Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1.222222345
Write A Review
August 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My husband was home one afternoon when Cancer Support Services called. We have lost many dear friends to cancer. My husband has two brothers fighting caner at present. Naturally he is a soft touch. Ready to help all he can when he hears the word cancer. He gave a pledge of $20.00. Now this is not a lot of money, but I became skeptical when phone calls and letters started to arrive. Every other day we are getting call telling us we did not fulfill our pledge. This just made me even more uneasy. This afternoon another phone call came and I heard all the other little bees in the background working the phones. Thank you for this web sight. I have an answer for the next call. I also am printing this information and sending it back in the letter minus a $20.00 check. I will help all the local funds, motorcycle runs, bake sales. but as for phone solicitation, NO WAY. WHEN THEY CALL AGAIN I WILL ASK THEM FOR A DONATION FOR MY TWO BROTHERS IN LAW !! BET THEY WON'T CALL BACK.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Worst charity ever. They pretend to help people and just harass the elderly. They are disgusting. All the money they receive goes to the rotten telemarketing company that they co-own. They should be put out of business.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take away their charity status

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

I'm a reporter with Channel 7 News in Detroit, researching a story on Cancer Support Services. If you were solicited by this company, would you please call me at (248) 827-9466, or e-mail me at rjones@wxyz.com? I'm interested in talking to people regardless of their experience (positive or negative) with the non-profit .

Thanks,
Ross Jones

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It was VERY hard to find any information about this 'charity'...not the first sign of a legit charity :-/ Called many times from a local number, but told to mail donation to another state (after requesting mailings...was asked to just forward without). I wonder why...

As others stated,
shall forward my pledge to the American Cancer Society instead.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

Came to this site to verify the company and glad I did. Thank you to services like this for helping the uninformed donor. No money from me!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They fooled me once...then I checked up on them. Needless to say I will give them nothing further. A true scam!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Cancer Support Services contacted me at a vulnerable time. My father had just passed away from cancer, and my mother was ill and has since passed. I never heard of the charity prior to their phone solicitation. I promised minimal donation. I received multiple phone calls to remind me of the donation I had promised. It most likely cost more to make the calls than I will be sending.
I will be including a printout of their ratings with my check, along with the request that they do not contact me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This organization is a disgusting shame to America and it's citizens. Any organization that collects over 11 Million dollars, spends 10 Million on itself and makes a 1Million dollar donation to another organization needs to be shutdown. They need to be stopped immediately. This makes lies and deceit 'just legal' enough to continue ripping off the American public. The ONLY reason I would give this company 1 star is to register this review.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I'm fed up with all charitible organizations that are using telemarketing practices to the degree it's harrassment! I no longer donate to anyone unless I personally recognize them and their standing within the rank & file of charities. Not only have they annoyed our family's privacy by constantly interrupting dinner, movie, etc., they've become downright rude with their insistence even after you've told them 'no'. We're a caring family and donate when we can, but this has destroyed our faith in the system. Telemarketing tactics have become so abusive to our privacy....so please JUST STOP!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 23, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 23, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I came to this site because I got a call from them and the number that was used ( 313-203-8198 )is listed under another organization. From my experience and what I have read here, I think they should be investigated carefully before donating and perhaps by law enforcement. For sure I would not trust them with a donation, there are too many other charities that seem more ethical.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers