Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1.222222345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 25, 2012

Came to this site to verify the company and glad I did. Thank you to services like this for helping the uninformed donor. No money from me!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They fooled me once...then I checked up on them. Needless to say I will give them nothing further. A true scam!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Cancer Support Services contacted me at a vulnerable time. My father had just passed away from cancer, and my mother was ill and has since passed. I never heard of the charity prior to their phone solicitation. I promised minimal donation. I received multiple phone calls to remind me of the donation I had promised. It most likely cost more to make the calls than I will be sending.
I will be including a printout of their ratings with my check, along with the request that they do not contact me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This organization is a disgusting shame to America and it's citizens. Any organization that collects over 11 Million dollars, spends 10 Million on itself and makes a 1Million dollar donation to another organization needs to be shutdown. They need to be stopped immediately. This makes lies and deceit 'just legal' enough to continue ripping off the American public. The ONLY reason I would give this company 1 star is to register this review.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I'm fed up with all charitible organizations that are using telemarketing practices to the degree it's harrassment! I no longer donate to anyone unless I personally recognize them and their standing within the rank & file of charities. Not only have they annoyed our family's privacy by constantly interrupting dinner, movie, etc., they've become downright rude with their insistence even after you've told them 'no'. We're a caring family and donate when we can, but this has destroyed our faith in the system. Telemarketing tactics have become so abusive to our privacy....so please JUST STOP!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I made the mistake of falling to CSS's guilt-tripping, persistent phone calls, and contributed to them. They call me constantly asking for more. Has anyone actually heard of anyone who received SUPPORT from this organization? Their website does not tell you how to seek their support if you have cancer. SCAM!!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Received several calls from this charity with all calls showing up as "ACS". The fundraiser lady said, "fully 100% of donated funds go to helping cancer patients". A misleading statement as I suppose after all expenses are paid that 100% of what's left does go to patients. They urge you to use a credit or debit card something I never do over the phone. I always check out charities and this one is a NO-GO. Expenses are high.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 23, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

Not only did the caller ID identify this organization is "ACS" (American Cancer Society), but I would swear up and down that their rep told me he was actually WITH American Cancer Society. He also mentioned helping cancer patients who "can't afford healthcare," etc. Needless to say I pledged $20 to get him off the phone, but when I got the pledge form was shocked to see it was for this "Cancer Support Services." OK, I'm down with their supposed mission, but the sad fact is they spend most of their money on fund-raising, and not actually supporting cancer patients. I will not be honoring my pledge, and will instead give money to a reputable organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

n/a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reduce the amount of money spent on fund-raising and actually give money to cancer victims who need it.

April 18, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 18, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

This charity spends $6,000,000 a year on fundraising and only gives away $1,000,000 in a supporting grant to Cancer Foundation of America.
What a scam. They use aggressive telemarketing to acquire donations, using "cancer" and "hospices" and "poor patients who can't afford medical supplies" as
their catch phrases to prey on your sympathies. Do Not Be Fooled by this poorly run excuse for a 501c3 into giving them any of your money!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

No

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop paying out so many salaries and start using more than 13% of the money they collect for the purpose of their nonprofit status.

April 5, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 5, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

I received a phone call from this organization and I pledged $10. After doing so I checked up on the charity. I should have done that first. I've learned my lesson. I honored the pledge because in my state it is considered a legal obligation to do so. I also wrote them a note explaining that I would never donate to them again and asked them not to call me for future donations. They have repeatedly ignored this simple request. Each time they call I ask them not to call again and I tell them I will never donate to their organization again. Over the last 2 years I've received at least 3 more calls from them. The next time this happens I plan to file a formal complaint to the government and may take other actions against them to put a stop to the harrassment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

No

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization should increase their efficiency and send more money to people who are supposed to be helped. I consider this organization to be a scam.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers