Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.709685
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My sister received her hearing assistance dog Autumn last year and it has changed her life. Autumn lets her know when someone is at the door, when the timer on the oven goes off, and can alert her during the night when her hearing aides are out that the smoke alarm is going off. Autumn has greatly reduced the worries our parents and I had about her living on her own. We were always afraid that there would be a fire and she would just sleep through it. Can Do Canines is amazing and really helps so many people have wonderful independent lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure more people know about the wonderful things they do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

Our family became puppy program volunteers in April (2014) when we welcomed a black lab puppy into our home. Since we were going to put so much time, effort and financial resources into Can Do Canines, I did some research before volunteering. I read their annual reports and financial statements, talked to a former board member, and found them to be a very sound, financially responsibly organization. Since becoming involved I've been very impressed with the support they offer to their volunteers. Even more impressive are the amazing life-changing things their trained service dogs do for (and with) their human partners. I'm proud to be associated with this organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to advertise more, so more folks would know about the wonderful service dogs they train. At the same time this would offer more folks the opportunity to volunteer for a great organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

I love that this organization impacts both people in a positive way. The staff really cares about their volunteers and I feel like I make an impact. more

June 19, 2014

I have been a volunteer, donor, puppy raiser, and foster for a number of years. I started volunteering with the organization after hearing about their work with the prisons and continue to volunteer to support their mission. Can Do Canines does a great job of training and supporting their puppy raisers and fosters through a variety of ways - electronic, phone and in-person support. I truly feel like they have the dog's best interest in mind throughout the entire training, placement, and beyond. Their trainers are very experienced and work well with both the dogs and puppy raisers. I have always felt appreciated and believe that my time and money is well spent.
There aren't many organizations where you can say your efforts drastically changed lives for the better - both a human's and a dog's.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

I love that this organization impacts both people in a positive way. The staff really cares about their volunteers and I feel like I make an impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

My husband and I have been volunteer puppy raisers and fosters for over 2 years and have had a variety of dogs placed in our care. I continue to be amazed by the professionalism of the trainers, the staff and the organization as a whole. One of our service dogs in training had to be career changed at 9 months old due to becoming anxious in public and their only concern was the best interests of the dog and whether this dog could be happy as a service dog. When the answer was determined to be no and that he would thrive in a one owner family, they immediately found a loving home for him as a pet. I see him often and he is doing wonderfully. I appreciate the fact that Can Do Canines looks at the needs of the clients AND the needs of the dogs in order to make great connections, safe interactions, and happy volunteers. They are always looking for ways to increase their outreach, help their volunteers, and serve the community. I consider my time to be very valuable, and I would not still be a volunteer with Can Do Canines if I didn't feel that they were an incredible organization with an incredible goal of making a difference in the lives of others. I've seen the success stories, and what these dogs do for their clients is awe inspiring. I don't hesitate to recommend them as a place to donate, a place to volunteer or a place to visit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe that if I had changes that I wanted to make to this organization that it would be welcome feedback from the staff. I have suggested changes in the past and they have always had an open mind and a willingness to look at the possibilities. They are aware that there's always room for improvement in any organization and they aren't afraid to look for positive solutions!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

My Mom and I are in Rochester, MN at the mayo clinic for appointments and today (5/29/2014) her service dog, Bella, was attacked inside the hospital by one of "Can Do Canines" standard poodle service dogs. It's terrible they place such an aggressive dog with anyone, let alone someone in a wheelchair.. I honestly fear for this disabled persons safety (as well as others in public such as people and animals) A police report had to be made and the dog had to be banned from the hospital. Thankfully my Mom's service dog is ok from the attack but the handler was very shaken up from the behavior of their dog..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As a service dog trainer I would (and do) ensure each dog is suited and mentally stable for service work, free from aggression, and is 110% ready for service work BEFORE placement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I learned about Can-Do-Canines in Sept. 2012 through a spot at the end of a news program. Approximately a year and a half ago we needed to have our wonderful, loving dog euthanized due to an untreatable medical problem. I vowed at that time to never have another dog as a pet; I felt that I couldn't go through that trauma again. Learning about Dan-Do-Canines and the work these amazing dogs do for their recipients completely grabbed my heart and we both became volunteers. The staff is as supporting to humans as it is to the animals.

Since Sept. 2012, we have fostered several beautiful and truly amazing dogs. Knowing that these wonderful animals will make such a difference to people who need their help allows us to return them to C.D.C. for their final training. We are very grateful that we are able to play a part in helping others. I have had the joy of witnessing the love of a recipient greeting her dog as they met for a training session. If you have any doubt that dog and person share a very loving relationship, just visit a Graduation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I could not believe the one star review written here. Granted it is one person's opinion but it does say things are very misleading and downright untrue. I have volunteered with Can Do Canine's and have found completely the opposite of that review to be the case. The dogs are well cared for and cared about from what I see. I've met with puppy raisers at parties and can tell how very much the dogs are loved and socialized when in their care. I believe the same to be true when they leave the puppy raisers and go into training. The relationship the dogs will share with their human partners is dependent on those very things...love and socialization. There would be no purpose served in any training methods other than positive reward. The staff and volunteers I have worked with are dedicated to both the animals and the clients they serve. These dogs have enhanced so many people's lives ~ it isn't even possible to explain the value here in words. Go see the facility, meet the staff, meet the dogs, go to a graduation ceremony and see for yourself the life changing outcome this program has for some very special people or better yet...volunteer and get right into the nitty gritty so you can make your own assessment!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Hey, can do canines is a group that cares about the clients they serve and the dogs they train. I've volunteered by raising and fostering puppies and events etc. Sure they could improve. All companies can. But they put their clients and dogs first and the heart of the organization is in the right place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Drive fund raising to better help their puppy raisers support their puppies.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After a long research about autism assistance dogs I came in contact with Can do canines. Even though we have not received the dog for our son with autism yet, so far we have only great things to say about Can do canines. Our questions are answered right away and besides the long wait, almost 3 years on the waiting list, so far no complains, just hope that our son will match with a dog from this wonderful organization soon

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I went to one of the open house is back in July and was very impressed with the organization. I heard stories and met people who have benefited from the dogs they've received and it was truly moving. The organization is so dedicated to helping people but also to make sure that the dogs are well cared for. I also attended the woof a roo had a wonderful time. I plan on volunteering with this organization in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers