Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

I first started volunteering at Camp Sunshine seven years ago. To say that Camp Sunshine is the best place for families would be an understatement. Camp Sunshine IS the place to be for families going through difficult times due to illness. Camp gives families the opportunity to get away from the pain and worries for one week, and reunite as simply just a family. As a volunteer, I have met many familes and have kept in touch with so many of them as well. For me, I return every year because sometimes I need to be reminded of how good I have it and that children are going through things that I could never even imagine going through as an adult. The smiles, the laughter, the fun, the families, and the staff are what makes this the best place to be. This was truly a life-changing, humbling experience. I have learned so much from the kids. Unfortunately, due to illness in my family, I have not been able to go since last year, but it is where I will be this summer. Beth Gervais

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2012

I can never put into words how great Camp Sunshine is; not any words that do it justice at least. This place is amazing. Volunteering there has provided me with so many opportunities, and because of Camp Sunshine, I have been able to figure out a career path. Camp Sunshine has made me want to be an advocate for childhood cancer research and to hopefully be a PA for pediatric oncology some day. I would recommend volunteering here to anyone because it is an unbelievably rewarding experience. I have met some of the most amazing people here and have developed many lifelong friendships. The strength of the families is beyond inspiring and everyone should have the opportunity to experience the magic that Camp Sunshine brings to life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012

more

December 13, 2012

I was a camper at Camp Sunshine in 1990 and have been volunteering since 2004. It is truly a life changing place. They have given me a chance to take my own experiences and use what I have learned to help others. Families of children with chronic illnesses face so many challenges, and camp gives them time to spend time together without stress. Siblings are placed with children their own age and parents can have fun while also joining in support groups. I think that many families facing pediatric illnesses feel that they are alone but camp helps them to build relationships with people who are experiencing what they are. I love Camp Sunshine dearly, and really think that they deserve this recognition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012

more

December 13, 2012

Camp Sunshine is an amazing and life changing experience. It is a safe haven for the entire family struggling with a child's life-threatening illness. The camp is a FUN place for all, but also a very supportive and "normal" place for the family. All the families that attend during the week share a similar yet very different story. They have this place to share their story, be heard, and most importantly, be understood. As a volunteer, it is so powerful to see how this camp leaves a such a feeling of hope and love in all who attend. It's a true transformation that takes place right before your eyes. This place is a tremendous blessing to all. It is a place you WANT to keep coming back to year after year.. so amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012

more

December 13, 2012

Camp Sunshine is one of the greatest places on earth. I started volunteering there in August 2010, and went back for 5 more sessions before June 2011 (when I moved out of the area). I have met life-long friends at Camp, and miss it every day! I can't wait to get back to volunteering there in the near future. If you ever need a place to donate time or money to - this is it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2012

more

December 13, 2012

My daughter, several students and I have been volunteering at Camp Sunshine each February for the past five years. It is the most loving, caring, place I have ever been. The staff is wonderful, the families inspirational. If Camp Sunshine was closer to home, there is no doubt that I would spend a lot more time there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012

more

December 13, 2012

I found Camp Sunshine through my high school's Key Club. Groups of students from my school have gone and volunteered, and even as many of us graduate this year, I am sure that we will continue to come. Camp Sunshine very clearly makes a huge difference in the lives of everyone who comes there, whether as a volunteer or as a family member. It has a positive environment where everyone feels comfortable, welcome, included. People enjoy themselves, the kids feel special, and the adults connect with other people going through similar situations and have the pleasure of seeing their children having such an amazing time. Everyone benefits. This place is difficult to describe because it is absolutely so amazing. Coming to camp helps people just as much as any medicine would; it is an incredible experience. I donate to Camp Sunshine, and I really recommend supporting this program. It changes lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012

more

December 13, 2012

Currently my family volunteers at Camp Sunshine, but our first introduction to Camp was as a family with a sick child. Whether you are a family member being catered to by Camp Sunshine, or a volunteer, Camp Sunshie truly is a magical place. Where else can the entire family feel cared for in every way possible? Camp provides a full array of camp activities, three full meals a day, evening entertainment, time to talk with other parents of sick children with a supportive psychosocial director, and if all this was not enough, there is a doctor on-site to care for any medical needs that may arise! My children have fun every time they attend camp! The volunteers are amazing and the smiles on the campers' faces reflects the spirit of Camp!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012

more

December 13, 2012

It's very difficult to convey what Camp Sunshine means to me, because it's simply incomparable to anything else I've done in my short years. I began my Camp Sunshine journey at 17 years old. I am now 24 and can't imagine life without multiple yearly 3-hr drives to Camp. From the staff, who have remembered my name since 2006 even though I only go up a couple of times a year, to the families who accept and embrace my help and sentiments and hope, even though I can't truly know what it is they go through, there isn't one thing about Camp Sunshine that's left me unsatisfied. Volunteering at Camp grounds me - I leave grateful for my health, my family, my LIFE. I leave humbled and admittedly, often heartbroken that these wonderful, strong, selfless families suffer. But it is things like Camp Sunshine that ease their suffering, or at least that's what they tell us, and in that I can find solace knowing that I've helped in the slightest. But - it isn't about my satisfaction or solace, it's about the families, and Camp Sunshine is quite simply such a stellar place full of so many worthwhile humans you can't help but become overwhelmed with emotion. Explaining what makes this a "stellar" organization would take all day, but let me share this short anecdote: This November at a bereavement session, there was a balloon launch, which is an event for families and volunteers to remember siblings, children, friends and loved ones who have passed away. I didn't have to furiously struggle to hold back my tears, as I feared I would have to, because even though there were many tears falling, it was still a moment of celebration, albeit bittersweet celebration. As the graffiti-ed white balloons rose into the air above the lake, a toddler yelled to her sister to "Make sure you take a good look at it - I don't want you to miss any of my message." That's Camp Sunshine - it might be heart-wrenching, but you'll never be alone here and if you want to yell (or scream or cry) up to the sky, there will be a beach full of family supporting you always.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2012

more

December 13, 2012

We started going to camp Sunshine to volunteer as a family in 2004 and have continued ever since, we wouldn't think of missing a year. our church group started the ball rolling with 5 volunteers and it's since grown to over 15 church members going...........every year someone else decides to go and keeps going. i really think this gave my daughter a direction in life She now knows the feeling of giving back and helping others. we have made some wonderful friends over the years and know we'll always want to continue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The majority of Camp Sunshine's 2,500 volunteers who give of their time annually come and volunteer for a week when the camp is in session. However, those with less time may contribute a few hours helping maintain the campus, assisting with mailings, organizing closets and activity rooms, gardening, etc.. Volunteer