Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

11/12/2012 7:19:34 PM CAPPED is the premier cancer awareness entity in our small community of Alamogordo, NM. The Executive Director (Teresa Van Winkle) gives tirelessly and abundantly of her time, ... more

January 27, 2014

Ms. Teresa Van Winkle continues to be a consummate resource of inspiration and hope for the Alamogordo, New Mexico community. She inspires all of us to look for exceptional ways to fulfill our goals of service above self to our neighbors, friends, and to those individuals in need of medical resources. These resources help individuals fight cancer and to succeed as a healthy individual.
We (especially myself) believe that Teresa’s mission at CAPPED is the lifeline that holds our community in high regard and for all persons who need hope and resources to survive cancer.
Teresa is our symbolic “Mother Teresa and our blessed Mary.” We love her very much.
Thanks, Teresa!
***
As the premier cancer awareness entity in our small community of Alamogordo, NM; the Executive Director of CAPPED (Ms. Teresa Van Winkle) gives tirelessly and abundantly of her time, talent and resources. Volunteers in our community love what they do for CAPPED and truly love to assist CAPPED any time Teresa calls them.
During my nine plus years in the Alamogordo community; my daughter and husband continue to give volunteer assistance and as well personal monetary donations to CAPPED when time allows. I also continue to obtain ionic foot baths for a minimal fee as well as serve as an advisor on services that are non-cancer related.
Without the CAPPED organization; individuals who need emotional support or medical referral services would have no hope.
CAPPED gives hope and a positive outlook to many individuals in need of a place to go for counseling and special needs cancer assistance. CAPPED provides wigs or caps as well as referrals services to cancer specialists. Sometimes other organizations may have unintentionally or are unable to assist individuals with financial or emotional support—CAPPED always come to their rescue.
Teresa, thanks again, for allowing me to give this testimony about how wonderful your organization is and its gift of hope. This hope is especially true for individuals with meager resources who often have no emotional or medical support. I truly believe that individuals in Alamogordo and nearby communities thank you for help with their cancer issues.
Sincerely,
Dr. Paulette Hilton-Robinson, CFO

PaWaMiGa & Associates, Inc.
P.O. Box 1382
Alamogordo, NM 88311

drpaumari@yahoo.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

11/12/2012 7:19:34 PM CAPPED is the premier cancer awareness entity in our small community of Alamogordo, NM. The Executive Director (Teresa Van Winkle) gives tirelessly and abundantly of her time, talent and resources. Volunteers love what they do for CAPPED and truly love to assist CAPPED any time the Director calls for assistance. During my seven plus years in the Alamogordo community; I have given volunteer assistance, small monetary donations and have been the recipient of services from CAPPED that are non-cancer related.
Thanks sincerely for allowing me to give my testimony about this wonderful organization which gives hope to so many needy individuals with meager resources. Without CAPPED; individuals who need services and who receive services would have no without hope. CAPPED gives hope and a positive outlook for these so many persons in need of places to go for counseling and other types of assistance when all other organizations have abandoned them.
Sincerely, Dr. Paulette Hilton-Robinson, CFO - PaWaMiGa & Associates, Inc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have provided training for many of the volunteers at CAPPED to provide support for those with cancer and their loved ones. Never have I encounter more devoted volunteers in the field of cancer support. The same can be said of the executive director who commits the majority of her waking hours to make sure CAPPED is providing the very best services possible to fulfill its mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lots of money from the community and state entities would flow in to provide CAPPED with needed funding to provide all the services they wish to provide.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Being a Board Member of CAPPED has awarded me the opportunity to see, first hand, the tremendous work that is being done to support and help those in the community with cancer and other diseases. Tresa's outreach helps people of all ages, not only with the services offered but by educating. Tresa is pro-active in the Awareness and Prevention part of the name.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help extend it to other areas in New Mexico

