Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2013

After our precious daughter was taken from us by cancer, our family struggled with day to day life. We attended Camp 6 months after she passed and it was like a breath of fresh air. There aren't man... more

April 15, 2014

Our family first attended Camp Sunshine five months after my daughter, Mary, died from hepatoblastoma, a rare liver cancer. The services offered by Camp Sunshine and the connections we made at that session and all subsequent sessions have been a LIFE LINE for our family as we wade through being a bereaved family. I highly recommend Camp Sunshine to any family that is struggling with pediatric cancer and bereavement.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

After our precious daughter was taken from us by cancer, our family struggled with day to day life. We attended Camp 6 months after she passed and it was like a breath of fresh air. There aren't many programs that assist families in treatment as well as bereaved families. We will be forever grateful for the love, compassion and support we have received from Camp Sunshine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get Camp Sunshine more funding to hold even more sessions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 30, 2014

more

March 30, 2014

Our family first went to Camp Sunshine in July of 2002, ten months after my four year old son was diagnosed with Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia. It was so nice to be around people who did not judge us for how we looked or acted. Instead, they accepted and embraced us. We had a wonderful time and returned the following year for another extraordinary vacation. We always vowed to go back and volunteer there some day. Two years ago, my 17 year old daughter just that, and had an amazing experience. Last year, my husband and I joined her and had the opportunity to meet families who were going through the same agony that we had endured several years ago.

I am happy to say that my son, a leukemia survivor, will be joining us as a volunteer this year.
March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

Having a child with a very rare disease makes it hard to find other families who understand what we go through. Being at Camp Sunshine helped us to connect with other families going through our situation and with the specialists that treat her disease. It was such an amazing week in our lives and our daughter really enjoyed being like other kids.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2014

more

March 27, 2014

When our daughter was diagnosed with Lupus we did not know where to turn for support. Our lives had been upended, our daughter had spent the summer receiving chemotherapy treatments and becasue of predinisone her physical appearance was changing before our eyes. She wanted to find a camp where she would fit in. We wanted to find someplace that would provide support and information. At Camp Sunshine, we found all this and more! Our time there remains an important part of lives and we talk about friends from Camp Sunshine, information we have learned there and support we have received. We are so greatful this camp exists! They run an absolutely top notch program!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

In a nutshell, the week I spent volunteering at Camp Sunshine was the best week of my life! I am so excited to go back, and work with all the wonderful counclers and campers. Camp Sunshine is a wond... more

March 26, 2014

I started volunteering at Camp Sunshine at 16, as soon as I was able, and since then my life has never been quite the same. Camp Sunshine further confirmed my aspirations to be a Registered Nurse, and showed me true resiliance. Through the love and pure strength I recieved from the families, I learned a lot about life at a young age and feel so blessed to be a part of the Camp Sunshine community. There is no better feeling than making a sick child smile, and there are plenty of smiles to go around at Camp Sunshine. The staff are incredible and extremely dedicated. Every single person in that environment has a determination to help others, and it is a beautiful thing to witness. I've been many places, but Camp Sunshine remains my favorite place on this earth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to tell the whole world what they're doing there. I'd help them spread the word even more about how much good is being done. The organization is wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

In a nutshell, the week I spent volunteering at Camp Sunshine was the best week of my life! I am so excited to go back, and work with all the wonderful counclers and campers. Camp Sunshine is a wonderful place full of people with such big hearts. I spread the word as much as I can, so more people will go volunteer. Every child is given a week not only to be "normal" but to be extraordinary. It is so wonderful to see the parents having a good time, and see how happy all of the kids are. It is a contagious feeling in the atmosphere. Without a doubt, I'd call it the best place on earth, and I'm only a volunteer. I can't even begin to fathom what the children must feel. There is not a place the can compare to Camp Sunshine!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

When I first heard about Camp Sunshine, I thought "this sounds too goo to be true." My family traveled from California and what we found waiting on the other end was more than I could ever have imagined. My daughter is a cancer survivor. We attended Retinoblastoma camp (eye cancer.) Seeing her interact with other kids who have or are traveling the same road as she was a life building experience. She realized that having only one eye doesn't mean she is any different than any other kids out there. The support and fun they provided to our whole family is something none of us will ever forget. We made lifetime friends with both the families who attended as well as with the camp itself. Definitely a 5 star week.
March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

When my daughter and I decided to volunteer at Camp Sunshine the first time, we knew it was going to be an amazing experience. NEVER in our wildest dreams did we think it would be as incredible as it is. Camp Sunshine is in our hearts forever and has become one of the best parts of our lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

What keeps me coming back to Camp Sunshine year after year? Could it be the small, yet wonderful, caring staff who treat everyone so warmly? Is it the families who entrust their most valuable possessions (their children) to me during the sessions, and stay in touch with me throughout the years? Is it the medical professionals who are on call 24-7? Is it the clean facilities? The various activities? The army of volunteers of all ages and from all over the country? The wonderful 3 meals a day? The evening entertainment? The wish boats? Or is it, that Camp Sunshine is the place where kids can be kids, and no one is "different"? It is all of these things, and so much more, and I am so fortunate to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

Our son has a life threatening disease, Fanconi anemia. He has already lived through a bone marrow transplant and is highly susceptible to many cancers. Camp Sunshine is a place for families and patients to feel normal and deal with the trauma that horrific medical conditions can bring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

My family has been blessed to attend Camp Sunshine for multiple sessions. Camp Sunshine provides an
exciting experience for both children and adults. Parents can meet together for fun and discussion groups, while the best volunteers care for your children so both the kids and parents can
have a true camp experience. My family has made life long friends that we stay in touch with all year long. They have become family that we always look forward to seeing every year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

The majority of Camp Sunshine's 2,500 volunteers who give of their time annually come and volunteer for a week when the camp is in session. However, those with less time may contribute a few hours helping maintain the campus, assisting with mailings, organizing closets and activity rooms, gardening, etc.. Volunteer