Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.777785
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

It is always a great moment when we hear the clap of children in approval of the great service done for the prevention of cancer and a strong anti tobacco campaign particularly passive smoking. i salute this organisation for having given me an opportunity to serve the human community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Cancer Aid Society has done many events in our school relating to awareness of healthy diets, tobacco,and many others.
My school is in full support with this organisation by expanding the ideas of this society.
Many peoples are inspired by this cause and banned cigarattes, tobacco, and
alcohol in their lifes.
I just want to say that 'Cancer Aid Society' can be the best non-profit organisation in the world.
This society needs your support, please help them to spread the cause around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 23, 2012

CANCER AID SOCIETY IMPORTANT MILESTONES Our vision and action since 1987 has now been visualized by global leaders like International Union Against Cancer, World Health Organisation and United Nations... more

October 30, 2013

It was a proud moment for us to get Special Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations Organisation in 2012.
Cancer Aid Society waged a war against Cancer and Non Communicable Diseases in 1987 and now after two and a half decades they are being perceived as
global threats. This speaks volumes about the eagle's eye Vision of the organisation.
It has made substantial dent in India against Tobacco, Cancer, NCDs and Palliative Care.
Thank you all for the everlasting support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take it up Globally

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

CANCER AID SOCIETY
IMPORTANT MILESTONES
Our vision and action since 1987 has now been visualized by global leaders like International Union Against Cancer, World Health Organisation and United Nations Organisation.

Appreciation letters from International Organizations
Cancer
Aid Society received an appreciation letter from World Health Organisation in 2000
Appreciation for presentation at World Conference on Tobacco or Health, U.S.A. in 2006
Cancer Aid Society received appreciation from American Cancer Society USA in 2007
Awarded best NGO in Health Care at SAMAAGAM – IIM Lucknow in 2011

Participation in National / International Events
Represented the Country in the High Level meeting for the control of Non communicable Diseases at United Nations General Assembly Headquarters New York in September 2011. (www.un.org/en/ga/president/65/letters/NCD%20-%20Civil%20Society%20List%20 %2027%20June%202011.pdf)

World Cancer Congress at Geneva in 2008.
World Cancer Congress at Washington D.C. U.S.A. in 2006.
World Conference on Tobacco or Health, U.S.A. in 2006.
Several events of national repute viz. Health Mela 2001 inaugurated by The Then Honorable Prime Minister Sri. Atal Bihari Vajpayee & Organised by the Health Ministry - Govt. of India.

Membership of Govt., National or International Committees
We are having Special Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of
United Nations Organisation since 2012.

 District Cancer Control Committee, Govt. of Delhi
“Delhi Smoke free Civil Society coalition”, Govt. of Delhi
 Indian Association of Palliative Care - India
Action Council against Tobacco, Tata Memorial, Mumbai
Global Cancer Control Community, UICC, Geneva, Switzerland
GLOBALink, UICC, Geneva, Switzerland
Framework Convention Alliance, Geneva, Switzerland
NCD Alliance CIG Group, Geneva, Switzerland
Cancer Service Group (ICISG), Toronto, Canada
 International Association of Hospice and Palliative Care, Houston, USA
Registered in the database of Government of India, Planning Commission’s NGO Partnership System UID No. UP/2009/0009446
Registered in the database of DESA's Civil Society database & CSO Net - the Civil Society Network of the UNITED NATIONS Headquarters, New York, USA.
Empanelled with National CSR Hub code A/1/12/08/029 at Tata Institute of Social Sciences.


Credibility enquiry by Govt. or other agencies.
Governmental enquiries conducted by District Magistrate / CMO / CDO etc. have issued a note of satisfaction in 2003
Income Tax Scrutiny Reports for the assessment years 2003-04, 2006-07 and 2007-08 have certified the credibility of the Organization and its charitable functioning after scrutiny.



Significant dent in the existing problems related with Cancer:
Tobacco Control: We had Organized several rallies and campaigns demanding ban of Smoking and Sale of Tobacco products near educational Institutions before 2004 which were one of the contributory factors towards the promulgation of COTPA 2004 by Govt. of India.
Control of Cancer and NCDs:
• Improved Life Style and Dietary Habits of young India reflected in an independent survey report of National Sample Survey Organization published in the Times of India dated May 1st 2007 Titled @ Highway to health: India eating better.
• We got stamp released on Cancer Awareness by Dept. of Post Govt. of India on 7th of November 2001, since then it is celebrated as National Cancer Awareness Day.
• International Union against Cancer - UICC (www.uicc.org) the International Apex Body on Cancer Control has advocated in 2007 the above activities under World Cancer Campaign (www.worldcancercampaign.org); which we had pioneered in 1987 having a vision 20 years prior to that of World leaders.

Palliative Care: Cancer Aid Society organized 15 workshops on Palliative Care starting from the first ever workshop of Uttar Pradesh on Palliative Care and Oral Morphine at Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences in 2007.
• Due to success of the above American Cancer Society – USA awarded a project in 2007 for Organising a series of Workshops in the Govt. Medical Colleges for Addressing Palliative Care and availability of Oral Morphine for the Cancer Pain Management in the State of U.P. which has 3% of Global population along with M.P., Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh.
• The above workshops were a great success in changing mindsets of the Govt. Officials and the Medical Fraternity hence during the 16th International Conference of Indian Association of Palliative Care at All India Institute of Medical Sciences - Delhi in 2009, we were awarded the 18th International Conference of Indian Association of Palliative Care to be organized in 2011 at Lucknow and we started with its preparations in a grand way selecting the theme as “Networking in Palliative Care”.
• Annual Award for the Excellence in Palliative Care in the SAARC Countries for Rs. One Lac has been announced by us, the Award of 2012 went to Dr. Bishnudutta Paudel of Nepal.
• Honorable Supreme Court on August 24th 2012 has directed the Chief Secretaries of State Governments to make Morphine preparations available for treating the pain of terminally ill Cancer Patients.
 18th International Conference of Indian Association of Palliative Care 2011, organised by Cancer Aid Society: Our two years of hard work of sensitization, advocacy and correspondence at National and International Level on Palliative Care with Governmental and other agencies yielded dramatic results which poises to effect the entire Country. The Conference was organized at Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences Lucknow was a great success having 10% Foreign Delegates and the encouraging outcomes were as follows:
• We came out with a Draft of Palliative Care Declaration 2011 – the first ever of National and International Level.
• Introduction of palliative care in Medical Curriculum was a long pending demand of Palliative Care Community across India, on the eve of the Conference Medical Council of India introduced MD course in Palliative Care. Further the Chairman MCI in his message for the Conference suggested us “to come out with practicable strategies, which could be affected by the Council in coming times, so that optimal results are generated and used to train Graduates and Post Graduates in Palliative Care in a much better way”.
• The Topic of Debate held on 12th February 2011 during the Conference was Pro – “Euthanasia is humane care in face of suffering” Con – “Euthanasia is ethically unacceptable in a Civilized Society”. In March Honorable Supreme Court of India through its Judgment, Legalizes Passive Euthanasia – Times of India dated 8th March, 2011.


Membership:
• Special Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of United Nations Organisation.
• District Cancer Control Committee, Govt. of Delhi
• Delhi Smoke free Civil Society coalition”, Govt. of Delhi
• Indian Association of Palliative Care - India
• Action Council against Tobacco, Tata Memorial, Mumbai
• Global Cancer Control Community, UICC, Geneva, Switzerland
• GLOBALink, UICC, Geneva, Switzerland
• Framework Convention Alliance, Geneva, Switzerland
• NCD Alliance CIG Group, Geneva, Switzerland
• Cancer Service Group (ICISG), Toronto, Canada
• International Association of Hospice and Palliative Care, USA
• Planning Commission’s NGO Partnership System GOI-India
• Civil Society Network of the UNITED NATIONS USA.
• National CSR Hub TISS India

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2009
2 people found this review helpful

It is one of the Charitable Organisations of India engaged in fight against Cancer and Tobacco since last two decades across the length and breadth of the Country. It has the credit of getting ISO 9001:2000 Accreditation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Cancer Awareness and Palliative Care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Teach volunteerism

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

It meticulous systems.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Salaried Social Worker

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

It could increase its working area and activities with a greater thrust

Ways to make it better...

