Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Write A Review
January 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

11/12/2012 7:19:34 PM CAPPED is the premier cancer awareness entity in our small community of Alamogordo, NM. The Executive Director (Teresa Van Winkle) gives tirelessly and abundantly of her time, ... more

January 27, 2014

Ms. Teresa Van Winkle continues to be a consummate resource of inspiration and hope for the Alamogordo, New Mexico community. She inspires all of us to look for exceptional ways to fulfill our goals of service above self to our neighbors, friends, and to those individuals in need of medical resources. These resources help individuals fight cancer and to succeed as a healthy individual.
We (especially myself) believe that Teresa’s mission at CAPPED is the lifeline that holds our community in high regard and for all persons who need hope and resources to survive cancer.
Teresa is our symbolic “Mother Teresa and our blessed Mary.” We love her very much.
Thanks, Teresa!
***
As the premier cancer awareness entity in our small community of Alamogordo, NM; the Executive Director of CAPPED (Ms. Teresa Van Winkle) gives tirelessly and abundantly of her time, talent and resources. Volunteers in our community love what they do for CAPPED and truly love to assist CAPPED any time Teresa calls them.
During my nine plus years in the Alamogordo community; my daughter and husband continue to give volunteer assistance and as well personal monetary donations to CAPPED when time allows. I also continue to obtain ionic foot baths for a minimal fee as well as serve as an advisor on services that are non-cancer related.
Without the CAPPED organization; individuals who need emotional support or medical referral services would have no hope.
CAPPED gives hope and a positive outlook to many individuals in need of a place to go for counseling and special needs cancer assistance. CAPPED provides wigs or caps as well as referrals services to cancer specialists. Sometimes other organizations may have unintentionally or are unable to assist individuals with financial or emotional support—CAPPED always come to their rescue.
Teresa, thanks again, for allowing me to give this testimony about how wonderful your organization is and its gift of hope. This hope is especially true for individuals with meager resources who often have no emotional or medical support. I truly believe that individuals in Alamogordo and nearby communities thank you for help with their cancer issues.
Sincerely,
Dr. Paulette Hilton-Robinson, CFO

PaWaMiGa & Associates, Inc.
P.O. Box 1382
Alamogordo, NM 88311

drpaumari@yahoo.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

11/12/2012 7:19:34 PM CAPPED is the premier cancer awareness entity in our small community of Alamogordo, NM. The Executive Director (Teresa Van Winkle) gives tirelessly and abundantly of her time, talent and resources. Volunteers love what they do for CAPPED and truly love to assist CAPPED any time the Director calls for assistance. During my seven plus years in the Alamogordo community; I have given volunteer assistance, small monetary donations and have been the recipient of services from CAPPED that are non-cancer related.
Thanks sincerely for allowing me to give my testimony about this wonderful organization which gives hope to so many needy individuals with meager resources. Without CAPPED; individuals who need services and who receive services would have no without hope. CAPPED gives hope and a positive outlook for these so many persons in need of places to go for counseling and other types of assistance when all other organizations have abandoned them.
Sincerely, Dr. Paulette Hilton-Robinson, CFO - PaWaMiGa & Associates, Inc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

October 14, 2013

I have volunteered at CAPPED for five years. I have developed a fond appreciation for the services Tresa VanWinkle provides and the lives she has touched. I have referred many friends to her and sincerely believe she has saved many lives, helped families cope (as they are
often right next to their loved ones on this journey), help individuals get benefits such as insurance and discounted services. She works with individuals who provide a variety of services from ionic foot baths, hypnotherapy, and much more. I have lost friends and loved ones to cancer and can defiantly attest to the support and love that I have felt here at CAPPED dealing with lose, anger, and finally resolution as I honor the memories of my loved ones.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more funding for CAPPED so that more help can be given to those in need...there are many many people diagnosed with cancer each day

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I have known Tresa Van Winkle RN for 15 years. Her passion and drive in starting and operating CAPPED is an inspiration to every one she meets. I have been fortunate to know about CAPPED and been able to refer individuals to the "Miracle on New York Ave" when they had questions, concerns, fears about cancer. Tresa is professional, caring and knowledgeable and is well known and respected in the community. CAPPED is a valuable asset and tremendous force for good in the Alamogordo and surrounding communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I have volunteered at CAPPED for five years. I have developed a fond appreciation for the services Tresa VanWinkle provides and the lives she has touched. I have referred many friends to her and sincerely believe she has saved many lives, helped families cope (as they are often right next to their loved ones on this journey), help individuals get benefits such as insurance and discounted services. She works with individuals who provide a variety of services from ionic foot baths, hypnotherapy, and much more. I have lost friends and loved ones to cancer and can defiantly attest to the support and love that I have felt here at CAPPED dealing with lose, anger, and finally resolution as I honor the memories of my loved ones.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering for CAPPED, Inc., September, 2012. I traveled 180 miles one way, at my own expense, to be here three days every month to do whatever Tresa needed because I believe so passionately in this cause. I found, at CAPPED, that every staff member and volunteer is there to help and support anyone that walks through the doors. You walk through the doors of CAPPED and something magical happens. I can't explain it, but I know in my heart, this is where I want to be, this is where I need to be. Going through cancer with my husband and several other family members and friends, I wanted to help people learn how to cope and get through the tragic effects of this terrible disease. CAPPED and Tresa has helped me to d o this. I began working at CAPPED as a full time employee in June, 2013. In addition to my paid hours, I continue to work as volunteer staff several hours a week because being a part of this organization allows me to have the satisfying feeling that maybe I make a difference in other people's lives. The wonderful feeling I receive when someone says, "Thank you, you have helped me," is one of the most rewarding feelings I could ever want.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Well I've had nothing but great experiances at this place. They have great services for the the community and for cancer patients. If you have a chance please stop by and see our office and center for intagrated health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The CAPPED organization has offered me the opportunity to learn how diet and life style affect our overall health and may contribute to illness. There is an atmosphere of helpfulness and hope that is apparent as soon as you enter the building. Everyone is treated with consideration and respect. Volunteers are provided with the tools and the knowledge they need to provide the best possible customer service to clients. After my volunteer shift is over I always feel like I have been of service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was a volunteer for a year and then invited to join the staff as a foot bath(Aqua Chi) tech. I've never seen anyone turned away for any reason even at our center for integrative health center where there are paid for services such as foot baths and massages and hypnotherapy. Everyone here are truly driven to support the members of our community who have Cancer or are Caregivers. This place and organization is truly blessed and should be supported by everyone in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers