Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

22 Scouts from Troop 53 in Butler, Pennsylvania attended Realty Tour and were impacted by each dramatic scene. In one scouts words, "it seemed very real and will make me think twice before ever doing drugs". The parents of the scouts were also impacted saying, "Reality Tour made me more aware of what is out there and what my kids could be facing". "I'm glad for the information and now I know what to look for and how to speak with my kids about drugs". Troop 53 is planning on attending every year.
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

We have been working on bringing the Reality Tour to Russell, Ontario, Canada. Over the last few years I have noticed the increase in drug use amongst the youth in our community. Having two teenage children these statistics scare me to death! While in the States last summer I heared about the Reality Tour from some youth that had done the Tour. They said it was "life changing". There was nothing like this available to youth in Canada. We contacted Norma Norris and she is helping adjust a few things with the program to make it suitable for Canada. We are excited to be the first community in Canada to launch the Reality Tour. It is an amazing program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

ABOUT 10 YEARS AGO I WENT TO ONE OF THESE REALITY TOURS LITTLE DID I KNOW THAT IT WOULD CHANGE MY LIFE AND GIVE ME A BETTER UNDERSTANDING ON HOW I WANTED MY LIFE TO GO. THE LEARNING POTENTIALS FAR EXCEED THE NORMAL PROGRAMS ABOUT DRUG AND ALCOHOL USE! THE VOLUNTEERS LEFT A LASTING IMPRESSION ON ME THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE GAVE ME AN OUTLOOK THAT I NEVER EXPECTED TO RECEIVE VERY POWERFUL! I HAVE STRONGLY RECOMMENDED THIS TO MANY OF MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY! i WOULD ALSO SUGGEST THAT ANYONE THAT HAS NOT BEEN TO A REALITY TOUR DO SO VERY SOON!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I WOULDNT CHANGE A THING

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

The Realty Tour is totally worth the time and money we spent. I recommend that all parents take their kids. My husband and I took our 14 and 16 year old sons on the Reality Tour in April. We wanted to learn, with our kids, about what drugs are really here in our community. The best part was learning from the presenters about new drugs, and the scary reality of the drug trade right here where we live. As a public school teacher, I want all of my junior high students to learn what I've learned, to bolster their resolve to avoid drugs and people who are involved with drugs. My sons were most affected by the candid stories of the boys who are currently serving time for their involvement with drugs.
March 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 18, 2013

Our tour (Adams Twp, Butler County, PA) is currently on a brief summer hiatus and I can't wait for the next program. As a Tour Director, and as a member of the Board of Directors, I carefully watch t... more

March 25, 2014

I have been a tour director for a number of years and always look forward to each presentation. The reactions that we get from the young people and parents who attend each program constantly motivates me and reinforces the knowledge that we are doing the right thing, every time, all the time. Our message is consistent, timely and another educational tool to help families cope with the scourge that wants to get its grip into our children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get this program into every single community across the United States.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2013

Our tour (Adams Twp, Butler County, PA) is currently on a brief summer hiatus and I can't wait for the next program. As a Tour Director, and as a member of the Board of Directors, I carefully watch the expressions on the faces of the families who come and experience our program. At the beginning of each Tour, I tell our guests that the program will last about 2 1/2 to 3 hours. That's when the eyes start to role. LOL. Then I promise them that by the end of the evening, they will be convinced that this was one of the best 3 hours they have ever spent as a family. And interestingly enough, the people who rolled their eyes the most at the beginning are the ones who make a concerted point to stop and sincerely thank the volunteers for being involved. I only wish I could bottle that feeling and send it to everybody, everywhere. I know in my heart we make a difference and because of that, I am extremely proud of what we do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes we need are to be in more communities. If everybody keeps spreading the word, it can happen. The reviews on this site clearly demonstrate the commintment of everyone who is actively involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I am currently a board member and volunteer with the Reality Tour program. I have been involved since the idea was little more than a seed and am proud to say that that seed was planted, carefully nurtured and grew into this wonderful fruit bearing program. I am constantly amazed when families come to one of our Tours and realize what is actually happening in their very own communities, how it can have a devastating impact on their families and that as a family they can be an active deterrent. It is especially gratifying when the young people discover that one wrong decision can have permanent and unfortunate consequences. But the absolute best part is when people come up after the end of the Tour and offer a sincere and heartfelt thank you to all of the volunteers. We are definitely making a difference in people's lives. I can't think of a better reason to be a part of such an organization. John Walchesky

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

My husband and I thought that the Reality Tour far exceeded our expectations! The children were amazed at how many chemicals were added to drugs, like battery acid and gasoline. We were all moved by the video , scenes, demonstrator and most of all the boys from George Jr. Thank you for going the extra distance in taking this tour to a different level of knowledge . You all will be in our thoughts and prayers always :))

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing :)))

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014

more

February 18, 2014

This program far exceeded my expectations and taught me even more! The skits were most engaging for my 12 year old. He asked me more than once if it was "real". I was very enthralled by the recovery speakers. My prayers contine daily for these 2 young brave men.

I would've paid at
least $50 each for my children and I to attend! Worth so much more!

This program should be required in EVERY school nationwide!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

"The Reality Tour made me more determined to NOT try drugs!"- Quote from a Clarion County Youth attendee

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I learned about REALITY TOUR two years ago and I love the program so much I am helping to start one in the Murrysville, PA, area! Every time I attend a TOUR, I gain more knowledge of the current dangers that illegal drugs and the abuse of prescription medications present to our children and our communities. I'm always surprised that the emotional power of REALITY TOUR continues to affect me no matter how many times I attend. I have young children, so my personal connection to videos and scenes at REALITY TOUR is strong. I never want to see these events unfold for my children or their friends and I'll do whatever it takes to help educate them and lead them in the right direction and help others in our community delay or stop experimentation that can lead to addiction. God Bless CANDLE Inc. for the work they are doing saving lives, families and communities. Once addiction sets in, there is no easy road back to "normal." Prevention -- specifically evidence-based prevention -- plays a vital role as the best way to fight the negative power of addiction and keep the drug trade out of our communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Convince every school district to adopt evidence-based prevention practices and integrate REALITY TOUR into their regular monthly activities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

"Thank you so much for caring about our kids enough to show them how dangerous and easy it is to get involved with drugs & alcohol. Very informative and creative in helping our awareness." - Adult participant at the Indiana County Reality Tour in January 2010.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Assist at Reality Tour as a Group Leader, Registration aid, Actor or assist with Photo Morphing. 2. Office help is sometimes needed in our Butler Office. Volunteer