Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12.28125345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 7, 2014

This organization is a complete SCAM. They called me, and when asked they said that only 5% of what I donate would go to the cause. The rest goes to fundraising overhead.

So if I donated $10, only 50 cents would go to the cause.

This is immoral. I cannot believe I donate so
much time and work so hard for our non-profit which runs on a shoestring and does such great work when these seamsters are taking so much money home.

This is so wrong.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

improve the amount of money cancer people receive by dissolving the organization so that people would donate to more efficiently run charities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/charities/cancer-fund-of-america

This company was listed as one of the worst "charities" in the country and was highlighted on CNN as such. If you donate to this company, you're merely donating to the Reynolds family personal fund (and
helped buy them a vacation house on the lake).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Actually give the money to cancer patients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

These people give barely anything to the cause and keep the majority of money for their greedy selves. They are scumbags, garbage, trash, wastes of life, and going to hell. How do they possibly feel good about themselves? How are they not ashamed of themselves? They Deserve the death penalty or at least should be put in jail.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They Deserve the death penalty or at least should be put in jail.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I work for a non-profit in AZ. I was shocked to see this scam in my state. It is despicable to use Cancer and its Victims to rip people off. Sinful for sure. In curiosity I went to their website. It looks cheesy- very unprofessional and notice the "Donate now" buttons and animation all over the website- another clue- look at the lack of info given about the board members and CEO- also very unprofessional. If it looks like a duck.... this should be a federal crime and the CEO and all involved from staff to board members should be heavily fined and the $ returned to donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Complete investigation. Subpoena of every document and email for past 7 years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Just exposed on Anderson Cooper and the Tampa tribune.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put the whole Reynolds scam clan in prison.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Do a search on line of "cancer fund of America". You will find multiple news articles regarding this organization. It is a scam designed to support the Reynolds family (CEO and other officers). Charity Navigator says this is a good organization. Conclusion: Don't trust Charity Navigator.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I kept receiving calls from this organization. When I talked to the person on the other side of the line, he told me that since I have been supporting them for all these years, could he send another pledge for $100? I said if you can prove to me that I donated you any year, I will gladly write you a check ror $100. Then he verified my address and passed me over to another lady to verify how I am paying them. Their deceptive practices are really bad.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My elderly mother donated $10 to this organization. Then they billed her for $40. She's tried to reach them numerous times and no one answers the phone. What they're doing is tragic and quite possibly illegal. I would steer clear of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

You are right ! This group is a JOKE!! My wife is a stage 3 breast cancer survivor and is pissed because they keep waking us up in the morning!! The moron who commented after your post prob works for the non-profit! 85% of their reviews make them sound like a pump-&-dump ripoff that is taking other peoples hard erned $$!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I referred a friend to this organization she sent in the required paperwork in June and she received nothing.So she called them in August she was told that they suspended service of sending care packages until November. She called again in November as instructed and again was told that services were again suspended until sometime next year. How is the head of this charity justifying getting 6 figure income if people in need are getting nothing. What is being done with all the carnation drinks people have been donating as well as other items if they aren't going to those in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers