Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

In a nutshell, the week I spent volunteering at Camp Sunshine was the best week of my life! I am so excited to go back, and work with all the wonderful counclers and campers. Camp Sunshine is a wond... more

March 26, 2014

I started volunteering at Camp Sunshine at 16, as soon as I was able, and since then my life has never been quite the same. Camp Sunshine further confirmed my aspirations to be a Registered Nurse, and showed me true resiliance. Through the love and pure strength I recieved from the families, I learned a lot about life at a young age and feel so blessed to be a part of the Camp Sunshine community. There is no better feeling than making a sick child smile, and there are plenty of smiles to go around at Camp Sunshine. The staff are incredible and extremely dedicated. Every single person in that environment has a determination to help others, and it is a beautiful thing to witness. I've been many places, but Camp Sunshine remains my favorite place on this earth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to tell the whole world what they're doing there. I'd help them spread the word even more about how much good is being done. The organization is wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

In a nutshell, the week I spent volunteering at Camp Sunshine was the best week of my life! I am so excited to go back, and work with all the wonderful counclers and campers. Camp Sunshine is a wonderful place full of people with such big hearts. I spread the word as much as I can, so more people will go volunteer. Every child is given a week not only to be "normal" but to be extraordinary. It is so wonderful to see the parents having a good time, and see how happy all of the kids are. It is a contagious feeling in the atmosphere. Without a doubt, I'd call it the best place on earth, and I'm only a volunteer. I can't even begin to fathom what the children must feel. There is not a place the can compare to Camp Sunshine!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

When my daughter and I decided to volunteer at Camp Sunshine the first time, we knew it was going to be an amazing experience. NEVER in our wildest dreams did we think it would be as incredible as it is. Camp Sunshine is in our hearts forever and has become one of the best parts of our lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

What keeps me coming back to Camp Sunshine year after year? Could it be the small, yet wonderful, caring staff who treat everyone so warmly? Is it the families who entrust their most valuable possessions (their children) to me during the sessions, and stay in touch with me throughout the years? Is it the medical professionals who are on call 24-7? Is it the clean facilities? The various activities? The army of volunteers of all ages and from all over the country? The wonderful 3 meals a day? The evening entertainment? The wish boats? Or is it, that Camp Sunshine is the place where kids can be kids, and no one is "different"? It is all of these things, and so much more, and I am so fortunate to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

The support of the Camp program resources assists volunteers in offering the most outstanding camp experience for the children and their families. I have volunteered each year since 2004 and plan on ... more

March 25, 2014

I started volunteering at Camp Sunshine 10 years ago as a chaperone for our high school group. I have bought about a dozen students each year to volunteer each summer at Camp Sunshine. I have also recruited my husband to volunteer. We have even volunteered on other weeks and weekends without having to chaperone my high school students because we believe in the program that Camp Sunshine offers the families in attendance. The connections you make with the families, other volunteers, and Camp staff are special.
November 10, 2012

The support of the Camp program resources assists volunteers in offering the most outstanding camp experience for the children and their families. I have volunteered each year since 2004 and plan on continuing. Besides volunteering with my husband many camp sessions I bring 10-12 high school students to volunteer as well. The opportunity to give back and make a difference in the campers and their families lives is so rewarding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Last summer I had the privilege of volunteering for one week at a Camp Sunshine brain tumor session. The camp is a delightful, happy, modern, clean and well-run facility. Staff and volunteers do everything they can to make the families attending feel relaxed, special and like they are on vacation. The families have time to bond as a family and they have separate child and adult time--it's a great balance. There are plenty of smiles and laughter and also a few tears. I'm looking forward to returning again this summer! Happy 30th Anniversary Camp Sunshine!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Camp Sunshine is truly the happiest and brightest place to be. I volunteered for the first time four years ago and it completely changed my life for the better. The highlight of my year is being able to volunteer, meet new families, reconnect with old and help allow these families experience a vacation they will never forget. At camp it isn't about the diseases that define the child but getting to know the child for who they truly are. The staff is amazing, the campus is breath taking and it truly is a home away from home. Volunteering at camp has brought me to my future career goals to become a child life specialist. I will continue to volunteer year after year! It is rewarding to be able to see the families and volunteers come together in remembering what life is all about. We come together to multiply our joy and happiness and divide our troubles. Camp Sunshine will always be my favorite place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

Wow to be able to tell the world about Camp Sunshine is such an honor. My daughter was the first in our family to volunteer she was 16 at the time. When she came home she was so excited and so uplif... more

March 25, 2014

Wow what to say about Camp Sunshine. Smiles, laughter, fun, friendship and oh so much more. I have been involved in non-profits before as a volunteer but never one quite as loving, caring, compassionate and dedicated as this camp is. From the relentless dedicated staff who make sure that families have everything they need from arrival to departure, to the thousands of volunteers that are attracted to the camp and what it stands for. And what it stands for to the many who come through the doors – HOPE. The bonding that takes place between the campers themselves, as well as the volunteers is simply amazing. No one is left behind, what I mean is that every family member is treated as royalty. They have so many activities (from sports, to arts and crafts, games, singing and dancing, just to name a few) for the different age groups, from the littlest camper to the biggest, each individual is special . Winter, spring, summer or fall the camps activity is on-going. Certainly anyone who has a child with a life-threatening illness whether near or far should come to camp, it will change your life, you will leave rejuvenated. If you are interested in volunteering this camp will also change your life, as it has mine, you will leave exhausted but the joy inside your heart is like nothing else, knowing that you have spent the week in such a hopeful, respectful and loving environment and you WILL want to do it again. It is and always will be an honor to volunteer for such an outstanding non-profit as Camp Sunshine is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not.....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012

Wow to be able to tell the world about Camp Sunshine is such an honor. My daughter was the first in our family to volunteer she was 16 at the time. When she came home she was so excited and so uplifted about her experience I couldn’t wait to go. A couple of years went by and because of life I was unable to go but it nagged at me. So in 2010 I decided no more excuses I was going and I invited my sister who was recovering from breast cancer. That decision changed my life, working with families and children who everyday struggle with so much more than the rest of us made me realize just how lucky my family, friends and I were. Camp Sunshine became my purpose in life, I don’t have a lot of money, but I do have time and I am so grateful that I found that time in 2010 because I came home and shared my feelings and now my children, their friends, and my neighbors are all volunteering. Camp Sunshine is like a fine tuned machine, the staff and volunteers (who are all so absolutely wonderful) are there for the families and the families who are lucky enough to come have the experience of a life time. For the first time many families are relaxed, they can breathe easy for a few days, experience friendship with people who understand their plight, and most importantly they have fun. I along with many other volunteers walk away with a feeling of such pride to have been able to walk beside volunteers, staff and families for those few days. And many of us make lifetime friends, I am happy to say that I now volunteer a few times a year and I consider that one of the greatest blessings in my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

I've been volunteering at Camp Sunshine for over 5 years and it's consistently the best weeks of my year. The Camp itself has great facilities and treats all their volunteers with utmost respect and kindness, even going out of the way to learn everyone's name when thousands of us pass through there every year.

The families I've met have all echoed the same sentiment - that camp sunshine is amazing. I can only speak from a volunteer point of view but I know that I have witnessed communities of support come together and help each other get through this difficult time in their lives.

Volunteering at camp has literally changed my life and I don't see a time in my life when I wouldn't make the trip there at least once a year.
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Camp Sunshine is a truly amazing place. It is wonderful what a talented, dedicated staff and a bunch of enthusiastic, caring volunteers can accomplish for the families that are able to attend. It provides a magical experience for everyone who is involved and it gives each person the opportunity to give of themselves to another individual and have a real impact on the lives of others. I have served as a volunteer and am returning this weekend to volunteer again. I plan to return as often as I am able. It is a life changing experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their funding so they are able to touch the lives of more families and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 25, 2012

The first time I attended camp was in the early 2000's as a camper; my brother had leukemia and we attended as a family three to four times. Camp is such an amazing place for families experiencing the... more

October 30, 2013

I have now had the opportunity to volunteer at camp four times and will be returning this weekend to volunteer again. As a former client served I cannot even begin to describe how much of an impact this organization has had on my family and my life. When we attended as a family my brother and I, the "normal" siblings, were finally able to find others that we could relate with and really, really talk to. My brothers and I have established lifelong friendships from our time as campers. I began volunteering last year by myself and was able to share the volunteer experience with my mother and my husband this year; I honestly inform everyone about Camp Sunshine and encourage volunteering or supporting Camp in any way. It is impossible to put into words how much Camp means to me, but I can tell you that I am constantly using my earned vacation and personal days to VOLUNTEER, if that shows you how amazing volunteering for this organization is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more funding to increase the number of families and sessions

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2012

The first time I attended camp was in the early 2000's as a camper; my brother had leukemia and we attended as a family three to four times. Camp is such an amazing place for families experiencing these hardships to sit back, relax, and connect. I finally was able to give back and volunteer this summer and can say that volunteering is even more of an amazing experience. You can see the joy, hope and gratitude in the families eyes as they are able to have a normal summer experience. By the time the week was over I did not want to leave and jumped at the opportunity to come back, which I will be doing in about two weeks. I have also spread the word about Camp to ALL of my family and friends and can't wait to spread the joy and hope for the years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The majority of Camp Sunshine's 2,500 volunteers who give of their time annually come and volunteer for a week when the camp is in session. However, those with less time may contribute a few hours helping maintain the campus, assisting with mailings, organizing closets and activity rooms, gardening, etc.. Volunteer