Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

The support of the Camp program resources assists volunteers in offering the most outstanding camp experience for the children and their families. I have volunteered each year since 2004 and plan on ... more

March 25, 2014

I started volunteering at Camp Sunshine 10 years ago as a chaperone for our high school group. I have bought about a dozen students each year to volunteer each summer at Camp Sunshine. I have also recruited my husband to volunteer. We have even volunteered on other weeks and weekends without having to chaperone my high school students because we believe in the program that Camp Sunshine offers the families in attendance. The connections you make with the families, other volunteers, and Camp staff are special.
November 10, 2012

The support of the Camp program resources assists volunteers in offering the most outstanding camp experience for the children and their families. I have volunteered each year since 2004 and plan on continuing. Besides volunteering with my husband many camp sessions I bring 10-12 high school students to volunteer as well. The opportunity to give back and make a difference in the campers and their families lives is so rewarding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Our youngest son has a brain tumor, so our life is very stressful. We went to Camp Sunshine on the recommendation of our hospital social worker. Are we glad we took advantage of his recommendation. There is no place else in the world like Camp Sunshine. Every member of our family has been blessed by our association with Camp Sunshine. My sons who do not have the brain tumor go there and for that week are free from worries. They connect with other kids with similar circumstances. The staff and volunteers love them and treat them like royalty. Our son with the brain tumor, has a one on one (who loves him like a brother), which allows my wife and I to connect with other parents. There are times of laughter and lightheartedness, time of tears and sorrow which all minister to our souls. We are better for meeting these courageous parents. I have never met such a caring staff and group of volunteers. They are friends for life.

Donations to Camp Sunshine are an investment that pay rich dividends.
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Our family has been fortunate enough to attend Camp Sunshine since 2009 when our daughter Abby, who then was 3 years old, was diagnosed with leukemia. She also has Down syndrome and sometimes finding people that would accept her with not one but both diagnosis and just allow her to be a normal kid was hard to find. We were extremely blessed to find Camp Sunshine. The staff and all the wonderful volunteers there have made amazing memories with us. Abby (as well as her siblings and parents) LOVE going to camp. She gets so excited and refers to it as Hands Up (it's a song that is traditionally sung at camp). Our family is able to relax and just be. Our children are able to be focused on individually, which is common place for Abby but not so for her siblings which is unfortunate but a reality in our life. Her sister Elisabeth finally found a place that worries about her and her needs and she isn't "Abby's sister" she's Elisabeth, her own individual. The bonds and friendships we have made with other families as well as the volunteers has been indescribable. Several of our families have such a bond that we try to reunite there every year if possible. We cannot thank Camp Sunshine's staff, volunteers and the donors who all make it possible for families like ours to have a place that each member of our family feels comfortable at.
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

I have been blessed by Camp Sunshine in numerous ways. As a bereaved parent, I found Camp 3 years after losing my daughter to mitochondrial disease. I live in Maine and never knew there was a camp for families who had lost children to disease. Although we were very lucky to have support as my daughter got sicker, my 2 younger children found others like them who had experienced the loss of a sibling -- something quite unique.

In the past couple of years, I've been able to give back to Camp, by volunteering in numerous ways during the bereavement sessions. This is also important to me, as it gives me an opportunity to help others who may be newer in their grief journey.

Currently, my family and I are taking a break, as my children become older and can also volunteer! Thanks so much, Camp Sunshine!!
Theresa Gaetjens

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reach out more to other life-threatening diseases, such as mitochondrial disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Last summer I had the privilege of volunteering for one week at a Camp Sunshine brain tumor session. The camp is a delightful, happy, modern, clean and well-run facility. Staff and volunteers do everything they can to make the families attending feel relaxed, special and like they are on vacation. The families have time to bond as a family and they have separate child and adult time--it's a great balance. There are plenty of smiles and laughter and also a few tears. I'm looking forward to returning again this summer! Happy 30th Anniversary Camp Sunshine!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Camp Sunshine is wonderful family experience! My daughter was diagnosed with ALL at age 10 and I meet and became a stronger parent/care giver at Camp Sunshine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Camp Sunshine is truly the happiest and brightest place to be. I volunteered for the first time four years ago and it completely changed my life for the better. The highlight of my year is being able to volunteer, meet new families, reconnect with old and help allow these families experience a vacation they will never forget. At camp it isn't about the diseases that define the child but getting to know the child for who they truly are. The staff is amazing, the campus is breath taking and it truly is a home away from home. Volunteering at camp has brought me to my future career goals to become a child life specialist. I will continue to volunteer year after year! It is rewarding to be able to see the families and volunteers come together in remembering what life is all about. We come together to multiply our joy and happiness and divide our troubles. Camp Sunshine will always be my favorite place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Camp Sunshine provided my family with amazing memories during an extremely stressful and upsetting time. It was the first time that our family felt like we were not alone. It was a great experience that always brings a smile to our faces.
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

We are the parents of three children; tweleve, ten and seven years old . On May 6th 2005 our lives were forever changed when our 18 month old (now ten years old), was diagnosed with Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (ALL). On this journey we have certainly learned some valuable life lessons, and got a serious education in blood related cancers and the associated treatments. Through all our ups and downs, we can truly say that we’ve been blessed to meet quite a few wonderful people. One of our highlights has been our visits to Camp Sunshine, which continues to exceed our expectations.
The Staff of Camp Sunshine always prepares unforgettable experiences, from the games to the Group Sessions. Their meticulous planning, efforts and hard work is evident and truly appreciated. The entire Camp Sunshine facility is absolutely amazing! The Volunteers, who gave of themselves, their selflessness, support, love and open hearts could never be re-paid. They gave so much to us and to our children. The kitchen staff prepared absolutely delicious meals for us. Visiting Camp Sunshine afforded us the opportunity to meet people that we may have never met. It provided us with much needed parental group therapy, and the opportunity to enjoy life to the fullest, without worry, for a few days. It is our belief that we have made some bonds with Our Fellow Sunshine Parents and their families; whose warmth and kindness allowed us to share our story, as well as listen to theirs. There is amazing comfort and extra strength that comes from knowing that we are not alone on this journey. And as it continues, we trust that these bonds will last a lifetime.
These experiences could not have been possible without Camp Sunshine. The words “Thank You” almost do not seem to be enough to truly express our heartfelt gratitude for Camp Sunshine. Camp Sunshine is truly like nothing else!

Go Camp Sunshine!!!
March 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

Wow to be able to tell the world about Camp Sunshine is such an honor. My daughter was the first in our family to volunteer she was 16 at the time. When she came home she was so excited and so uplif... more

March 25, 2014

Wow what to say about Camp Sunshine. Smiles, laughter, fun, friendship and oh so much more. I have been involved in non-profits before as a volunteer but never one quite as loving, caring, compassionate and dedicated as this camp is. From the relentless dedicated staff who make sure that families have everything they need from arrival to departure, to the thousands of volunteers that are attracted to the camp and what it stands for. And what it stands for to the many who come through the doors – HOPE. The bonding that takes place between the campers themselves, as well as the volunteers is simply amazing. No one is left behind, what I mean is that every family member is treated as royalty. They have so many activities (from sports, to arts and crafts, games, singing and dancing, just to name a few) for the different age groups, from the littlest camper to the biggest, each individual is special . Winter, spring, summer or fall the camps activity is on-going. Certainly anyone who has a child with a life-threatening illness whether near or far should come to camp, it will change your life, you will leave rejuvenated. If you are interested in volunteering this camp will also change your life, as it has mine, you will leave exhausted but the joy inside your heart is like nothing else, knowing that you have spent the week in such a hopeful, respectful and loving environment and you WILL want to do it again. It is and always will be an honor to volunteer for such an outstanding non-profit as Camp Sunshine is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not.....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012

Wow to be able to tell the world about Camp Sunshine is such an honor. My daughter was the first in our family to volunteer she was 16 at the time. When she came home she was so excited and so uplifted about her experience I couldn’t wait to go. A couple of years went by and because of life I was unable to go but it nagged at me. So in 2010 I decided no more excuses I was going and I invited my sister who was recovering from breast cancer. That decision changed my life, working with families and children who everyday struggle with so much more than the rest of us made me realize just how lucky my family, friends and I were. Camp Sunshine became my purpose in life, I don’t have a lot of money, but I do have time and I am so grateful that I found that time in 2010 because I came home and shared my feelings and now my children, their friends, and my neighbors are all volunteering. Camp Sunshine is like a fine tuned machine, the staff and volunteers (who are all so absolutely wonderful) are there for the families and the families who are lucky enough to come have the experience of a life time. For the first time many families are relaxed, they can breathe easy for a few days, experience friendship with people who understand their plight, and most importantly they have fun. I along with many other volunteers walk away with a feeling of such pride to have been able to walk beside volunteers, staff and families for those few days. And many of us make lifetime friends, I am happy to say that I now volunteer a few times a year and I consider that one of the greatest blessings in my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The majority of Camp Sunshine's 2,500 volunteers who give of their time annually come and volunteer for a week when the camp is in session. However, those with less time may contribute a few hours helping maintain the campus, assisting with mailings, organizing closets and activity rooms, gardening, etc.. Volunteer