Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.977785
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Camp Unalayee is an amazing experience. You can hike, swim, fish and live outdoors for two weeks every summer. The friends you make there can be lifelong and camp is always the highlight of my summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

This place has changed my life for the better. Being exposed to so many foreign things has been a truly valuable life learning experience. All the kind and nurturing support that I received from the friendly staff was amazing. I have been a camper since I was ten years old, I am now fourteen and plan on continuing my pursuit of broad education in this incredibly place. the wilderness has always spoken to me and being submerged in it is obviously the best way to experience and appreciate it. I love camp Unalayee!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

advertise it to more parts of the world. I think that places like this should be available to growing minds and bodies across our wonderful world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 9, 2011

My children loved Unalayee. Their friends and my nephew also did. All my dealings with this Camp have been excellent. I recommend it highly. more

October 22, 2013

I am a parent who sent her kids to Camp Unalayee. My son then sent his kids. It is a wonderful camp and wilderness experience. I was lucky enough to be able to camp nearby when my kids were there, so I walked into camp to see them. They had the best time. All the counselors were excellent, professional, and extremely caring. The kids come home dirty, and very very happy. I am now a donor every year because this is such an important experience for all our city kids, particularly the disadvantaged ones.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2011

My children loved Unalayee. Their friends and my nephew also did. All my dealings with this Camp have been excellent. I recommend it highly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My children and their friends came home from camp dirty, buoyant, and very happy. I saw this for many summers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes needed

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I went to Camp Unalayee as a camper several years in a row, a few years back. I still remember all of the memories I made there with great fondness. Unalayee helped me not only explore myself but also discover a deep passion of mine that burns within me to this day. I love the wilderness and the wild life, and at Unalayee everyone is allowed to experience that in their own way. It's absolutely beautiful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Our 11 year old daughter was awarded a campership to attend Camp Unalayee for the first time this year. The organization was amazingly easy and pleasant to work with. This was a such a gift to our daughter because without the gracious campership we would never have been able to send her to a camp as amazing as this one is. Our daughters favorite activity is hiking and the only "sport" she wants to do. She now has dreams of attending Camp Unalayee every year for all sessions then become a counselor when she is old enough. This is how much she liked it. When I asked her which part she liked most, all she would say was "everything." This is a perfect camp for our independent little hiker and defender of the wilderness. The organization made us both feel safe and well taken care of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Camp Unalayee was a place where I was allowed, as a camper, to be whoever I chose to be. As a teenager, that was a truly important thing. When I came back to camp as a counselor, it gave me a profound experience that shapes my work as a major gift fundraising. Camp Unalayee taught me that you can't keep a great experience to yourself. It is the reason that I crafted a course to help others raise money for charitable ideas they think are worth their time. Occasionally, even in Europe, I have worn my Unalayee shirt out and had the surprise of meeting fellow alumni with the most wonderful stories that often leave me wishing I were back at Mosquito Lake. The most important thing a charity can do is inspire loyalty and Unalayee does it better than almost every organisation I have consulted or worked for.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

June 1, 2013

more

June 1, 2013

I was a camper at Camp Unalayee about 23 years ago, when I was 14 years old. I only went to Camp U once, but the wonderful memories from my wilderness experience with them come back to me often.

What comes back to me most persistently is the kinship I felt with nature beauty of the
wilderness, which kindled a life-long awareness of my interdependence with the more-than-human world. The trails of the trinity-alps, the views of Mt. Shasta, the cool and sweet waters of the mountain streams...these were some amazing days immersed in a rugged and incredible landscape. Simultaneously the staff helped to kindle friendships that were emotionally strong and compassionate. We were expected to encourage and support each other, and I remember the kindness of the campers who were with, although I had never met them before.

I would recommend Camp Unalayee to young people who are interested in the out-of-doors and backpacking, and to parents who are interested in having their children develop a loving relationship with the more-than-human world. This is an excellent program.

-Michael Caulkins, BA, MSc, PhD

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

THe knowledge and confidence I gained as a camper at Camp Unalayee was unique and something I couldn't get anywhere else. It really harnesses the power of the wilderness and communities to build you up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of anything I would change. I wish it was closer to where I live now.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

The first time I came to camp was after finishing 8th grade. I live in Israel and came to camp as a means to improve my English. As it turned out, this experience had pretty much changed my life. When I was there I felt at home. In the end of this session and before even talking to my parents i said to people: "see you next summer" because not coming back didn't seem possible. I did come back last year for to sessions and in one of them I participated the CIT training which was amazing. I will be back this summer as well for another two sessions.
The Unalayee community is unique and amazing. Everybody feel at home there, even people from the other side of the globe. It's a great fun spending the summer in such a loving and caring community. i felt stronger when i left Unalayee, it helped also a lot after leaving, back in Israel. After spending there only two summers i can already refer to it as a second home of mine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

This is such an amazing community! Last summer I participated in the CIT program, and I loved it so much I decided to come back as a counselor this year. When I first got to camp, it was apparent that most of the campers had been coming for many years, this being my first year, I had no clue what to expect. By the end of the first week I didn't feel out of place at all, and I had such a great time I ended coming back for the next session! Such a strong community of unique and creative people (the campers and counselors)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers