Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.946245
Write A Review
December 17, 2014

more

December 17, 2014

I attended the Reality Tour with my 11yr old son. Several of his friends also attended with their parents. It was very informative for both the kids and the adults, I did not realize how much I didn't know about what is going on with drugs. The biggest benefit of this program for us was that it opened up communication for our family. I hope every family gets to attend this amazing program!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2014

more

December 17, 2014

The reality tour is something every child should attend and every school district should pay for! Theses are the things that impacted my daughter the most, the tour it's self is an A+. The mother screaming and crying at the emerg room scene impacted me as well as her. The talk by the recovering addicts and the detective held her attention, even the movie kept her interest but when it came to the talk by the director and the gentleman who is in charge of drug prevention, she did not remember a word that was said. After about 2hours she was getting bored. (Which is about the attention level of any 6th or 7th grader.) I have recommended this to many of my friends.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Hi,

I just want to let you know that this was a very educational for me, my husband and duaghter. I was not a very good child and I really thought I knew a good bit regarding drugs. I had some friends die from drugs and alcohol. I was very lucky and cleaned my act up however now that I
have children I thought I new what to look for. After your tour I was completely wrong.

I really think every parent should attend this tour and not just once. I think that they should attend every couple or so years. I have a child that is 19 and I know things have changed since I was a kid. I also have a child age 11 and it changed from my oldest.

Please keep up the great work. My daughter thanked me for taking her. It really did opens some great line of communication.

Thanks,

Tammy Hoffer
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014



It was an absolute honor for me to be part of the Reality Tour group last night. From the very beginning with the boy scouts, the very excellent film and right up to the very end at the viewing I felt involved in the life of the girl (on the tape).
I watched the faces of the kids
and although you cannot always read, I read enough to tell me that the message was making a deep impression.
The viewing was so real, the mirror made such a dramatic impact. I know I was moved by it but in watching the parents and kids standing at the casket you could almost sense the shock as they looked in the mirror.

THE TOUR MAKES AN IMPACT and if the message sinks in to hopefully most, then it is a "life success".

Thank you for welcoming me.

Dori Daigle
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I have been working with the Reality tour for over a year and I have had the opportunity to see first hand how it changes lives. I also work at George Junior Republic where the majority of the speakers come from to speak about their life experiences with drugs or alcohol. I recently had a youth who has spoken 4 different times at Reality Tours make a great connection with a member of the audience who wanted to hire him to work with him once he is discharged from George Junior. This connection has done amazing things for the youth's attitude and I am proud to see how a member of our community can see the true potential in a youth from GJR. A huge thank you to the Reality Tour for letting the GJR youth speak and share their stories, this not only helps with their public speaking skills but also with their communication skills and confidence.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

By donating our services to transport students and their parents to there Reality Tours we are able to extend our commitment to safety. Getting these students to these tours may help keep so many of the students safe from drugs and the downward spiral effect they have on our entire society.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I first encountered Candle Inc and Norma at a reality tour through an internship. I'm currently in school for addiction counseling and absolutely loved the program and everything it stood for. After seeing one reality tour I knew I wanted to be involved in more. Drug prevention is very important to me and I fully stand behind everything Candle Inc is about and strongly suggest it to others!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

When Norma Norris asked me ten years ago to help put together ONE reality tour I thought it was a great idea. Over those years I have volunteered and seen the faces of the children who never thought about the consequences of drug use, over and over and over.
When a group of "hard core" kids
from an alternate education facility attend a tour and came up to us afterwards, with tears in their eyes, saying: "I want my sister/cousin/brother to see this program" and gave us hugs, I KNEW this was one of the most valuable programs available for young children.
I don't know how many lives this has saved, but if it saved ONE child from drug abuse, it's well worthwhile!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I was originally involved with the Westmoreland Reality Tour for about 1 year after the loss of my son (David Baughman) to a heroin overdose. In November of last year I took on the venture of bringing the program to the Latrobe Area. The Latrobe Reality Tour will cover the Latrobe, Derry and Ligonier School districts as the Westmoreland Reality Tour no longer has the capacity for our families. Our first tour will be on Wednesday September 17 at the Latrobe Municipal Authority. If I can help deter one child from going down that terrible road then my son's death was not in vain.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

When I give to a charity I am hopeful that my donation will actually help someone. In the case of CANDLE, Inc I know that my contribution will be used to help young people learn of the negative effects of drugs and that it will really change lives.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Assist at Reality Tour as a Group Leader, Registration aid, Actor or assist with Photo Morphing. 2. Office help is sometimes needed in our Butler Office. Volunteer