Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2013

Can You Identify Me provides an invaluable service; assisting in locating family and loved ones of what might otherwise forever remain an unclaimed human; putting a name, a story, giving humanity and ... more

August 28, 2014

Can You Identify me provides such a unique and valuable service. It is amazing to think of the number of people who are killed or die, with little or no way to identify the remains. To think of a family, somewhere, having lost touch with a loved one and that loved one has been killed or died, with no way of being identified; with no way of giving the family closure for their loss, is a harsh and cruel thought. The services Rebel Morris, who heads Can you Identify Me, provides in aiding to identify these otherwise lost, nameless, remains, not only gives them a name, but humanizes them, and brings much needed closure to families and loved ones. The work CYIM performs is not only overwhelming in the tasks it performs, but in the emotional toll it takes on CYIM staff and volunteers. Can You Identify Me truly warrants the title "Great Nonprofit."
October 18, 2013

Can You Identify Me provides an invaluable service; assisting in locating family and loved ones of what might otherwise forever remain an unclaimed human; putting a name, a story, giving humanity and dignity to the unidentifed, not only honors those deceased, but helps to put to rest the unending questions families, friends and loved ones of missing persons live with every day. I am so honored to be able to do the very little that I do to assist Rebel Morris in this very important work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 15, 2013

I have been a faithful follower on Facebook for a few years now. I try to share every post I come across. I can honestly say that you will not find an organization that does more for 'America's Unid... more

August 25, 2014

Rebel and her staff are the reason CYIM is so successful. So professional, down-to-earth, friendly, caring, committed, and I could just go on and on. I swear Rebel has some kind of radar or sixth sense. I'll be having a bad day and there it is. A wonderfully, kind and encouraging note from Rebel. Just out of the blue. I don't know how she does it.

I go to CYIM's Facebook page everyday. They do such a phenomenal job presenting the unidentified to the public. I'm sure this work weighs heavy on the heart but they do it. Somebody has to do it, right? NOBODY could do a better job than CYIM!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 15, 2013

I have been a faithful follower on Facebook for a few years now. I try to share every post I come across. I can honestly say that you will not find an organization that does more for 'America's Unidentified.' The narratives draw the reader in by giving you a glimpse of what their lives might have been like. Thank you Team CYIM for providing this much needed service! Because of you, not only do identified loved ones get their names back but they get to go home.

Grace Flynn

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

When someone is missing from your life, grief is suspended. What Rebel does, with an enormous amount of love and compassion, is give a name to the lives that have been devalued and discarded. For the loved ones, she helps them find a measure of closure. Genuine healing requires the truth. The efforts of CYIM and Rebel Morris are immeasurable. I have had the fortunate experience to speak with Rebel and know her experience and commitment are a resource that has touched my life in a positive way. Every soul she helps is given the gift that they are not forgotten; they matter, their experience matters, and their loss matters. She gives them a name, gives them dignity, and brings them home. Rebel and CYIM are examples that everyone needs to follow.

Eve Carson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change would be to spread the awareness of an enormous need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

We all need closure when life throws challenges our way. We definitely need it when we lose a loved one for whatever reason. I think this site gives those who can no longer speak for themselves, a voice to let their families know what had happened to them. Even if they never reconnect with their families, those of us who see their likeness displayed, is able to send them a quiet prayer and let them know someone cared for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing! Keep up the great work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Can you Identify me is a productive organization that not only educates the public, but helps find answers for families . The information they post on the website helps people realize just how many unidentified people are out there, needing answers. You really cant help reading about the unidentified because the articles and posts are written so well, and with respect and professionalism .

The time and work put into the cause is a 24/7 job which has only moved forward .
No one suspects they will be in this unfortunate and heartbreaking situation , or even think someone they know will be unidentified. This can happen to anyone. This problem does not discriminate. Having this organization makes searching on the internet for resources much easier. As well as any questions you may have, the organization is quick to respond and very well educated on the topic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Imagine someone you love and care about suddenly disappears one day without a trace. What if despite law enforcement's tenacity and commitment to finding this loved one, the case goes cold? Years go by. The case gets lost in the maze of other cases and crimes the police have to deal with and is largely forgotten by the public. Then, maybe off in some strange far-off place, a set of remains is discovered with no means of identifying it. No body has any idea as to who this person was. Could it be this missing loved one? This is where dedicated, compassionate individuals like Rebel Morris come in to play. Ms. Morris and her organization Can You Identify Me are in so many cases the last chance for unidentified remains to be given their names back and returned to their families, and possibly bringing responsible parties to justice. Can You Identify Me is a rare and precious resource for law enforcement personnel and grieving families needing answers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe a bit more publicity/exposure. Word about this organization needs to be out there more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Through the years Can You Identify Me has been a trusted site where people can obtain accurate information about unidentified remains found in jurisdictions in the United States, as well as other parts of the world. Various law enforcement agencies do publicly appeal for information regarding bodies that are located within their area, but Can You Identify Me is the only location on the web that has such a comprehensive list of unidentified bodies with descriptive detail that would assist anyone with a knowledge of these individuals to instantly recognize and be able to formally identify them. Rebel Morris has a passion to help families who have lost loved ones and also to identify found bodies which in the majority of cases are likely murder victims. Once police are able to identify these John and Jane Does, investigators have a greater opportunity to track down leads and bring to justice those who may be responsible for the killings. I first made contact with Rebel while researching missing people cases for a book and she convinced me to include some of the people she had in her files. As a result of her enthusiasm and persistence, I gladly included a chapter on unidentified bodies. I only wish I could have done more to help, but space didn’t allow for the number she really wanted to include. However, I am working on a second book on missing people and will definitely feature other additional remains that she wants to profile. Personally I would like to thank Rebel for the assistance she provided to me and also to commend her for the work she does on behalf of families who are looking for answers as a result of a loved one going missing.

Cal Millar,
Author,
Burlington, Ontario, Canada

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Through the years, I have read many sites devoted to the missing and unidentified. Can You Identify me far surpasses almost every one I've read. Most sites give you a clinical, sometimes cold feeling, "by the numbers" approach to presenting John and Jane Does, this is where Can You Identify me differs, the site really offers a human element to their writing which is absent elsewhere. When one reads a narrative on this site, the presentation is such that it is as though the unidentified are speaking in their own voice. Those voices have been silenced for so long that Rebel can only guess as to what they would say or how they would say it, but she does so very well. This site serves a much needed purpose while offering often heart breaking accounts of the facts in the listed cases. I have read the site continually and will continue to do so. I'm proud of the work that Rebel and her staff do and thankful that these people give a voice to those who no longer have one of their own.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

This organization gives a voice to those who lost their own voices long ago. The victims go from unidentifiable to having a face to go with their story...a tremendously positive step in reuniting families with their lost loved ones. So many of these families have lost hope. I can't say enough about how much I admire their work and dedication.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

In 2011 I approached Can You Identify Me about helping me get the word out about a Jane Doe found in Smith County Texas Oct 1, 1985. There were many clues about her that most people would not know by looking at a Unidentified Person Flyer. I found copies of articles written about Jane Doe or MS BONES as she was referred to by Law Enforcement that gave more info than would be found on a flyer. By doing the narrative for my Tyler Jane Doe - it made her more real. It gave people clues that I hope one day will give her identity back to her and return her to her family. It explained to people why they should not look at the recon but look at the clues and circumstances of how she came to be known as MS BONES. Her remains in a box in the evidence room of a Sheriffs Department in East Texas. MS BONES has finally been turned over to a forensic artist who will give her a new face and hopefully bring her the justice she deserves. Having the narrative that Can You Identify Me did for my Tyler Jane Doe has given me hope that people who read it will see what I see, a person who had a life, a family and needs to be seen as a human being - not a hopeless box of bones.
Betty Edwards

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know of any changes. I wish they could do more cases but realize that there are so many thousands of unidentified cases, I believe they are doing what they can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Actively help 50 victims. Volunteer