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In July 2012 I was diagnosed with Ovarian 3c cancer. I was stunned but headed off for treatment in Texas. I live in NM so when I came home I was a long distance from my doctors. My husband started checking for support groups in my local area and found CAPPED. He was told I could get wigs, ionic foot baths, massages, and emotional support if I would just visit. During my first visit Tresa VanWinkle shared stories, helped me find two wigs, supplied me with hats, but mostly made me realize there was help and people who cared about my outcome. These caring people wanted to inform me of ways I could make life more comfortable and healthy. It has been at least a year since I first visited CAPPED. The people there are very caring and supportive and go out of their way to assist me. I am currently getting ionic foot baths at least once a week. My feet got so bad that I could hardly walk and the foot baths have made a huge difference. CAPPED offers as much or as little assistance as you need. Every service I have used there has been “no charge.” They are making a huge difference to cancer patients in Otero county. I would encourage anyone with cancer or other types of illness to go there and benefit from their many services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything at this point.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

October 14, 2013

I have volunteered at CAPPED for five years. I have developed a fond appreciation for the services Tresa VanWinkle provides and the lives she has touched. I have referred many friends to her and sincerely believe she has saved many lives, helped families cope (as they are
often right next to their loved ones on this journey), help individuals get benefits such as insurance and discounted services. She works with individuals who provide a variety of services from ionic foot baths, hypnotherapy, and much more. I have lost friends and loved ones to cancer and can defiantly attest to the support and love that I have felt here at CAPPED dealing with lose, anger, and finally resolution as I honor the memories of my loved ones.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more funding for CAPPED so that more help can be given to those in need...there are many many people diagnosed with cancer each day

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I have known Tresa Van Winkle RN for 15 years. Her passion and drive in starting and operating CAPPED is an inspiration to every one she meets. I have been fortunate to know about CAPPED and been able to refer individuals to the "Miracle on New York Ave" when they had questions, concerns, fears about cancer. Tresa is professional, caring and knowledgeable and is well known and respected in the community. CAPPED is a valuable asset and tremendous force for good in the Alamogordo and surrounding communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I have volunteered at CAPPED for five years. I have developed a fond appreciation for the services Tresa VanWinkle provides and the lives she has touched. I have referred many friends to her and sincerely believe she has saved many lives, helped families cope (as they are often right next to their loved ones on this journey), help individuals get benefits such as insurance and discounted services. She works with individuals who provide a variety of services from ionic foot baths, hypnotherapy, and much more. I have lost friends and loved ones to cancer and can defiantly attest to the support and love that I have felt here at CAPPED dealing with lose, anger, and finally resolution as I honor the memories of my loved ones.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

As a former member of the integrative health care community I attended CAPPED monthly meetings and found CAPPED to be a very positive influence on practitioners by providing a space to practice, and encouraging community among practitioners, patients and the public. Tresa Van Winkle helps many people in the county and CAPPED is a valuable resource. I am grateful for the opportunity to play a small part in this pioneering non-profit, for it serves so many, in so many ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It has been such an honor to be associated with CAPPED. My respect for Tresa and her vision grows with each year I work with her. CAPPED will continue to gain my respect and financial support for years to come. It is community based and every dollar stays in Alamogordo and does not go to executives' big salaries and large city agendas. CAPPED is well-known in Alamogordo and has lots of community support. Most children remember the Sun Safe Program from school and local parades, health fairs and community-sponsored events. Many have benefited from free mammograms and treatment if needed. From nutrition and cooking classes to the development of a Center for Integrative Health CAPPED has lead the way in Alamogordo for cancer prevention and early detection.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering for CAPPED, Inc., September, 2012. I traveled 180 miles one way, at my own expense, to be here three days every month to do whatever Tresa needed because I believe so passionately in this cause. I found, at CAPPED, that every staff member and volunteer is there to help and support anyone that walks through the doors. You walk through the doors of CAPPED and something magical happens. I can't explain it, but I know in my heart, this is where I want to be, this is where I need to be. Going through cancer with my husband and several other family members and friends, I wanted to help people learn how to cope and get through the tragic effects of this terrible disease. CAPPED and Tresa has helped me to d o this. I began working at CAPPED as a full time employee in June, 2013. In addition to my paid hours, I continue to work as volunteer staff several hours a week because being a part of this organization allows me to have the satisfying feeling that maybe I make a difference in other people's lives. The wonderful feeling I receive when someone says, "Thank you, you have helped me," is one of the most rewarding feelings I could ever want.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers