Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.982145
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

Best thing we've ever done for our kids. Our two boys have spent 2-6 weeks at Camp U each summer for the last 7 years. Unalayee is a welcoming, adventurous, creative community that is both peaceful and energetic. My kids have learned to appreciate nature, physical challenge, deep friendship and much more. The staff have high expectations for both learning responsibility and having fun. The location in the Trinity Alps is magnificent and offers a huge range of backpacking terrain.
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

My son attended Camp U two years in a row. The worst thing about sending him there is that no other experiences have ever met the interest and fun factor of the camp. He LOVED IT! He was given responsibilities for helping with the cooking and the clean up. He helped other campers set up their camp sites. The counselors treated my 14 year old with great respect and positive regard . My child learned that he is a competent person and camper. He also learned that he has a very valuable skill--telling captivating stories around a campfire. The other campers were friendly, accepting and kind. Camp U should be given all the credit for building a positive community where all the campers are valued contibutors to the camp experience. I can't say enough nice things about this camp. It really did change my child's life.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

Five years ago one of my children's best friends convinced my 3 boys to go to Camp U. Their lives have been forever changed and a summer has not gone by without them attending. They have enjoyed a combination of base camp and trail tribe. For them, the surrounding mountains are their most beloved landscape. As teenagers they describe that there is no other time in the year that they feel so at home with who they are and what is important in life. Strong friendships and beautiful views are the backdrop for them to discover who they are and how they relate to the world. Could there be a better gift we could give our kids? With three sons, Camp U is a financial burden for my family but their generous scholarship fund has helped us to make it happen every year. My family will forever be grateful for everything that Camp U does for our kids and all the children who have the chance to feel the magic of the basin. We are committed to contributing to Camp U long after our kids have grown.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

My daughter has this to say about Camp Unalayee, "The camp counselors were really kind and humorous, the adventures were nature-filled and challenging, the arts and crafts were creative and fun. My favorite part was living with nature for two weeks. I sure hope my parents will let me return to Camp Unalayee!"
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

What an amazing camp! My kids all went there and grew so much, both in self confidence and socially. They learned to love the wilderness, and they learned how to backpack and they were away from screens for two weeks at a time, which is really important. The camp is well run and the counselors are very well trained so that kids both have a good time and learn how to work collaboratively. I have nothing but good things to say about Camp Unalayee!
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

My ten year old daughter enjoyed 15 days at Camp Unalayee last summer - what a terrific experience! She did not go with a friend, but was welcomed by a warm group of kids and counselors. It was her first backpacking experience and despite some difficult hikes, she came home feeling strong and empowered. The experience has stayed with her and she often refers to the summer, continuing to reflect and revisit the camp weeks. I would recommend this to any parent of an adventurous kid!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

The most thoughtful and considerate group of people you and your child will ever meet. As a single mother of a son, I couldn't be more pleased with Camp Unalayee. Imagine a child spending summers in the natural world- priceless!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Our boys began attending Unalayee over 10 years ago. Our daughter just finished her third year in the basin. I can't begin to tell you all what this camp environment does for young people. For over 10 years I have dropped my kids off at Scott Summit, truly amazing kids. However the transformation that takes place in those 14 days, is truly breathtaking. Our conversations during the four hour car ride home, are some of the best times I've had with my kids. Please continue to do what you do. Because The self-esteem, self awareness, and a general sense of gratitude are all great qualities that you seamlessly insert into these campers. And on top of all that, you make it seem effortless and have endless fun while you're doing it.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

A group of families from our Navigators USA chapter attended a family camp at Camp Unalayee this summer. The wilderness setting is magnificent as are the camp's facilities and activities such as archery, boating, fishing, hiking, crafting and more. However what really made it an unforgettable experience for our group was the warmth and camaraderie of the counselors and staff, and the connection they made with our group. At the end of our visit, the kids were asking how soon we can come back!
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Camp Unalayee is an amazing experience. You can hike, swim, fish and live outdoors for two weeks every summer. The friends you make there can be lifelong and camp is always the highlight of my summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers