Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.863645
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 2, 2011

more

October 2, 2011

Campus Middle School for Girls was a wonderful experience for my family and I. In the school's unique and friendly environment, I was able to excel in academics and have fun at the same time. CMS also helped me mature and learn as an individual and as a girl. It helped me prepare and do well in high school both academically and socially. Being at CMS helped make me a more confident person and it exposed me to many new areas I had not yet explored.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 28, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
September 28, 2011

My daughter is a student at CMS and is thriving in the small, girls-only environment. The adults and the students are supportive and encouraging, creating an atmosphere for learning. This is a challenging, wonderful school. My daughter is enthusiastic about her homework in the evenings and looks forward to school in the mornings.
September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

What sets CMS apart from other educational settings is an in-depth understanding of how girls learn and succeed. Since 1994 (under the name of Home Hi), this school has given girls a demanding curriculum, especially in science and math; 30-40% of the students go on to major in college in math, science, engineering and medicine. It complements this with theater, music, fine arts and an excellent writing program. The robotics team has reached the State level , the volleyball program is enthusiastic, and it encourages students to not tolerate bullying! It is supportive, well-rounded and a resource that is often overlooked in the Champaign-Urbana community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

Campus Middle School for Girls is an exceptional example of what can be achieved when a group of committed parents and educators come together and build a school out of nothing but a great idea! Focusing on single sex education in the middle grades provides an environment for girls in their most fluidly dynamic years of development. The students of CMS are expected to work hard, encouraged to compete with the best, and allowed to explore where their heart guides them. A CMS graduate goes on to the next educational level with a track record of success and the foundation needed to be a leader in high school and beyond. This small gem of a school has sustained itself for 17 years by sheer energy and devotion and I hope it continues for years to come!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Year after year I watched students blossom and become confident young women. It was the most gratifying teaching experience one could have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love this school to have a state of the art science lab and a room devoted solely to art.

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

I briefly tutored an incredibly advanced 6th grader with 8th grade math. She was delightful as was everyone else I came into contact with at CMS. It is apparent that the teachers are thrilled to help students learn and is all around a great environment to teach, learn and volunteer in!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change the actual set up of the school. Although it is done with what it can it would be more beneficial in my opinion to have newer supplies and text books.

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

My daughter is in 6th grade and attends CMS. She absolutely loves this school. CMS does a great job in developing a well-rounded student. The academic program is rigorous and the afterschool activities are varied and interesting. My daughter loves the Robotics team. CMS also teaches life skills like knitting and cooking. CMS also does a great job of utilizing college students and activities from the nearby University of Illinois.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my daughter's attitude towards schoolwork is completely changed. She does not need to be prodded to finish her homework. CMS fosters an environment where a lot is expected of the girls and the girls respond by working hard. My daughter can't wait to get to school in the morning.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

September 26, 2011

more

September 26, 2011

Our daughter attend CMS for all three years (6th, 7th, 8th). Wow, what a great experience for her and for our family!

First. the CMS experience begins with the great teachers and curriculum. All the kids -- whether high academic achievers or regular middle of the pack students -- are
challenged to push themselves to higher plane of achievement. Some of the girls go on to University Laboratory High School. The others enter our local high schools and willingly choose the AP-prep course sequences.

Second, the girls at CMS are in a safe and wholesome environment. They receive the right amount of love, the right amount of firmness and leniency from the teachers and staff. They grow personally, while still being guided.

Third, the girls learn from one another -- in a truly diverse setting. This is no ordinary private school! You'll meet girls from Christian, Jewish, Muslim and "other" families. You'll see girls who are white, black, Asian and Hispanic. And because of the unique single-gender school setting, the girls easily mix across these social boundaries. The rest of our society could learn a lot from these kids!

Fourth, as a parent, my volunteer time was needed. And I consider that a bonus. I got to know the kids, the teachers, the staff, the other parents. To this day, two years later, I look forward to visiting with our many, many CMS friends. We are all different people, but we have one thing in common: the love of knowing that our girls grew academically, socially, athletically and internally through the shared experience of CMS.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing my daughter grow as a person and as a student.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring in millions of dollars into this school, so it would have the resources to expand. Its formula for success is too good to be limited to 30 girls at a time!

September 24, 2011

more

September 24, 2011

Our daughter attended CMS for two years, for 6th and 7th grade. She loved her time there and learned immensely. Some highlights of the CMS approach include:
- small classes (no more than 13 per class in her time there)
- an emphasis on writing and research skills (easily overlooked in
larger classes); the 6th and 7th grade English curriculum was consistently outstanding
- encouraging girls to have confidence in themselves as students and as leaders, particularly in areas like math and science where girls in co-ed classes often defer to boys
- close relationships with teachers and staff
- time for arts, textiles and music, in addition to the core academic subjects
- an effort to take advantage of the resources of the University of Illinois campus (to see plays, visit museums, art galleries, and simply enjoy other facilities, for skating, being outdoors, etc.)

In addition, the cost of this education was very reasonable, given the low student/teacher ratio. It was much more affordable than other independent schools, while being as diverse as public schools.

We highly recommend Campus Middle School for Girls to any family in east-central Illinois looking for a good middle-school education for their daughter(s).

Janet Morford

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my daughter's education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help it find a larger facility, to be able to serve more girls. I would also encourage the development of an endowment, to better compensate the teaching and administrative staff for their commitment to the school.

September 24, 2011

more

September 24, 2011

The small-scale nature of this tiny middle school for girls (grades 5-8) makes education very individualized, and the social scene very manageable. My daughter had a wonderful 8th grade in this very special school.Whenever I volunteered in the school (in classes, or for volleyball games), I was always impressed

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the great school skills and general confidence that my daughter, and others in the school, took away from their middle-school years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more financing so the school could build its own space (outside the church basement it currently rents), including a gym & theatre; take more field trips; and hire more specialized teachers.

September 24, 2011

more

September 24, 2011

As a former teacher and administrator at CMS I can confirm that this outstanding school is not only a jewel in the educational field but also a heaven for teachers. What can you ask more than great flexibility in your teaching, ongoing support from the principal and fellow teachers, interested and motivated students, and engaged parents. The pride the teachers are taking in providing the best possible curriculum and educational experiences for their students is the best guarantee in keeping up the high bar of expectations. Sadly I had to leave CMS as I moved out of town. Hard to find an equivalent work place somewhere else.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

following up with students who graduated from CMS and observing their excellent academic and also social achievements at the high school and college level

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

trying intensively to attract a major donor to be able to continue offering scholarships and welcoming any girl eager to get a good education regardless their financial situation.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers