Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 5...16 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've volunteered at Camp Sunshine since 1997. To say its been a wonderful experience is an understatement. The staff is amazing in making each families experience such a special one. The volunteers are so selfless and giving. We bond into a family for each session. I fall in love with the children and parents each session I volunteer. I've met so many wonderful families and volunteers who have become very dear friends. Camp Sunshine is exceptional.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change in any way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

Our family attended the Annual Family Meeting of the Fanconi Anemia Research Fund for the first time this past August. Camp Sunshine hosts this 5-day event each year, and it was an amazing experience... more

October 30, 2013

My family and I have been to Camp Sunshine twice. The camp and their volunteers and staff are wonderful, caring, sharing people. We go for Fanconi Anemia Family Meeting, held by Fanconi Anemia Research Foundation (FARF). FARF hosts this annually, where the kids (and few adults) with this serious disorder, and their siblings, get to frolic and interface with others in the same boat -- a rare chance to gain a sense of support and camaraderie. The parents also get this great opportunity, and FARF is a close, expert, and vital organization that presents a dozen seminars, bringing in experts in FA and BMT from around the world.

Camp Sunshine staff and volunteers take care of everything, so families can REALLY take a break! The first time at Camp was full of emotions for me. The kids said it was the best experience they'd ever had -- they had lived two years knowing only two families in the "same boat" as them (FA), and were blown away by the gathering of 70 FA families, with a chance to share common challenges and triumphs with folks who had no knowledge of the genetic disorder and associated conditions. I was still grappling with acceptance of the hand my daughter had been dealt, with the enormous learning I had before me to become my child's best advocate, and the information I gained through the expert seminars and personal meetings with them throughout the week was a bit overwhelming. I gained a lot of strength and hope, too, from being close with so many families and experiencing what they do to cope and persevere.

The second time at Camp was amazing, so much better. Friendships were forged, learning of the advances and best practices was easier and much enhanced, and seeing the dedication of the scientific and medical experts giving of themselves brought a lot of serenity and hope to me. Thank you, FARF, for the wonderful thing you do for our kids, and THANK YOU SO MUCH Camp Sunshine, for creating a place where we can come together, a place where hundreds of volunteers can give of themselves so freely -- can impart upon families happiness, a sense of caring, fun, and HOPE. Kelly Adams, Colorado.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

Our family attended the Annual Family Meeting of the Fanconi Anemia Research Fund for the first time this past August. Camp Sunshine hosts this 5-day event each year, and it was an amazing experience. I can only describe the Camp Sunshine Staff and 100 volunteers that made this gathering possible as EXCEPTIONAL. The camp itself is a resort, the nicest camp I've been to in my life. The people were amazingly warm and caring -- the camp staff were so well-trained and organized, and the enormous group of volunteers that carried out the full schedule of events treated all of us attending the camp with enthusiasm, patience, the utmost respect, and genuine love. It was a very memorable experience, and I cannot say how fortunate I feel that Camp Sunshine does this for our Fanconi Families! What a blessing they are. Thank you SO MUCH, Camp Sunshine. Kelly Adams, Colorado Springs, Colorado.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As a volunteer I have never been treated so well. The staff appreciate the hard work that we do on behalf of the children and their families.
The camp is a happy place where kids can be kids, no matter what illness they are struggling with. Their families find others who know what they are
going through.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the facilities larger so more families and volunteers can be part of each session. I was not able to get in this year to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been a volunteer Camp Sunshine since 1998. My time at Camp Sunshine has been among the best of my life.i've seen some amazing things there and met some wonderful people. The staff and the volunteers there are genuine ,caring people, and some have become some of my closest friends. I believe so much in the mission of Camp Sunshine that I can hardly wait to go each year. Volunteering there has enriched my life ,and I'm grateful to have found Camp Sunshine

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

In June 2012, our daughter was diagnosed with a low grade brain tumor. 6 weeks later, our family spent a week at Camp Sunshine. We met about 30 other families going through the same thing and many of them have become close friends. The support and love offered to the families by the staff and volunteers is unparalleled. We were blessed to be able to attend another week at Camp Sunshine this past summer and it felt like a family reunion. Having a week spent with people that truly understand the trials and tribulations of being a cancer family is such a reenergizing experience. Plus, to have a week of fun for the whole family is just amazing. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing. Camp Sunshine is a little slice of Heaven on earth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

There is no place as helpful and as healing as Camp Sunshine. We'd be lost without it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more of them to serve more people in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

In May 2006 our daughter Olivia was diagnosed at the age of 7 with Osteosarcoma, a bone tumor in her knee. After a year of debilitating treatment and a leg salvage surgery which left her wearing a prosthetic in order to walk, our famliy was burnt out. I had spent the greater part of a year in the hospital with Olivia and my husband had spent his time working and taking care of our 3 year old Camille. We were ready for some family time and some fun. In June 2007 we went to Camp Sunshine where we were pampered, loved and rejuvinated. We have been back many many times since then, and always it is just what our family needs. Now that the kids are older, we are volunteering at Camp and are happy to share what camp has done for us with families that are still in need of the love and nuturing that Camp Sunshine offers. They are the best at what they do and they never stop trying to improve the facility, the programs and themselves. b.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My son and I have been blessed to have been able to attend Camp Sunshine for several years. I cannot express how wonderful it has been to have a place to meet with other families going through the same difficulties. The volunteers are terrific, and it is a pleasure to not have to worry about whether or not my child is getting adequate care when I am in adult sessions. He thinks Camp Sunshine is fantastic, and neither of us can wait to return each year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make each year's schedule even sooner, so that I can get the next year's dates on my calendar as quickly as possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 13, 2012

Camp Sunshine is truly one of a kind. It is tough to readjust to the real world after being at camp, because it seems like an entirely different world. After five years of volunteering I have seen the... more

October 29, 2013

After volunteering at Camp for 5 years I took up an internship position over the summer working behind the scenes, and all it did was make Camp sunshine even more magical for me. Every single person, and I emphasize that I mean EVERY person, involved with Camp Sunshine is nothing short of amazing. Camp Sunshine to me represents a different world, one that I wouldn't mind living in forever. From the families to the volunteers to the staff, there is a great sense of family and togetherness that for me, only exists in one small piece of land in Casco, ME. If every other organization is rated from 1-5 stars, Camp Sunshine gets a sixth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012

Camp Sunshine is truly one of a kind. It is tough to readjust to the real world after being at camp, because it seems like an entirely different world. After five years of volunteering I have seen the long term impact of Camp Sunshine on families; how it represents a community to them, a place where they finally have the time to be happy again. Families and volunteers come from not only all around the country, but from around the world for this one of a kind experience that they will never forget. There is not a cause in this world I am more passionate about than what Camp Sunshine does for children with life-threatening illnesses and their families. I would have given them 100 stars if I could have!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2013

more

January 15, 2013

My husband and I have volunteered at Camp Sunshine for the last 7 years and we look forward to our colunteer week each year. We love being able to provide a wonderful vacation for these families that otherwise might not take a vacation due to their child's illness. In all honesty, I think we get more out of the experience than the families do, we get to meet great friends, keep in touch with some wonderful families, watch children grow, and make people smile all while having fun ourselves. The Camp offers lots of activities for kids and adults alike, the staff is very hands on and involved, you can always find someone to assist you when needed, and the volunteers are attentive and top-notch. We have also given financially to Camp and have encouraged others to volunteer or donate as they could.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The majority of Camp Sunshine's 2,500 volunteers who give of their time annually come and volunteer for a week when the camp is in session. However, those with less time may contribute a few hours helping maintain the campus, assisting with mailings, organizing closets and activity rooms, gardening, etc.. Volunteer