Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.979175
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Camp Unalayee is the most life changing community I have ever been apart of. It is more than a summer camp; it is a powerful, loving family that is deeply passionate about showing children and families how sacred and beautiful nature is, as well as the importance of trust, respect, and courage. There is no place in the world I'd rather be. Camp Unalayee is the only place I can be my true self 100% of the time. I am accepted for who I am, I am challenged to be the best person I can be, and I am honored for expressing myself fully. Camp Unalayee encourages us to dig deep down into the depths of our hearts and souls and to celebrate growth, friendship, challenge, courage, music, laughter, wilderness, community, and FUN. The friendships I've made at Camp Unalayee are the strongest I've ever had. My friends, family and myself have all noticed what a positive impact Camp Unalayee has had on me these past 5 years. I'm more confidant, thoughtful, healthy, and compassionate. Camp has touched me and changed me in a way that I am eternally grateful for. In my first week up in those mountains, I felt like I had been grabbed by a hook and pulled deep into its core. I will forever be connected to Camp Unalayee. It's the closest to utopia I've ever been. I am so incredibly grateful for Camp Unalayee.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Our boys began attending Unalayee over 10 years ago. Our daughter just finished her third year in the basin. I can't begin to tell you all what this camp environment does for young people. For over 10 years I have dropped my kids off at Scott Summit, truly amazing kids. However the transformation that takes place in those 14 days, is truly breathtaking. Our conversations during the four hour car ride home, are some of the best times I've had with my kids. Please continue to do what you do. Because The self-esteem, self awareness, and a general sense of gratitude are all great qualities that you seamlessly insert into these campers. And on top of all that, you make it seem effortless and have endless fun while you're doing it.
September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

All I have to say is : Search YouTube Thomas Svensson Camp Unalayee !!! Theres TONS of PROOF of a R E A L CAMP !!!
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

A group of families from our Navigators USA chapter attended a family camp at Camp Unalayee this summer. The wilderness setting is magnificent as are the camp's facilities and activities such as archery, boating, fishing, hiking, crafting and more. However what really made it an unforgettable experience for our group was the warmth and camaraderie of the counselors and staff, and the connection they made with our group. At the end of our visit, the kids were asking how soon we can come back!
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Camp Unalayee is an amazing experience. You can hike, swim, fish and live outdoors for two weeks every summer. The friends you make there can be lifelong and camp is always the highlight of my summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I was a camper at Camp Unalayee, for 8 years. To say going to camp made for the best summers of my life would be an understatement, going to camp honestly changed my life. I am 24 years old now, and am still friends with people that I met my first year at camp when I was 11. I have found shelter with camp people all over the country, all of whom share my complete passion and love for Camp Unalayee. Camp Unalayee not only helped me appreciate a life outside of the internet and cell phones, but helped me grow more confident in my abilities to over come challenges, and really work and live as a community. I can't say enough about how much Camp Unalayee means to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Camp Unalayee is, perhaps, the world's last rural outdoor camp. It provides an amazing, mulit-cultural, mixed socio-economic environmental experience for kids. It's a true, grass-roots organization, and runs entirely on volunteers and lightly paid staff. It's been around for 50+ years. It's hidden away in the Trinity Alps. It's a very special place - everyone should send their kids there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Probably time to bring the fundraising part of the business into the modern world and expand the mission

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

This place has changed my life for the better. Being exposed to so many foreign things has been a truly valuable life learning experience. All the kind and nurturing support that I received from the friendly staff was amazing. I have been a camper since I was ten years old, I am now fourteen and plan on continuing my pursuit of broad education in this incredibly place. the wilderness has always spoken to me and being submerged in it is obviously the best way to experience and appreciate it. I love camp Unalayee!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

advertise it to more parts of the world. I think that places like this should be available to growing minds and bodies across our wonderful world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 9, 2011

My children loved Unalayee. Their friends and my nephew also did. All my dealings with this Camp have been excellent. I recommend it highly. more

October 22, 2013

I am a parent who sent her kids to Camp Unalayee. My son then sent his kids. It is a wonderful camp and wilderness experience. I was lucky enough to be able to camp nearby when my kids were there, so I walked into camp to see them. They had the best time. All the counselors were excellent, professional, and extremely caring. The kids come home dirty, and very very happy. I am now a donor every year because this is such an important experience for all our city kids, particularly the disadvantaged ones.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2011

My children loved Unalayee. Their friends and my nephew also did. All my dealings with this Camp have been excellent. I recommend it highly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My children and their friends came home from camp dirty, buoyant, and very happy. I saw this for many summers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes needed

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I went to Camp Unalayee as a camper several years in a row, a few years back. I still remember all of the memories I made there with great fondness. Unalayee helped me not only explore myself but also discover a deep passion of mine that burns within me to this day. I love the wilderness and the wild life, and at Unalayee everyone is allowed to experience that in their own way. It's absolutely beautiful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers