Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.987345
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I am a postdoctoral scientist at Harvard Medical School, studying how the immune system reacts to insults by infections and cancer. CRI is funding my research since the beginning of this year and I am very grateful for this. It is a great honor for me to get awarded a CRI fellowship, which is well-known as a very prestigious fellowship. CRI recognizes the necessity to fund basic research in order to advance the clinic.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

As a CRI-funded postdoctoral fellow, I could speak all day about the tireless efforts of the CRI to fund basic and translational research and bring immunotherapy to the clinic. The most significant thing for me is that the CRI awards grants based on scientific merit, regardless of nationality or location of research. Which means that they funded me (a non-American citizen/non-permanent resident) to do cancer research in France. I am greatly indebted to the CRI and its donors for believing in the value of my research, and will continue to work my tail off throughout my career to make their early investment in me a worthwhile one. Thank you CRI!
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

CRI has played a significant role in my career as a young scientist by funding three years of my postdoctoral research at Caltech. In addition to direct support, I have greatly enjoyed the opportunities CRI has provided to network and collaborate with scientists involved in a very broad range of immunological and cancer research. They do a great job of bringing everyone - from basic researchers to clinicians - to the same table to address really important problems.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

The CRI has played an integral part in my development as a scientist and cancer researcher. The organization is perceptive enough to still fund high risk though highly rewarding research. I was lucky enough to receive a postdoctoral research fellowship from them this year to study how intestinal bacteria affect the progression of colorectal cancer using advanced chemical techniques. It is an honor to be included in the outstanding research that is funded and supported by the CRI. A true gem in the cancer research field!
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

The CRI is supporting my project this year, in which we are trying to develop new strategies for cancer immunotherapy. It's such an honour for me, especially knowing that Lieping, one of the major contributors to the newly breakthrough in immunotherapy, was also supported by the CRI in his early years. The work CRI has supported proves that they have done a really great job in pushing the researches in cancer forward during the past decades.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

The CRI began funding my post-doctoral work this year. This has allowed me to work on understanding the immune response to metastasis, however, through the events the CRI runs they have also allowed me to network with other young cancer immunologists producing numerous contacts and potential collaborations which will help move this work forward.
October 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2011

Is a researcher in the field of oncoimmunology, I constantly give CRI top rating for its focused and flexible support and high quality of research and educational programs funded by this remarkable or... more

October 17, 2014

More than 15 years ago I had been very lucky to receive a research fellowship from CRI. That support turned out to be very important in allowing me to finish a study that became my modest contribution to the knowledge of differences in gene regulation between mouse and human immune cells. Later on, I became involved in an educational program in tumor immunology in Moscow, Russia. Due to generous CRI support, we were able to invite very best scientists to come to Moscow specifically for teaching. Many students of that program are now successful young researchers advancing the flourishing field of tumor immunology. Over the years I have attended several CRI symposia and had the privilege of personally meeting a number of CRI administrators and employees including its late scientific director Dr.Lloyd Old. I think Dr.Old was an absolutely great scientist and visionary, and all the members of his team are highly professional bright people dedicated to fighting cancer using immunity. CRI is continuing to do a magnificent job in helping cancer immunology research.
June 14, 2011

Is a researcher in the field of oncoimmunology, I constantly give CRI top rating for its focused and flexible support and high quality of research and educational programs funded by this remarkable organization. My opinion is based on a number of attempts (both successful and not) to obtain funding from CRI, as well as on impressions from participation in a number of CRI meetings.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

balanced and well motivated funding decision, flexible management, efficient and professional communication with CRI staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

The CRI has supported me as a budding researcher in the field of cancer immunotherapy over the past two years. Beyond funding my research in the lab, the CRI has coordinated my interactions with scientists and physicians to inspire new cutting-edge ideas. The CRI also helps to eliminate the disconnect between scientists and patients by setting up meetings with immunotherapy recipients, allowing us to truly see and feel the effect we are having on so many lives. The payoff for their efforts has been fully realized in the last decade, with cancer immunotherapy (their primary focus) being recognized as the Science magazine breakthrough of the year in 2013.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

The CRI has been at the forefront of cancer immunology research for decades. The growing success of cancer therapies aimed at the immune system is in no small part due to the efforts of the CRI. As a fellow with CRI funding, I am very grateful for their support, which is allowing me to hone my immunology training for a career in cancer immunology. This organization is not simply a distributor of cash, however. I have been struck by the enthusiasm and optimism of the CRI staff (scientific or otherwise), their desire to engage the public to increase cancer awareness, and their ability to foster a highly collegial environment that is unsurpassed by any other nonprofit I've interacted with. The CRI is doing a great job, and I'm proud to be one of their fellows!
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

CRI has consistently funded the best people in cancer research to do ground breaking translational research in cancer, and has also provided a cutting edge forum for many years for discussion of the now clearly useful field of cancer immunology.
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write a review on this site and other charity review sites about how cancer has impacted them and why it is important to support the Cancer Research Institute.