Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.977785
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Camp Unalayee is the most life changing community I have ever been apart of. It is more than a summer camp; it is a powerful, loving family that is deeply passionate about showing children and families how sacred and beautiful nature is, as well as the importance of trust, respect, and courage. There is no place in the world I'd rather be. Camp Unalayee is the only place I can be my true self 100% of the time. I am accepted for who I am, I am challenged to be the best person I can be, and I am honored for expressing myself fully. Camp Unalayee encourages us to dig deep down into the depths of our hearts and souls and to celebrate growth, friendship, challenge, courage, music, laughter, wilderness, community, and FUN. The friendships I've made at Camp Unalayee are the strongest I've ever had. My friends, family and myself have all noticed what a positive impact Camp Unalayee has had on me these past 5 years. I'm more confidant, thoughtful, healthy, and compassionate. Camp has touched me and changed me in a way that I am eternally grateful for. In my first week up in those mountains, I felt like I had been grabbed by a hook and pulled deep into its core. I will forever be connected to Camp Unalayee. It's the closest to utopia I've ever been. I am so incredibly grateful for Camp Unalayee.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Camp Unalayee is an amazing experience. You can hike, swim, fish and live outdoors for two weeks every summer. The friends you make there can be lifelong and camp is always the highlight of my summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I was a camper at Camp Unalayee, for 8 years. To say going to camp made for the best summers of my life would be an understatement, going to camp honestly changed my life. I am 24 years old now, and am still friends with people that I met my first year at camp when I was 11. I have found shelter with camp people all over the country, all of whom share my complete passion and love for Camp Unalayee. Camp Unalayee not only helped me appreciate a life outside of the internet and cell phones, but helped me grow more confident in my abilities to over come challenges, and really work and live as a community. I can't say enough about how much Camp Unalayee means to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Camp Unalayee is, perhaps, the world's last rural outdoor camp. It provides an amazing, mulit-cultural, mixed socio-economic environmental experience for kids. It's a true, grass-roots organization, and runs entirely on volunteers and lightly paid staff. It's been around for 50+ years. It's hidden away in the Trinity Alps. It's a very special place - everyone should send their kids there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Probably time to bring the fundraising part of the business into the modern world and expand the mission

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

This place has changed my life for the better. Being exposed to so many foreign things has been a truly valuable life learning experience. All the kind and nurturing support that I received from the friendly staff was amazing. I have been a camper since I was ten years old, I am now fourteen and plan on continuing my pursuit of broad education in this incredibly place. the wilderness has always spoken to me and being submerged in it is obviously the best way to experience and appreciate it. I love camp Unalayee!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

advertise it to more parts of the world. I think that places like this should be available to growing minds and bodies across our wonderful world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 9, 2011

My children loved Unalayee. Their friends and my nephew also did. All my dealings with this Camp have been excellent. I recommend it highly. more

October 22, 2013

I am a parent who sent her kids to Camp Unalayee. My son then sent his kids. It is a wonderful camp and wilderness experience. I was lucky enough to be able to camp nearby when my kids were there, so I walked into camp to see them. They had the best time. All the counselors were excellent, professional, and extremely caring. The kids come home dirty, and very very happy. I am now a donor every year because this is such an important experience for all our city kids, particularly the disadvantaged ones.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2011

My children loved Unalayee. Their friends and my nephew also did. All my dealings with this Camp have been excellent. I recommend it highly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My children and their friends came home from camp dirty, buoyant, and very happy. I saw this for many summers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes needed

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I went to Camp Unalayee as a camper several years in a row, a few years back. I still remember all of the memories I made there with great fondness. Unalayee helped me not only explore myself but also discover a deep passion of mine that burns within me to this day. I love the wilderness and the wild life, and at Unalayee everyone is allowed to experience that in their own way. It's absolutely beautiful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Our 11 year old daughter was awarded a campership to attend Camp Unalayee for the first time this year. The organization was amazingly easy and pleasant to work with. This was a such a gift to our daughter because without the gracious campership we would never have been able to send her to a camp as amazing as this one is. Our daughters favorite activity is hiking and the only "sport" she wants to do. She now has dreams of attending Camp Unalayee every year for all sessions then become a counselor when she is old enough. This is how much she liked it. When I asked her which part she liked most, all she would say was "everything." This is a perfect camp for our independent little hiker and defender of the wilderness. The organization made us both feel safe and well taken care of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Camp Unalayee was a place where I was allowed, as a camper, to be whoever I chose to be. As a teenager, that was a truly important thing. When I came back to camp as a counselor, it gave me a profound experience that shapes my work as a major gift fundraising. Camp Unalayee taught me that you can't keep a great experience to yourself. It is the reason that I crafted a course to help others raise money for charitable ideas they think are worth their time. Occasionally, even in Europe, I have worn my Unalayee shirt out and had the surprise of meeting fellow alumni with the most wonderful stories that often leave me wishing I were back at Mosquito Lake. The most important thing a charity can do is inspire loyalty and Unalayee does it better than almost every organisation I have consulted or worked for.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

It was a wonderful and memorable experience to be one of the international counselor at Camp Unalayee in 1992. At then in 1992, It was my 1st time visiting USA, my 1st trip leaving Singapore all by myself, 1st long haul flight journey from Singapore to US, 1st time taking an aircraft, 1st time attending the summer camp, this was an awesome and exciting journey for me.
The camp has fantastic orientation program for all counselor before the summer camp season starts. Not forgetting the caring and fatherly camp director - Lowell Fitch who has followed through with me to ensure that I could adapt to the complete wilderness at Camp Unalayee which I have no experience at all while I was staying in a big city in Singapore. My sincere heartfelt appreciation to Lowell Fitch and his mother, this experience has significant impact in my personal development and my great interests towards wilderness.
In addition, I were privileged to have a few great mentor/buddy who have guided me - Craig , Bob , Katherine , Rueben. All these names were deeply imprinted in my mind despite it has been more than 21 years ago.
It was an enjoyable time spending three sessions with kids coming from different background and upbringing. There were so much fun in participating and organizing tie dye workshop at craft shack, teaching the kids to speak Mandarin, cooking over the fire using pint cone as a fire starter, leading the kids for hiking trip, baking delicious cake in the kitchen, experiencing solo nights during the hiking trip, sleeping in the tent with deer roaming around me, kayaking in the freezing lake water, camp fire on special day and so many more . These experiences were 21 years ago yet every details of the experience were still so cleared.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep the fantastic experience for each and every kid to enjoy and appreciation of wilderness, this is the best and unique experience for them. Possible to get more funding from the government so there are more kid could participate in this special backpacking experience in the wilderness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers