Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
Write A Review
September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

All I have to say is : Search YouTube Thomas Svensson Camp Unalayee !!! Theres TONS of PROOF of a R E A L CAMP !!!
May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

Being a counselor at Camp Unalayee was my first job when I moved to northern California. A fellow graduate student at the University of Michigan had referred me to the director, and I was hooked. I was lucky enough to work there for a summer, which led to other environmental education jobs and teaching experiences. Since then, I have recommended Camp to several students over the years, and each has been positively influenced in some way. My son has gone to Family Days since he was one; this will be his 11th year. It is a truly special place for the whole family. I find such a place even more important, now that electronic screens are so ubiquitous: at Camp Unalayee, kids are unplugged, and they love it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 29, 2012

more

April 29, 2012

I have known this camp since 1970. It truly focuses on helping young people see that they can extend themselves beyond their perceived limitations. Whether it is physical, emotional, interpersonal, or spiritual Unalayee challenges youth and staff to go one step beyond. Started as an interracial project by the Quakers they have used the wilderness experience as a vehicle to build strong individuals who can contribute toward a balanced society. Bob Strickler, LCSW and former director.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My personal life and that of others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance wasy of fundraising for camperships.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What is unique about this organization?

The people and the vision.

March 11, 2011

more

March 11, 2011

For anyone who has ever spent time at Camp Unalayee, memories represent their personal happy place that they send their mind to in stressful times. Children are actually taught to value others, respect the natural world, and to generally be flat-out awesome people. They do not preach morals or ethical values beyond common sense coexistence and conservation. They take children from all socioeconomic backgrounds, throw them out into the wilderness for 2 weeks and return them as caring, self-aware, self-assured individuals (albeit slightly dirty from all the hiking) that begin eyeballing their calendars in anticipation of their earliest opportunity to go back. With a program that includes backpacking in pristine wilderness, rock climbing, swimming, canoeing, fishing, cooking, a plethora of arts and craft activities, and an impressive counselor-in-training program; Camp Unalayee represents a comprehensive outdoor summer camp experience. As a camper, counselor, and now-volunteer I have been able to watch this organization empower children to be the kind-hearted, introspective, outgoing, leaders of tomorrow that we all can attest we as a people need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Taking shy children with no experience in the out-of-doors and turning them into self-confident global explorers

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more activities to engage children outside of the summer season.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers