Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 6 7 8 |
Write A Review
November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

How many ways can we, that are privileged enough to volunteer at Camp Sunshine, explain what the camp means? It is a chance to help others, yes. It is a chance to get out of our comfort zone and grow, yes. It is chance to meet many people we would never meet from all over the country, yes. But the most important part for me as a volunteer is being allowed to step into the world reluctantly occupied by cancer families. They let me help by accepting that I care, even if I can't really empathize for lack of walking in their shoes. Each time I apply to bring a group of teens from Harvard, MA or attend on my own I hold my breath hoping that there will be a spot for me. i don't care if I am weeding, shooting photos or handing out athletic equipment, I just want to be there. I am there to help and its my favorite place to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I have been volunteering with my family during Lupus week at camp sunshine for 6 years now and I can confidently say that it is always the best week of the year. I was very apprehensive the first time we went; it could have been an uncomfortable and disheartening experience to be around sick children and their families, but it was just the opposite. Camp sunshine is a place filled with so much happiness and love an acceptance, it is impossible not to revel in the joy that it brings people. My family and I fell in love with this place and it is the one week we look foward to every year, no matter what. The people at camp sunshine have become my second family, and camp my second home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Volunteering at Camp Sunshine has truly been one of the best experiences of my life. I volunteered this past summer with a group of kids from my high school, and it was the most fun I had in a long time. I made dozens of new friends in my fellow volunteers, and of course, with the campers! Camp Sunshine is honestly one of the best places on earth, everyone is so caring and accepting of everyone else. I feel like i was able to make a connection with most, if not all of the 20+ kids in the age group I worked with, and I think I even managed to learn from them! My experience at Camp Sunshine was amazing, and I will hopefully be returning for years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Our experience with Camp Sunshine began almost 20 years ago when our then seven years old son, had been diagnosed with a brain tumor. That was back in the day when the camp was only a vistion of what it has become. A place of hope, respite and unconditional love. We have returned many times since that first visit and each visit has brought a rekindling of our spirt. On one of our visits our daugher, then 17 years old said she loved going to camp but was changing her role from camper to volunteer. We have transioned to become volunteers. Our son has many medical issues that prevent us from going to camp often, but we still manage to visit with a day trip. Our son loves to wear his exspansive clothing collection from Camp Sunshine, it brings a little sunshine into his day which in turn brings sunshine into our lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

This organization is the most inspiring for the children, their parents or guardians, and for the volunteers who make it excell. It offers support, networking for families, and a break from the reality of life threatening illness not only for the child, but the siblings and parents. I worked the food service for 1 week 4 years in a row and the teamwork was wonderful and much appreciated by all the other volunteers, staff and families. I can't say enough good things about Camp Sunshine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

After my own bout with cancer, I decided that I wanted to give back to others who were facing cancer. I found Camp Sunshine after I did an internet search for a camp for kids with cancer. I have volunteered a few times and plan to volunteer again. Camp Sunshine allows families to get back a little bit of normalcy in their lives. It was so wonderful to see everyone smiling and having fun. The staff is exceptional and the week always runs smoothly. They have meetings for the adults everyday so that they can learn from each others experiences. The kids are split into age groups and have different activities every day. I really liked that they cater to the entire family as every family member is impacted when one is diagnosed with cancer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Camp Sunshine is a ray of hope and the light of joy for children who have life threatening illnesses and their families. It is the onlyh program of it's kind. The camp was designed for these special children. Children can swim, enjoy the lake, and even camp out in a special cabin. Families have 2 room motel like rooms. There is even a candlelight dinner for parents. The camp is primarily volunteers. Many of the volunteers are health professionals. I was the "Camp Nurse" for Transplant week. I took my family. I have participated in some of the Camp Fund Raisers. I highly encourage everyone to support the Camp through donations of your money and your time. Take a week to volunteer. You will have the best experience of your life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Fantastic volunteer experience during my high school and college years. I went there on 4 separate occasions from 1994-1998 and have never forgotten my time there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I wish I had heard about Camp Sunshine much sooner than I did. I LOVE volunteering there. I go there twice a year and wished I could make more trips than that from New Jersey. People always ask me how can you do it. I always say try it once then you'll understand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

My husband & I retired and returned to Maine after being away 41 years. We left children & Grandchildren in California. We were lucky enough to find Camp Sunhine and helping other children and their families now fulfills our retirement days. We volunteer at least 5 sessions a year and drive all summer to the airport, train station, bus station to transport families in and out of camp. We are so thankful that we have a healthy family what better way is there to give back to those who need you. HANDS UP TO CAMP SUNSHINE!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The majority of Camp Sunshine's 2,500 volunteers who give of their time annually come and volunteer for a week when the camp is in session. However, those with less time may contribute a few hours helping maintain the campus, assisting with mailings, organizing closets and activity rooms, gardening, etc.. Volunteer