We get more volunteers in fight against Cancer.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Lack of volunteers

One thing I'd also say is that...

All of us should join the fight against Cancer

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The society is doing smashingly great work. They have organised Cancer Awareness Programs several Times in or School in which the have given good tips about health,hygiene,how to prevent cancer.
We all want this kind of society in our or others country,to make our world a better place to live
and prevent cancer from the whole world................... Thanks a lot Cancer Aid Society..........

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2012

It is excellent experience with Cancer Aid Society for last 15 months. I am a social worker over there. I learnt a lot from the society, from our dynamic PEO, our Directors & all staff members. I am t... more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am employee of Cancer Aid Society since 2011. I got a great opportuinity to serve community with lot of skills of learning.
Cancer Aid Society has been reached at international level.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Already having well organized & ISO Certified Cancer Awareness Program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

It is excellent experience with Cancer Aid Society for last 15 months. I am a social worker over there. I learnt a lot from the society, from our dynamic PEO, our Directors & all staff members. I am thankful to the society to be here & noe having a good experience and also learnt the problem& pain, which the Cancer patients are facing. I wish that society may reached at the Highest level soon.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Cancer Aid Society is Non Profit, Ntional Level, Social Secular NGOworking since 1987 on Palliative Care, Tobacco Control, Prevention and Control of Non Communicable Diseases specifically Cancer including Advocacy in tune with the guidelines of National Cancer Control Program of the World Health Organization.
It is the work that this organization has done in past 25 years which has yielded results of getting Special Consultative Status with the United Nation's Economic and Social Council and our participation in the High Level Meeting for the Control of the Non Communicable Diseases at the UN Headquarters in New York on 19th September 2011.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2012

more

December 19, 2012

This organization is working for the awareness of Cancer all around the country so as to eradicate this deadly disease from the country as well as the world at large, and is also looking forward not only to help the non curable but also help the ones who still do not know the consequences of their present action which may lead to Cancer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2012

more

December 19, 2012

Goal of Cancer Aid Society being Cancer Control since inception in 1987 we could visualize what others could not and now Cancer has emerged as the Second Leading cause of death globally. Our 25 years old fight against Cancer has yielded results as we have got Special Consultative Status with the United Nation's Economic and Social Council and our participation in the High Level Meeting for the Control of the Non Communicable Diseases at the UN Headquarters in New York on 19th September 2011.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Cancer Aid Society is working for awareness,prevention and control of cancer and related diseases since 1987, besides educating students about the preventive as well as about the severe tobacco abuses. Cancer Aid Society is working tangibly across the nation and mounting the alertness against social paradox in the mindset of people for tobacco and its consumption across the 'GLOBE'. Decades of hard work and united efforts from the enthusiastic workforce Cancer Aid Society has lucratively touched the United Nations for common initiatives and goals for the people through the people. Cancer Aid Society progressed gradually but robustly build its efforts recognized in leading Hospitals and Medical Centers across the nation. The promising efforts of the organization will try eliminate the cancer adversities from the 'Earth'.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

Cancer Aid Society is that organization which is completely standing on trust and belief of the thousands of students and respected teachers across this nation. Cancer Aid Society not only bring forward the awareness, education and inevitable help to thousands but also provide medical interfacing between patients and doctors for enhanced treatment opportunities at various hospitals. Cancer Aid Society is giving me and thousands like the opportunity to step forward and march along with them on this social and healthy path to give life and happiness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers