Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.782615
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

VERY THOROUGH IN THEIR TRAINING. ON TIME AND THE ORIENTATION WAS VERY PERTINENT

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

This is one of the most amazing programs for both the volunteer and clients. The clients get reassurance that wht they are feeling is completely normal. and the volunteer gets to have something positive come out of their personal cancer situation. Wonderful program that I reccommend to anyone who will listen to me

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

A great organization with such a wonderful staff. Many of the staff members themselves either underwent a cancer diagnosis or took on the role as a caregiver as well so there is an element of empathy there. It is an honor to work alongside them and to help them spread hope to the people that call in every day.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 24, 2014

more

June 24, 2014

I was recently diagnosed with MMMT, so during my chemo, I filled out a form yesterday to be matched up with a survivor of my kind of cancer, and to my shock, today I got a call from a representative of Cancer Hope Network. The first shock came when after we had greeted each other on the phone, she wanted to know my type of cancer, and I informed her that mine was uterine cancer known as MMMT. She said she'd never heard of this kind of cancer so I decided to help her out with the full name of the initials. She said they were not aware of this kind of cancer, and later informed me within two minutes of talking to me that there was no survivor this group based in NJ had ever heard of. And shockingly, I asked her how this group could claim all they claim and not be aware of this kind of uterine cancer or to not do their research before contacting me. She then promised to send me an e-mail with two alternative organizations that could probably help me. I am sorry, but this is very discouraging and sad that a representative of a group that is to support and encourage victims of this grave disease could be the source of discouragement. How could she say there is no known person who had survived this kind of cancer to match me up with and how could she not know this cancer and how until now, several hours later, has she not sent me the two names yet? Wow!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Never have volunteers who are clueless about a victim's kind of cancer when they call them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Colon Cancer Survivor for 14 yrs. When I was first diagnosed I learned that I would be facing some physical challenges after my surgery. I needed to speak with someone who had gone through this. Cancer Hope Network had the resources of Volunteers that was able to help me prepare for the upcoming challenges that lie ahead. I have now been a Volunteer with Cancer Hope Network for 13 yrs and it's been an honor to give back to a wonderful organization that was there when I needed them. Paula G.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Almost five years ago I was shocked to learn I had prostate cancer. Happily, I received good advice from friends and excellent medical care, and for almost three years I have been considered cancer free. Earlier this year I learned about the Cancer Hope Network and the wonderful work they do. I wish I had known about them while I was going through my own treatment but now I serve as a volunteer telling other prostate cancer patients about the positive experience I had. The staff at CHN provided me with excellent training, and they do a very careful job matching my circumstances to those of people who currently need encouragement and hope. I couldn’t be happier to be helping current cancer patients and families through the Cancer Hope Network.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I had a very frightening and complex cancer history with two diagnoses of two separate cancers plus a near-fatal cellulitis infection within three months of my diagnosis. Then I had a blood clot, 5 difficult months of chemo, and a mysterious metastatic lymph node that came and went. I wish I had known about Cancer Hope Network, that aligns me with people who have the exact same conditions that I had. I have been able to assure them that I too had this or that condition, and I am happily healthy today. This is the only cancer group I ever intend to support and to dedicate my time to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I am a 10 year+ metastatic breast cancer srivor, that's survivor and thriver all in one. I have been in treatment for that entire time and will continue to be until the day I die. I always felt that I had the ability/compassion/knowledge and drive to be able to help others deal with this road we're traveling. I wanted to be able to help, to give to others. I feel that it has been a blessing that Cancer Hope Network has accepted me, trained me and given me the responsibility /opportunity to reach out to others. Although I might be giving help/hope to others, I am receiving far more in return: there is a reason that I am still alive and kicking after all this time, I have found my passion - the ability to be there for others. No, I am not a miracle worker, but thanks to connecting to others through the Cancer Hope Network, I feel like one! It would be fantastic if this organization had the financial resources to be out there and helpful to even more people; those that turn to it in order to receive hope and those that turn to it in order to give hope. Alice S. Gordon

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is a great organization! It reaches out to new cancer patients with support and information from cancer survivors like myself. Their training is first rate and their follow up is great. I can't say enough good things aboutq what they do for cancer patients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Bladder cancer was not on my mind when I went to the doctor. Wow, what a shock! I read everything I could find, and flooded my doctors and nurses with question after question. I talked to social workers and counselors. I was swimming in technical data. Then I found Cancer Hope Network. They matched me with a volunteer who had actually experienced bladder cancer. He shared the answers he had found. My anxiety settled down. We talked about how to handle problems as they arose, as well as how to rebuild my life after successful treatment. Nothing helps as much as talking to a person who has "been there, done that." Now I pass on MY experience as a volunteer for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers