Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
218 Reviews
1234.922025
Write A Review
February 28, 2011

more

February 28, 2011

Introduction

I, Dr. Carolyn Stroebe, am…..

• A Licensed Psychologist in Berkeley, Ca. --trained as both a research scientist (skeptic & evaluator of research) & a clinician (have seen cancer patient/survivors for imagery & hypnosis, coaching to deal with physicians/medical
bureaucracy, & other psychotherapeutic services).

• The daughter of a two-time breast cancer survivor who died of another cancer, possibly a side-effect of breast cancer treatment; as such I have felt the “Big C” diagnosis shock & have fought the medical establishment for my mom through her battles with cancer.

• A woman with some cancer risk: having grown up in the breast cancer capital, Marin County, & having had both parents die of cancer (among other risk factors).

• A small-time fundraiser for three S.F. Bay Area cancer organizations in the context of 153 Alcatraz swims.

• One with many other family members and friends, survivors & not, who have suffered from cancer.

• Fortunate… having had a surgery to investigate possible ovarian cancer reveal no malignancy.

• Pleased to have recently discovered Cancer Schmancer (AFTER my teen age daughter introduced me to The Nanny and Fran Drescher!)


I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

• Donating
• Purchasing products
(everything ran smoothly)
• Planning to do some (very small bits of ) fundraising during my 2nd 100 Alcatraz swims.
• Referring clients & friends to the website (no feedback yet by expect it to be good)
• Personally exploring & utilizing website.

Since my primary exposure to Cancer Schmancer has been through the website, I’ll review/describe some of my miscellaneous observations and journeys below.

• The setting is welcoming and friendly
• The website pulls diverse resources
from renowned institutes & sources.
• There’s a curious body map upon which one clicks on the “cancer site” of interest. Since I am at risk for developing breast cancer, I click on the boobs. This brought forth a list of breast cancer symptoms along with a link to a useful breast cancer cheat sheet with risk factors.
• Another link on Cancer Schmancer sent me to a site where answering a series of questions allows a computer to calculate my individual risk of getting breast cancer. Unfortunately it was above average as suspected. The evaluation informs one about prevention possibilities by differentiating factors one can change (e.g., diet, exercise) and those irrevocable (e.g., hereditary factors).
• I was able to find an explanation of CA-125, a test I was given back in the early 90’s the docs suspected I had ovarian cancer was present. Because my test was positive, the surgery was expedited. Fortunately there were no malignancies and this showed the test to be a false positive. Information gathered with great difficulty then, was a click of a mouse away on Cancer Schmancer.
• Interviewing physicians is one of my favorite topics. I’ve gotten pretty good at it over the years. I researched my mom’s first cancer and came to conclusions differing from the surgerons, but unfortunately about a week post-surgery. Because the procedure was not what it should have been she got cancer again. We had a second chance! This time I was on top of it. I disagreed with her oncologist and took her case to the tumor board at UCSF where they approved my solution. You cannot necessarily leave your treatment decisions to your physician. Read all about tawk with your doc on Cancer Schmancer (adapted from materials from one of our best medical centers, the University of California, San Francisco).
• Again I’ve not observed the real live Cancer Schmancer in action, but I did learn about Fran Vans and/or how they puts their money where the mammogram is. I was impressed. Fran Vans provide cancer screening for uninsured and/or low income women who desperately need such services. And, Cancer Schmancer goes far beyond. Should there be a cancer diagnosis, the buck stops with Cancer Schmancer, and/or is it the bucks don’t stop with them? Bottom-line: Cancer Schmancer makes sure someone with a cancer diagnosis is assigned a “patient navigator” -- a person who, as Fran says, “… navigates her through the odyssey of the medical community particularly if you happened to be uninsured or underinsured….”
• Cancer Schmancher has physicians and nutritionists to answer emailed questions, as well as libraries of articles about nutritional and medical issues involving cancer prevention.
• Despite learning all about my cancer risk factors, I also got to feel glad that I eat and love to eat raspberries, soybeans & lots of vegetables! I think I’ll start sipping some green tea as well as I read along with Cancer Schmancer and discover which of my favorite ice creams are made with artificial hormones and which aren’t. Later I might and print out beauty care do’s and don’ts for my 13.5 year old daughter who can fill a room with loads of chemicals when doing her nails. Lots to do on Cancer Schmancer.
• Thanks to the website I was able to quickly sign a petition to “tell President Obama to help prevent cancer by getting chemicals linked to the disease out of our cosmetics & other products we use every day.” Wow! How efficient is that?





Ways to make it better...If I had to make changes to this organization.

Not sure I would do anything other than try to increase ways to draw attention to and raise funds for Cancer Schmancer.(e.g., could they sell Cancer Schmancer at Cancer Schmancer? A good thought
but probably not due to some legal barrier?)

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

I don’t know. I’ve seen no statistics, nor know if they exist. And while I’m familiar with a number of local cancer organizations, and worked for the Red Cross, that’s about the extent of my knowledge of non-profits. However, importantly, if Cancer Schmancer does not currently have much impact, there is great potential: As great as the great people in this organization

For better or worse, Hollywood stars and politicians have power. Star power can draw attention, people & money, and at its best, inspire others to do good, by helping themselves, or the world. Fran Drescher’s is the better.

Fran’s is not empty star power, but quality star power, earnestly earned with the brilliance, talent and hard work necessary for a success like The Nanny.
And far beyond star power, she brings the intelligence, compassion, courage, creativity, warmth, wit, energy, generosity & practical focus to head up this excellent organization battling cancer. She is respected, admired, and credible. People will listen to her. This is huge.

This quality star power at Cancer Schmancher doesn’t stop with Fran. Guess who is on The Honorary Board of Directors? Indeed, Hillary Rodham Clinton’s star power has long been apparent, but her enormous popularity was proven when she, in essence, won the popular vote in the last Democratic presidential primary, and was appointed Secretary of State. Of course, Hillary’s knowledge of and passionate interest in health care also make her a perfect fit with Cancer Schmancer,

Secretary of State Clinton is joined by three members of congress: Representatives Rosa DeLauro, and Patrick Kennedy, and Senator Arlen Specter. Cancer Schmancer’s Legal Advisory Board includes The Honorable Gray Davis – Former Governor of CA.
Lots of stars in this sky.

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Without reservation. And I’ve already done so and will continue.

What is unique about this organization?

Again, because my experience with non-profits is limited, I’ve little basis for comparison. But here are my impressions. The first four features are not UNIQUE to Cancer Schmancer but UNCOMMON among cancer organizations.

1. The political angle, and watchdog role, is not all that common. Some cancer organizations may remain quiet regarding what corporations produce cancer-causing products, not wanting to rock the funding boat: Indeed, many companies that raise funds for breast cancer also make products that are linked to the disease!

Fran has the chutzpah to challenge, and make wonderful statements like: “’let our legislators know that the collective female vote is louder & more powerful than that of the richest corporate lobbyists.” And when commenting on the cosmetics industry said that it is self-regulating and as such “basically the fox guarding the hen house;” continuing she spoke of her “fear that when certain manufacturers given the choice between doing the right thing on behalf of the consumer and compromising safety in the interest of profit… a lot of manufacturers are going to err on the side of greed.” I couldn’t have said it better, even if I could say it publically in the first place. Fearless Fran!

2. Serving ALL women, regardless of socioeconomic status is again, not unique, but not common, and commendable!

3. Although the focus on EARLY DETECTION would seem simple and obvious, in practice it is not. This FOCUS can finally help it happen.

4. I mention again one of my favorite topics, the emphasis on communication with physicians. Fran tactfully names this Cancer Schmancer goal in terms of becoming “greater partners with our physicians.”
The following four features are UNIQUE TO CANCER SCHMANCER:
• Friendly, low-key, practical, down-to-earth. It’s hard to articulate …but country music could help. The Cancer Schmancer website FEELS good. There is a nice combination of information, resources, creativity, spirit and heart. CancerSchmancer.org is personal to Fran, familiar to her adoring public, and just downright welcoming and warm. Not bad for a cancer website!
• Somewhat related to this friendly tone is the feeling of inclusiveness. Cancer Schmancer, at least via the website, feels, somehow all-embracing: the mission statement, in reference to cancer starts we “ We’ve all been affected by it in some way, whether it’s ourselves, our families or our friends” Another sign and in another sense of this inclusiveness is the serving of “every woman, regardless of age, race or socioeconomic background .”
• This quality star power, discussed earlier, is as unique as Fran herself.
• Last but hardly least is humor. How many cancer organizations, websites and so forth use humor? Humor is Fran’s style but it could be more.

It’s long been rumored,
That laughter and humor
Can lead to health.

Could Cancer Schmancer be LITERALLY good for your health? We don’t know but it’s worth a look.
Although the research findings are inconsistent, & methodological problems abound, comedy, humor and laughter may have beneficial results in terms of health, and perhaps, specifically cancer. Indeed, this popular and long-held idea deserves quality research.
Currently research does suggest (and ONLY suggest) that exposure to humor may
• enhance components of immunity
• increase pain threshold.
• make for more effective coping with stress (for women only)
• enhance social support (again, for women only)
• help lessen distress during cancer-issue discussion with partners
• helped nurses foster trust in their patients.
• provide an important coping factor for breast cancer patients: in fact, humor was related to issues such as spirituality, the perception of meaning & purpose of life.
Yes, in the end, Cancer Schmancer and Fran may prove to be healthful as well as helpful. And, in sum, Cancer Schmancer is a quality, star powered organization working hard to save women’s live with the promise to do this in a very big (and hopefully half humorous) way.






The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see review above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

see review above

February 12, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 12, 2011

i am a 2 x surviver - and i can appreciate Fran's ordeal in getting a correct diagnosis - i applaud her determination to help her fellow humans conquer this kind of disease

ps. spell check would be helpful

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization has shown that a diagnosis of cancer is NOT a death sentence - and cancer doesnt have to be whispered as the Big C

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see this organization have all the donations they need to continue the fight

February 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2011

I am a Physician Assistant in a family practice setting. I first learned of this organization as I read Ms. Drescher's book "Cancer Smancher". As a medical provider, I was angered by the response she recieved from the medical community during her own illness. As I read her book, I vowed to never allow one of my patients to feel as helpless as she did. She was one of the lucky one's who empowered herself, did the research, and pursued the diagnosis. It saved her life. Not everyone is that lucky or strong.
I have utilized this organization's website both professionally as a reference and personally as an interest. This organization allows women to empower themselves and "take responsibility" for their bodies. I have seen it teach women that they don't have to take no for an answer and can seek a diagnosis and cure early on in their disease process. Not only does the organization empower women, but it also empower female teens to take resposibility for their bodies and prevent cancer from developing.
This is a wonderful organization for women, but can also be an example for men to take control as well. The bottom line is that Cancer Schmancer advocates early diagnosis so that cancer can be stopped and cured through routine screening and educated contact with health providers. Women must feel strong and comfortable enough to challenge their health care providers, otherwise the partnership of medical provider and patient is a weak one. I commend Ms. Drescher for her strength, determination, and compassion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Because I feel I'm a more compassionate provider, I've been more agressive in my testing of patients with concerning symptoms. As a result I've found early cancers that the patients have had treated aggressively. Not only are they now cancer survivors, but they have not had to have extensive radiation and chemotherapy because their cancers have been found early, before they have moved into the lymph system.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any I would make at this time. They are very active throughout the US and their website is readily accessible and easy to navigate.

February 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2011

I came across Cancer Schmancer via the internet. I am a cancer support expert having pioneered Australia's first cancer support movement in the early 1980's. I was so impressed by the clarity, simplicity and quality of information of the website. How information is delivered (or not) to cancer patients can make an enormous difference to outcome - so this website and organisation are making a huge contribution to prevention, early diagnosis and survivorship with a commonsense approach. I have had my own experience with gynaecological problems when complications from a hysterectomy left me without bowel function and as a consequence, I had 20 surgical procedures over a 13 year period, ileostomies and colostomies. I experienced life threatening situations without cancer as the cause! I became a world first for a bionic implant to operate what was left of my colon. It was challenging and a tremendous learning experience. Even as a professional it was difficult to source the information I needed for survival. So from the point of view of a health professional and patient, I can see that Cancer Schmancer's website is not only inspiring, informative and practical - but it serves as a lifeline for women with cancer!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

From a point of view as a health professional the website and organisation is invaluable. Even though I am in Australia, I will be referring clients to Cancer Schmancer's website & will be sure to catch up with activities when I am in the USA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are doing great work. Well done!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

The delivery of their information and commonsense approach. No jargon - accessible to anyone. Website well designed for maximum learning when women are traumatised from the diagnosis and experience of cancer. Fran's story, as a celebrity is so very important in terms of early diagnosis and why women need to persist if they sense something is not right. Great role model.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 10, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2011

I am a 2x breast cancer survivor and former director of the American Cancer Society Patient Navigator Program in NYC. I have two blogs for women with breast and other female cancers. I have reached out to Cancer Schmancer on a few occasions looking for statistics on female cancers for posts i was developing and for resource referrals for my readers.

Each time I contacted this organization I received the help I needed. Everyone I spoke to or emailed was generous with their time and more than willing to help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See Above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

February 10, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2011

In June of 2010, I was packing the contents of my aunt Sue's apartment when she learned she would be in Long Term Care at the Hebrew Home. After lifting heavy boxes, I saw blood. I had not seen blood in 10 years since having a D&C and never having a period again.

I am 63 years
old.

I called my GYN and told her I saw a small amount of blood after lifting heavy boxes. she told me to come to her office where she examined me

and took a biopsy of a polyp she saw. The polyp was benign. My GYN sent me for a Pelvic sonagram and I was told I needed a D &C, which I had on June 25, 2010.

My GYN called me and gave me the name of a surgeon. My GYN said I have stage 3-4 of uterine cancer and I need to talk to a surgeon

she recomended. I had no one to go with me and the surgeon had no bedside manner. she told me she was going on vacation the following week and I needed to get her a copy of my Pelvic Sonagram CD .

I was confused what to do but went for the CD copy of my pelvic sonagram.

A friend had given me the name of the best Oncologist/Gynocologist and said you need to see him for a second opinion and take the CD to him. This time i brought a friend to listen and ask questions. hthe surgeon is Dr. albert j. Steren.

I told him my story and that i was told I have stage 3-4 of Uterine cancer and it would be a "bikini cut".

Dr. Steren told me he will not know the stage until after the surgery.

He was able to do a complete hysterectomy removing everything including the cervix lapiscopically. He took samples of the lymph nodes and surrounding organs.

in 2 weeks I learned it was not stage 3-4 but stage 1A and that i would not need chemotherapy or radiation.

I feel blessed to have found Dr. Steren and he will see me this week for my 6 month check up.

After my surgery, I was told by a friend that Fran Drescher also had stage One of uterine cancer and I found her website and am reading her book and learning I am not alone.

My parents are no longer alive an Aunt and cousins could care less.

My brother and sister in law did take me to the hospital and went with me to hear the results. My aunt sue died August 14, 2010.

Now i feel i have a mission to educate others and get involved with "Cancer Smancer".

I just retired from teaching art for 40 years and I have returned to subbing.

I would like to help design T shirts, bumper stickers, necklaces to help make money for Cancer Schmancer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I just learned about Cancer Schmancer and would like to get involved. i live in Bethesda, Maryland, 45 minutes from washington D.C. We have a beautiful facility in Bethesda called strathmore Hall for entertainers. this would be the perfecrt place for Fran to come and speak and charge admission and sell t shirts, bumper stickers so others with uterine cancer can have a chance to know we are not alone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As an artist, I feel there should be more visual apparel we can buy to spread the word...T shirts, necklaces, bracelets, binders, bumper stickers, hats, scarves with "Cancer Smancer" Fran, a concert with your friends in the entertainment world, maybe Neil diamond, Michael Feinstein, Mandy Patinkin, to help raise money for Cancer Schmancer.

August 3, 2009

more

August 3, 2009

I had the pleasure of interviewing Fran Drescher for an LA TIMES profile last year and was impressed by her seriousness, dedication and enthusiasm for helping all women everywhere take charge of their health and their healthcare. Fran certainly walks her talk and always shows up whenever there is an opportunity to let just one more person know about the work that Cancer Schmancer does and how it serves as an excellent resource for women who have cancer as well as an educational resource for everyone. Like its founder, Fran Drescher, Cancer Schmancer is making a difference in women's lives - one woman at a time!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

it inspired me to see that just one women and one woman's experience CAN make a difference in all women's lives.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help every woman catch cancer early when it can be cured.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 23, 2009

more

July 23, 2009

The hard work and dedication put forth by all who are involved with this foundation should be appreciated the world over. Cancer is a terrible disease, and breast cancer especially is on the rise. We must all stand together to kick cancer in it's behind and run it out of out lives forever.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reach more people especially those who are uninsured and unaware that these types of support systems actually exist.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 21, 2009

more

July 21, 2009

I am sure this will not be a positive review only because I lost my 21 year old girl to cancer, she had Sarcoma, that was destroying her occipitable bone. Now let me explain a little bit about my family. My daughter who I lost was an outstanding tennis player at a very young age, so lets go back so you know the full story. Allison is 12 and my other daughter Kristine is 18, Kristine comes down with Hodgkins and survives, Allison is just so fit, playing tennis and we never thought this would happen to her meaning getting cancer, so she was diagnosed 2/2004 and died 10/2004 9 months for this to happen. I said this may not be a good review only because I am a firm believer we do have the cure for cancer, and just imagine what would happen if everyone was cured? Drug companies would be out of business, hospitals that do nothing but cancer would close shop. Today, is the anniversary of the moon landing, it took 8 years for this accomplishment, cancer has been going on for over 100 years, billions have been spent and? Sorry, for 9 months 24/7 I was trying to save my daughter and it was all total BS. I want everyone who is reading this, check out Sarcoma, it's killing a lot of young kids, but no money is going to this cancer. If I knew that someone had a cure, I would Kill him with my own hands.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

N/A

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hold the President responsible, he should declare war on cancer like Nixon

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

N/A

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

ok

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Please

Ways to make it better...

N/A

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Bull shitters

One thing I'd also say is that...

Nothing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 9, 2009

more

July 9, 2009

I am a cancer survivor, but lost my Mom to cancer age 56. She had worked for toxic Revlon cosmetics for 20 years putting chemicals on women across the US. I am the Director of the Cancer Prevention Coalition for Los Angeles. We give seminars to the public on awareness of avoidable risks of cancer from environmental toxins. I am also a member of the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics. I met Fran in Malibu and gave her my card, tried to get information to her about harmful chemicals in daily used personal care and cosmetics. American Cancer Society and Susan B. Komen will NOT Tell consumers about these dangers because they are monetarily suppported by the cosmetic industry. Please think before you pink. Fran is on the right tract but needs to be on the same page and let consumers know how to make healthy choices in products and orgs that are supported. www.healthy-communications.com Shelley R. Kramer

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Bringing awareness of checking your body for anything that seems not right.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let consumers know how to read labels and avoid known carcinogens in personal care and beauty cosmetics.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Being with like minded supporters of checking your body.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Unaware of the chemicals in daily used personal care and beauty cosmetics.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Advertise and go up against all the major beauty industry leaders to get the toxins out of their products.

Ways to make it better...

Awareness of avoidable risks of cancer from environmental toxins should be given to consumers. www.publicsright2know.org

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Getting the public to understand how to read labels and know what they are putting in and on their bodies.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I would like to be able to give seminars to the public as Director of the Cancer Prevention Coalition on awareness of avoidable risks of cancer and illness from environmental toxins

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers