Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

H'yall, I've been volunteering at Camp Sunshine since the late 1980's, and will continue as long as the car and the body make it up north, now that I am retired. Just love it. My short, but wonderful story: When I arrived at camp for a session this year, a small boy ran over to me with a huge smile and a big hug, laughing and saying "Jeanie, Jeanie, you're here again, and so am I." "Will you be with the 6-8 (year old) kids?" I answered "yes" and he pointed to himself, and said "that's still me." "Hurry up and come say hi to my Mom and Dad. They want to see you." "This is so really great," he said.

How can anyone beat that for a beginning of a Camp Sunshine session.... And this is what Camp Sunshine is all about. New families, returning families, and great volunteers and staff. All sharing a love for children and wanting to make it the very best experience for everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is so much good happening every session at Camp Sunshine that I doubt I would change the way it is run at all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've volunteered at Camp Sunshine since 1997. To say its been a wonderful experience is an understatement. The staff is amazing in making each families experience such a special one. The volunteers are so selfless and giving. We bond into a family for each session. I fall in love with the children and parents each session I volunteer. I've met so many wonderful families and volunteers who have become very dear friends. Camp Sunshine is exceptional.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change in any way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As a volunteer I have never been treated so well. The staff appreciate the hard work that we do on behalf of the children and their families.
The camp is a happy place where kids can be kids, no matter what illness they are struggling with. Their families find others who know what they are
going through.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the facilities larger so more families and volunteers can be part of each session. I was not able to get in this year to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been a volunteer Camp Sunshine since 1998. My time at Camp Sunshine has been among the best of my life.i've seen some amazing things there and met some wonderful people. The staff and the volunteers there are genuine ,caring people, and some have become some of my closest friends. I believe so much in the mission of Camp Sunshine that I can hardly wait to go each year. Volunteering there has enriched my life ,and I'm grateful to have found Camp Sunshine

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 13, 2012

Camp Sunshine is truly one of a kind. It is tough to readjust to the real world after being at camp, because it seems like an entirely different world. After five years of volunteering I have seen the... more

October 29, 2013

After volunteering at Camp for 5 years I took up an internship position over the summer working behind the scenes, and all it did was make Camp sunshine even more magical for me. Every single person, and I emphasize that I mean EVERY person, involved with Camp Sunshine is nothing short of amazing. Camp Sunshine to me represents a different world, one that I wouldn't mind living in forever. From the families to the volunteers to the staff, there is a great sense of family and togetherness that for me, only exists in one small piece of land in Casco, ME. If every other organization is rated from 1-5 stars, Camp Sunshine gets a sixth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012

Camp Sunshine is truly one of a kind. It is tough to readjust to the real world after being at camp, because it seems like an entirely different world. After five years of volunteering I have seen the long term impact of Camp Sunshine on families; how it represents a community to them, a place where they finally have the time to be happy again. Families and volunteers come from not only all around the country, but from around the world for this one of a kind experience that they will never forget. There is not a cause in this world I am more passionate about than what Camp Sunshine does for children with life-threatening illnesses and their families. I would have given them 100 stars if I could have!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2013

more

January 15, 2013

My husband and I have volunteered at Camp Sunshine for the last 7 years and we look forward to our colunteer week each year. We love being able to provide a wonderful vacation for these families that otherwise might not take a vacation due to their child's illness. In all honesty, I think we get more out of the experience than the families do, we get to meet great friends, keep in touch with some wonderful families, watch children grow, and make people smile all while having fun ourselves. The Camp offers lots of activities for kids and adults alike, the staff is very hands on and involved, you can always find someone to assist you when needed, and the volunteers are attentive and top-notch. We have also given financially to Camp and have encouraged others to volunteer or donate as they could.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 22, 2012

more

December 22, 2012

I have volunteered at Camp Sunshine for the last 13 years and each experience has been a gift to me. It is more that a week respite for the children and their families, it is like going back home. The camp staff, volunteers, and families stay connected and feel like a family. I heard parents remark that their children would rather come to camp than go to Disney World! It is a stellar organization that maximizes every dollar donated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 16, 2012

more

December 16, 2012

It was in May 1988 that my 3 year old son was diagnosed with Leukemia. At the time, Camp Sunshine was a very small camp but it was a healing place for my family. My son is doing well and he became a physician himself. I and my husband never forgot Camp Sunshine and we volunteered several times. I watched how the old staff and the newer staff are dedicating their time and energy to make the camp an inviting, warm, informative place for so many people. May Camp Sunshine continue to be there for so many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 15, 2012

more

December 15, 2012

Camp Sunshine is ONE OF A KIND!!! More than ever this world needs more places like Camp Sunshine to serve families! Their philosophy and commitment in "doing the right thing" and "paying it forward" far exceeds any other nonprofit out there!! THANK YOU CAMP SUNSHINE!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

I have had the blessing to be able to volunteer for a number of different organizations throughout the years including Camp Sunshine, Habitat for Humanity, The Boston Food Pantry and even a few organizations in Zimbabwe. Camp Sunshine has far exceeded all of these organizations for professionalism and overall organization. That, coupled with the concept of serving not only the ill children but also catering to the entire family of the children makes Camp Sunshine a truly unique organization. The experiences and relationships my wife and I have enjoyed at camp will stay with us the rest of our lives. Every session at camp guarantees us another lifetime memory and we look forward to serving Camp Sunshine as long as we are able to. Camp Sunshine is truly an amazing organization that we are proud and honored to be involved with!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The majority of Camp Sunshine's 2,500 volunteers who give of their time annually come and volunteer for a week when the camp is in session. However, those with less time may contribute a few hours helping maintain the campus, assisting with mailings, organizing closets and activity rooms, gardening, etc.. Volunteer