Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Colon Cancer Survivor for 14 yrs. When I was first diagnosed I learned that I would be facing some physical challenges after my surgery. I needed to speak with someone who had gone through this. Cancer Hope Network had the resources of Volunteers that was able to help me prepare for the upcoming challenges that lie ahead. I have now been a Volunteer with Cancer Hope Network for 13 yrs and it's been an honor to give back to a wonderful organization that was there when I needed them. Paula G.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Almost five years ago I was shocked to learn I had prostate cancer. Happily, I received good advice from friends and excellent medical care, and for almost three years I have been considered cancer free. Earlier this year I learned about the Cancer Hope Network and the wonderful work they do. I wish I had known about them while I was going through my own treatment but now I serve as a volunteer telling other prostate cancer patients about the positive experience I had. The staff at CHN provided me with excellent training, and they do a very careful job matching my circumstances to those of people who currently need encouragement and hope. I couldn’t be happier to be helping current cancer patients and families through the Cancer Hope Network.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I had a very frightening and complex cancer history with two diagnoses of two separate cancers plus a near-fatal cellulitis infection within three months of my diagnosis. Then I had a blood clot, 5 difficult months of chemo, and a mysterious metastatic lymph node that came and went. I wish I had known about Cancer Hope Network, that aligns me with people who have the exact same conditions that I had. I have been able to assure them that I too had this or that condition, and I am happily healthy today. This is the only cancer group I ever intend to support and to dedicate my time to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I am a 10 year+ metastatic breast cancer srivor, that's survivor and thriver all in one. I have been in treatment for that entire time and will continue to be until the day I die. I always felt that I had the ability/compassion/knowledge and drive to be able to help others deal with this road we're traveling. I wanted to be able to help, to give to others. I feel that it has been a blessing that Cancer Hope Network has accepted me, trained me and given me the responsibility /opportunity to reach out to others. Although I might be giving help/hope to others, I am receiving far more in return: there is a reason that I am still alive and kicking after all this time, I have found my passion - the ability to be there for others. No, I am not a miracle worker, but thanks to connecting to others through the Cancer Hope Network, I feel like one! It would be fantastic if this organization had the financial resources to be out there and helpful to even more people; those that turn to it in order to receive hope and those that turn to it in order to give hope. Alice S. Gordon

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is a great organization! It reaches out to new cancer patients with support and information from cancer survivors like myself. Their training is first rate and their follow up is great. I can't say enough good things aboutq what they do for cancer patients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Bladder cancer was not on my mind when I went to the doctor. Wow, what a shock! I read everything I could find, and flooded my doctors and nurses with question after question. I talked to social workers and counselors. I was swimming in technical data. Then I found Cancer Hope Network. They matched me with a volunteer who had actually experienced bladder cancer. He shared the answers he had found. My anxiety settled down. We talked about how to handle problems as they arose, as well as how to rebuild my life after successful treatment. Nothing helps as much as talking to a person who has "been there, done that." Now I pass on MY experience as a volunteer for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I am a breast cancer survivor and now a volunteer. I call Spanish speaking patients all over the United States, referred to me by this organization and talk to them or listen to them as they express their fears and apprehensions. Sometimes they just need someone to listen to them as they try to cope with feelings of sadness and loss and trying to find ways to cope with their new situation. It is a privilege for me to "accompany" them in part of this journey and to witness their recovery as they gain new strength, faith and vision for the future. The staff at Cancer Hope Network are great to work with, and they have a genuine concern for the people they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I was told about Cancer Hope Network by the National Cancer Institute 1-800-4CANCER when I had cancer and was going through treatment. I called because I needed reassurance about the things my radiation oncologist was telling me. Ordinarily I don't reach out for help but this was my ultimate crisis. The volunteer with whom I spoke was so helpful that when I was eligible I became a volunteer. This organization helps volunteers give back to society by sharing their experience and patients by speaking with survivors who have lived through what they are facing. I've been doing this for 11 years. It is gratifying to me, and I know from feedback, that it helpful to the new patients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I first knew of Cancer Hope Network when our daughter was diagnosed with Hodgkin's in the early 1990s and have continued my association as a volunteer since my recovery from treatment for breast cancer. I have never known a more dedicated group than the patient advocates at CHN, who work hard to match a caller, frightened by a recent diagnosis, with a volunteer who has been through what the caller now faces. Volunteers have the opportunity to offer support, educated advice, and ,most importantly, a sympathetic ear. Many patients feel they shouldn't burden or frighten their relatives and friends with their concerns but need somewhere talk about them Cancer Hope Network fills that bill.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

At 32 I was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer. I was sure I was going to die because it had spread to 2 of my lymph nodes. Then Edna called and changed everything. The first words out of her mouth were, "I had 17 positive lymph nodes and that was 16 years ago!" I couldn't have been happier - not happy about Edna's situation, but that she was still alive! Edna was the only one I could truly talk to because she had been through what I was going through. As supportive as my family and friends were, only Edna knew how I was feeling. She was my lifeline. Two years later, I discovered that Edna was going to be in Bermuda the same week I was going to be in Bermuda on my honeymoon. We had never met face to face until then. It was amazing to hug the woman who helped me survive cancer. I owe it all to Cancer Hope Network. As a result, I have been volunteering for Cancer Hope Network and made many calls like Edna's call to me. I know how good it felt for me to have Edna, and I want to be there for others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers