Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.709685
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

Our family became puppy program volunteers in April (2014) when we welcomed a black lab puppy into our home. Since we were going to put so much time, effort and financial resources into Can Do Canines, I did some research before volunteering. I read their annual reports and financial statements, talked to a former board member, and found them to be a very sound, financially responsibly organization. Since becoming involved I've been very impressed with the support they offer to their volunteers. Even more impressive are the amazing life-changing things their trained service dogs do for (and with) their human partners. I'm proud to be associated with this organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to advertise more, so more folks would know about the wonderful service dogs they train. At the same time this would offer more folks the opportunity to volunteer for a great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

I love that this organization impacts both people in a positive way. The staff really cares about their volunteers and I feel like I make an impact. more

June 19, 2014

I have been a volunteer, donor, puppy raiser, and foster for a number of years. I started volunteering with the organization after hearing about their work with the prisons and continue to volunteer to support their mission. Can Do Canines does a great job of training and supporting their puppy raisers and fosters through a variety of ways - electronic, phone and in-person support. I truly feel like they have the dog's best interest in mind throughout the entire training, placement, and beyond. Their trainers are very experienced and work well with both the dogs and puppy raisers. I have always felt appreciated and believe that my time and money is well spent.
There aren't many organizations where you can say your efforts drastically changed lives for the better - both a human's and a dog's.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

I love that this organization impacts both people in a positive way. The staff really cares about their volunteers and I feel like I make an impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

My husband and I have been volunteer puppy raisers and fosters for over 2 years and have had a variety of dogs placed in our care. I continue to be amazed by the professionalism of the trainers, the staff and the organization as a whole. One of our service dogs in training had to be career changed at 9 months old due to becoming anxious in public and their only concern was the best interests of the dog and whether this dog could be happy as a service dog. When the answer was determined to be no and that he would thrive in a one owner family, they immediately found a loving home for him as a pet. I see him often and he is doing wonderfully. I appreciate the fact that Can Do Canines looks at the needs of the clients AND the needs of the dogs in order to make great connections, safe interactions, and happy volunteers. They are always looking for ways to increase their outreach, help their volunteers, and serve the community. I consider my time to be very valuable, and I would not still be a volunteer with Can Do Canines if I didn't feel that they were an incredible organization with an incredible goal of making a difference in the lives of others. I've seen the success stories, and what these dogs do for their clients is awe inspiring. I don't hesitate to recommend them as a place to donate, a place to volunteer or a place to visit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe that if I had changes that I wanted to make to this organization that it would be welcome feedback from the staff. I have suggested changes in the past and they have always had an open mind and a willingness to look at the possibilities. They are aware that there's always room for improvement in any organization and they aren't afraid to look for positive solutions!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I learned about Can-Do-Canines in Sept. 2012 through a spot at the end of a news program. Approximately a year and a half ago we needed to have our wonderful, loving dog euthanized due to an untreatable medical problem. I vowed at that time to never have another dog as a pet; I felt that I couldn't go through that trauma again. Learning about Dan-Do-Canines and the work these amazing dogs do for their recipients completely grabbed my heart and we both became volunteers. The staff is as supporting to humans as it is to the animals.

Since Sept. 2012, we have fostered several beautiful and truly amazing dogs. Knowing that these wonderful animals will make such a difference to people who need their help allows us to return them to C.D.C. for their final training. We are very grateful that we are able to play a part in helping others. I have had the joy of witnessing the love of a recipient greeting her dog as they met for a training session. If you have any doubt that dog and person share a very loving relationship, just visit a Graduation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I could not believe the one star review written here. Granted it is one person's opinion but it does say things are very misleading and downright untrue. I have volunteered with Can Do Canine's and have found completely the opposite of that review to be the case. The dogs are well cared for and cared about from what I see. I've met with puppy raisers at parties and can tell how very much the dogs are loved and socialized when in their care. I believe the same to be true when they leave the puppy raisers and go into training. The relationship the dogs will share with their human partners is dependent on those very things...love and socialization. There would be no purpose served in any training methods other than positive reward. The staff and volunteers I have worked with are dedicated to both the animals and the clients they serve. These dogs have enhanced so many people's lives ~ it isn't even possible to explain the value here in words. Go see the facility, meet the staff, meet the dogs, go to a graduation ceremony and see for yourself the life changing outcome this program has for some very special people or better yet...volunteer and get right into the nitty gritty so you can make your own assessment!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Hey, can do canines is a group that cares about the clients they serve and the dogs they train. I've volunteered by raising and fostering puppies and events etc. Sure they could improve. All companies can. But they put their clients and dogs first and the heart of the organization is in the right place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Drive fund raising to better help their puppy raisers support their puppies.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been helping Can Do Canines for about ten years through the Lions. I am our Lions district Can Do Canines co-chair. I am now ten months into raising and training my first puppy for them. Every day I get more excited about Can Do canines and their mission. They have an awesome, experienced and very helpful staff and many great volunteers. I wish everyone could listen to their clients and hear how very, very much their lives have changed because of Can Do Canines and their dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything, but if I was wealthy, I would help them expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My family has been volunteering as Puppy Raisers for almost a year now with Can Do Canines. We are raising a black lab puppy that someday is going to go to her "forever human" as a gift of independence, freedom, love and companionship. The staff at CDC is fantastic, always willing to help with the final goal of helping the client and dog meet their full potential. Everyone is encouraging and in it for the right reasons!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

we are breeders who donate puppies and stud service to the wonderful program at can-do-canines ... we can't say enough about the professionalism of their training program and care given by the puppy raisers ... we trust them with our doggies ... what great work they do, changing lives 1 dog at a time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Hi!

I got involved as a volunteer with Can-Do-Canines two years ago. Prior to that, our family had gone through some rough patches, but I knew I wanted us to volunteer and give back since focusing on others when life is hard, is very life giving. A friend of mine had heard about CDC and
since our own dog had died the year before, we wanted to check out what volunteering for CDC would look like. We decided that we would become puppy raisers, meaning, we would have a puppy be a part of our family for about 1 1/2 years and we would be trained to train the puppy!
We are currently puppy raising our second puppy and we just had the privilege of seeing our first puppy be certified/graduate as an diabetes assist dog and that was incredible. We got to meet the client that now has this dog and she could share stories about how her life has changed after she got her diabetes assist dog. She knows her dog will alert her 24/7 and that is an incredible gift. Also, she loves the temperament of her dog; he likes to stay active and so does the client, so now she has a companion for when she runs, bikes and swims. I am so proud of them, and I am so proud of being involved with such an amazing organization. It is life giving to be a volunteer for them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to be involved with puppy raising and donating time and money to CDC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers