Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1.142862345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 27, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 27, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

This "Charity" calls day and night and even when you ask to be dropped from call list they won't stop.
P.Brown

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 5, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

A telemarketing company (Associate Community Services) called today asking for a donation for this charity. As a non-profit professional, I know the questions to ask and was transferred to a 'supervisor' who confirmed that only 15% of the donations goes to the charity while 85% is kept by the telemarketing company. The Charity's 2011 tax filings show that the telemarketing firms/fundraisers collected over $4million in donations and kept nearly $3million of it. Those are TERRIBLE rates!!! There are much more effective, responsible charities to donate to where more of your donation goes to the charitable cause. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that this charity is more than a bit shady.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

this charity uses a telemarketing company to ask for donations. that means part of your donation pays the telemarketer. they are VERY high pressure. We lost a child to cancer and have another charity we give to. the telemarketer pushed and pushed for a "small donation" of $50. I gave in to $15. Then received a follow up call asking when will the money be sent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

They called, and I said I couldn't contribute now because we are paying for cancer treatments ourselves, which leaves us no extra money; I was told they wouldn't call again. The next time they called was just before 9:00pm and I repeated the above. She wished me well and said they would take my name off the list. They called a third time, and once again I said there is no extra money now or the foreseeable future. The woman was very insistent, saying their minimum donation was $40 but i could give whatever I was comfortable giving. I told her $5 was all I could spare; she said the least they could take was $15 and they would send me a letter with instructions; my number would be taken off the list once I contributed. So I told her I would contribute just to get them to stop calling. I was switched over to a second person, who wanted my credit card number. She backed off the credit card demand when I told her I was expecting a letter, but she tried to convince me that by donating with a credit card I'd be helping the children a lot faster. After reading the report on them plus the reviews, they will be getting a letter from me instead of a donation--and I will be sending a letter to my state's Attorney General about this charity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This is organization needs to revaluate their values in an effort to be a charity. They constantly call, sometimes twice a day, what I define as harassment. Then you get pledge cards in the mail weekly and they call asking why you haven't sent money. I highly encourage everyone to NOT donate a single dime to this organization. They need to be put out of business.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

The Childrens Cancer Recovery Foundation does NOT even remove your phone number from their call list even if you contact them and ask them to REMOVE your number. On November 15, 2012, after receiving numerous calls from this organization, I spoke directly to a person named Eric Piper who said he would immediately take care of it. Today is November 19th and they called again at 8:55pm EST, this is not only ridiculous, it's absurd!! You can check them out at: http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=6911. Their overall score is: Overall 44.55; Financial 42.32; Accountability & Transparency 47.00. This organization may not be a scam, but it doesn't sound like a charity that I personally would want to donate to. :(

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Telemarketer scam as near as I can tell. I told them to put me on their do not call list, but was ignored.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This organization has been pestering my 92-year-old mother on the phone to get her to send donations. I don't appreciate it - and I don't appreciate any organization that preys upon the very elderly. I don't know how they got her name or phone number, but I will never contribute to this or any other organization that uses telemarketing to solicit donations, especially from the elderly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been continually harassed by this group for a donation for the last several weeks. They call about twice a day and claim I said I would donate $20. I never said that. They keep asking if I sent the check yet. I never donate or promise donations over the phone, only ask that they send some info, or tell them I will look into their organization. I use Charity Navigator all the time to send what little extra I have to a useful and honest charity. When I point out the truth, they yell at me and ask if I'm calling them a liar, or they hang up and call again later asking for a donation. When I try to call back, they immediately hang up. When I try to call the charity directly, they don't answer. Since Charity Navigator doesn't rate donation tactics, I'll chime in with the other reviewers here and tell you they're despicable. I also see their rating is less than when it comes to financials and transparency. Definitely find another charity! There are plenty of cancer charities out there that will do much more with your money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

BEWARE of this charity! Donate at your own risk! Do not waste your money with this charity. There are many reputable and worthwhile cancer and/or children’s charities and this is not one of them. The worst outreach program of any charity. Zero accountability for repeated harassment. You can't call them back because the 800 number they provide will automatically disconnect your call if you attempt to reach an operator or directory. Therefore, you will never be able to verify your donation or any information regarding the charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers