Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
89 Reviews
1234.955065
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I have been working with the Reality tour for over a year and I have had the opportunity to see first hand how it changes lives. I also work at George Junior Republic where the majority of the speakers come from to speak about their life experiences with drugs or alcohol. I recently had a youth who has spoken 4 different times at Reality Tours make a great connection with a member of the audience who wanted to hire him to work with him once he is discharged from George Junior. This connection has done amazing things for the youth's attitude and I am proud to see how a member of our community can see the true potential in a youth from GJR. A huge thank you to the Reality Tour for letting the GJR youth speak and share their stories, this not only helps with their public speaking skills but also with their communication skills and confidence.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

By donating our services to transport students and their parents to there Reality Tours we are able to extend our commitment to safety. Getting these students to these tours may help keep so many of the students safe from drugs and the downward spiral effect they have on our entire society.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I first encountered Candle Inc and Norma at a reality tour through an internship. I'm currently in school for addiction counseling and absolutely loved the program and everything it stood for. After seeing one reality tour I knew I wanted to be involved in more. Drug prevention is very important to me and I fully stand behind everything Candle Inc is about and strongly suggest it to others!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

When Norma Norris asked me ten years ago to help put together ONE reality tour I thought it was a great idea. Over those years I have volunteered and seen the faces of the children who never thought about the consequences of drug use, over and over and over.
When a group of "hard core" kids
from an alternate education facility attend a tour and came up to us afterwards, with tears in their eyes, saying: "I want my sister/cousin/brother to see this program" and gave us hugs, I KNEW this was one of the most valuable programs available for young children.
I don't know how many lives this has saved, but if it saved ONE child from drug abuse, it's well worthwhile!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I was originally involved with the Westmoreland Reality Tour for about 1 year after the loss of my son (David Baughman) to a heroin overdose. In November of last year I took on the venture of bringing the program to the Latrobe Area. The Latrobe Reality Tour will cover the Latrobe, Derry and Ligonier School districts as the Westmoreland Reality Tour no longer has the capacity for our families. Our first tour will be on Wednesday September 17 at the Latrobe Municipal Authority. If I can help deter one child from going down that terrible road then my son's death was not in vain.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

When I give to a charity I am hopeful that my donation will actually help someone. In the case of CANDLE, Inc I know that my contribution will be used to help young people learn of the negative effects of drugs and that it will really change lives.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

My husband and I have seen how heroin has ruined the young life of a son of our friends. This boy was stealing anything & everything to get money to feed his habit, and at age 21 is now in jail on felony charges. His mother's heart broke when the police came to subdue & arrest him at their house, on Mother's Day. If CANDLE, Inc keeps one kid from a future like that, then it is worth it. But we know they are opening the eyes of more than one kid, and that's why we support this organization.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

The Reality Tour and their volunteers provide the education and life-like exposure that parents and their middle school children need about drug prevention in today's world. The topics presented at a Reality Tour provide common knowledge for on-going discussions between parents and their children that attended a tour. These on-going parent-child discussions have helped many families avoid the negative impact drugs can have on the lives of family members.
September 4, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 19, 2013

ive been involved with many organizations and got to say this one is top notch.its all volunteer and everyone takes their roles seriously to reach the most impact on our children and families.i know f... more

September 4, 2014

ive been working with the candle inc for several years as a volunteer and now as a board member.i lost a daughter to a 11 year battle to drugs in march 2011 . my wish is by me helping this way of showing what happened that I can save others from going through what my family went through.
July 19, 2013

ive been involved with many organizations and got to say this one is top notch.its all volunteer and everyone takes their roles seriously to reach the most impact on our children and families.i know from personell expierence how how loosing a loved one after many years of harsh battles with addition and want to invite each and everyone to attend a reality tour near you.its the right thing to do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

pray for the local goverments to help make more of a impact on our schools to get involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

my family lost our lovely daughter march 6th 2011 to a drug overdose.after heart searching i decided to try and speak to others at the butler reality tour about my expierence of a fathers loss of his daughter.i have since after several speeches joined as a board member and continue to speak to others.i want to personelly invite each of you to come to a reality tour and see how there are so many ways for children to get involved with drugs today.my hopes are through the education of this program that your family will not have to go through what my family has to endure daily with our loss.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I have been volunteering for CANDLE, Inc./ Reality Tour through my on campus organization at Slippery Rock University of PA, Rock PRoductions, for about two years now and I recently started interning for them this fall semester. They have an amazing impact on families and that impact increases each day. Several months ago I attended Reality Tour on my own just to get a feel for how they run things and it far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend ALL parents to take the time to go to Reality Tour with their kids!
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Assist at Reality Tour as a Group Leader, Registration aid, Actor or assist with Photo Morphing. 2. Office help is sometimes needed in our Butler Office. Volunteer