Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 17, 2012

more

September 17, 2012

I have been volunteering with Canal for the past 8 months or so in their ESL program. The staff is extremely helpful and provides teachers and classroom aides with a wealth of information and support to help them organize and teach classes. Furthermore, the community that they serve is full of hard-working, enthusiastic immigrants striving to improve their situation here in the US. Both the staff at Canal Alliance and the community in the Canal make this organization a joy to volunteer for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer at Canal Alliance for two years, both in the ESL and the Youth Scholarship Programs. I've enjoyed every minute of it, and find the eager responses of the programs' participants to be extremely rewarding. These people, both adult and youth, want to learn and are so appreciative of our time It's fun to watch them progress. Every city with a large immigrant population should have a Canal Alliance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012

more

August 28, 2012

I have been volunteering with the Youth Education Program at Canal Alliance for the past four years. This is the most wonderful program to help 6th., 7th. and 8th. graders improve their learning skills in all areas, and also help them develop the study strategies and skills they will need for high school. All the staff who work in the program are so dedicated to their students and they provide a caring and supportive environment where students can thrive and gain confidence and pride in their achievements.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

I've always liked investing my time in any organization being proactive in its community. I found Canal Alliance and began volunteering since October 2011. I volunteer only a couple hours a week and even then everyone makes me feel that whatever I do however small it is it makes a difference. It really is a great project to be a part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 27, 2012

more

August 27, 2012

I worked with the Canal Alliance for a period of time as a volunteer helping immigrants learn the skills needed to find work, as well as providing the everyday kind of help in filling out important forms for schools, jobs, passports, etc. There is a enormous need in the community for these services, and the wonderful staff, from the receptionist to the skilled professionals, at the Canal Alliance and the Opportunity Center, totally impressed me with their heartfelt, generous and dedicated commitment to serving the Spanish speaking community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in the food distribution program, Support ESL, Computer, and Business Instructors, Youth Mentoring Volunteer