My wife, daughter, and I have truly opened up the lines of communication regarding drugs and alcohol. As all parents, we want the best for our children and the Reality Tour provided us a venue to comfortably approach a difficult subject. We will bring our two other children to the tour when they reach the appropriate age.
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

22 Scouts from Troop 53 in Butler, Pennsylvania attended Realty Tour and were impacted by each dramatic scene. In one scouts words, "it seemed very real and will make me think twice before ever doing drugs". The parents of the scouts were also impacted saying, "Reality Tour made me more aware of what is out there and what my kids could be facing". "I'm glad for the information and now I know what to look for and how to speak with my kids about drugs". Troop 53 is planning on attending every year.
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

We have been working on bringing the Reality Tour to Russell, Ontario, Canada. Over the last few years I have noticed the increase in drug use amongst the youth in our community. Having two teenage children these statistics scare me to death! While in the States last summer I heared about the Reality Tour from some youth that had done the Tour. They said it was "life changing". There was nothing like this available to youth in Canada. We contacted Norma Norris and she is helping adjust a few things with the program to make it suitable for Canada. We are excited to be the first community in Canada to launch the Reality Tour. It is an amazing program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

ABOUT 10 YEARS AGO I WENT TO ONE OF THESE REALITY TOURS LITTLE DID I KNOW THAT IT WOULD CHANGE MY LIFE AND GIVE ME A BETTER UNDERSTANDING ON HOW I WANTED MY LIFE TO GO. THE LEARNING POTENTIALS FAR EXCEED THE NORMAL PROGRAMS ABOUT DRUG AND ALCOHOL USE! THE VOLUNTEERS LEFT A LASTING IMPRESSION ON ME THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE GAVE ME AN OUTLOOK THAT I NEVER EXPECTED TO RECEIVE VERY POWERFUL! I HAVE STRONGLY RECOMMENDED THIS TO MANY OF MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY! i WOULD ALSO SUGGEST THAT ANYONE THAT HAS NOT BEEN TO A REALITY TOUR DO SO VERY SOON!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I WOULDNT CHANGE A THING

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Assist at Reality Tour as a Group Leader, Registration aid, Actor or assist with Photo Morphing. 2. Office help is sometimes needed in our Butler Office. Volunteer