Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

My son is a graduate this year with great saddness from Camp Odayin in other words he will be 18 and over the age to go next year. this was his 10th year of camp and each year as camp gets closer he has been remembering and talking about his friends and previous years experiences. Camp Odayin has given him self confidence and taught him he is not alone with a chest scar and previous heart problem. The staff and Counselors have been very profesional while making this a fun experience for the kids. The cost for this great camp has been minimal especialy when you get to see the pictures of all the activites and all the smiles on kids that just may not have had another chance to go to a summer camp

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

dont change a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

Every year this is one of my son's favorite weeks. The activities, staff and fellow campers are amazing. What a great organization! My son's comment when he arrived home "Mom, that was an awesome week!" and for a teenager to say that....pretty incredible!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

Disappointed in the Training of the counselors/staff - as they take volunteers-it's very transient. Kids with heart disease are affected emotionally more than just limited activities. All the fun camp stuff is great but these kids have things going on and they admit they aren't prepared to deal with them - though they advertise they give emotional guidance and direction and support.
The volunteer staff don't realize that as its short term good intention for them and they are following the leadership who doesn't want any disagreements. any disruptions just need to just go away until they are done at the end of the week. They could teach in that moment instead their leadership finds someone to take the blame, and any challenge and it comes down harder and harder.

I was asked to take my review down - but I said I wouldn't as I think if unread this I would've realized it wasn't a fit for my son. It might be for some - but he just isn't happy and felt the opposite of accepted seeing how things were run with him and others.

My kid was recently diagnosed 2 years ago and had 2 heart surgeries, where a lot of kids who attend were born with issues, the personal outlooks are different. Levels of limitations through life and understanding and acceptance differ. This camp is very very structured in activity, but not counseling or emotional needs which we believed were going to be the key component we were looking for. My kid hasn't been restricted before and wasn't now, so the activity level was less challenging then other camps so wasn't as impressed as other kids are, and the emotional value we hoped to get wasn't there. My kid felt like an outsider. So I guess when filling out the application and the mention the "right fit" this is what they are talking about and for the right camper it is.
The wrong fit can be harmful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It has a lot of good things - buts key missing quality component for the situations that don't fit the perfect "camper". in an age of self discovery they are surprised by issues and need to have consistent and trained staff for adolescent behavior - especially with what these kids have had to deal with - not just have nurses to give meds out and doc on site. Some adolescent heart disease coping / emotional leadership is what I at least expected and find out is missing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

Our son Kyle has been diagnosed with Long QT Syndrome. Kyle attended Camp Odayin for the first time last summer and had an experience he will never forget. For the first time since he was diagnosed he had the freedom and the confidence to join in and forget about his condition and limitations. Camp Odayin creates a magical safe exciting place for sick kids to blend in and enjoy being a kid.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

My son is still too young to be a camper during the day camp & sleep away. He's only four. But we have been a part of Camp Odayin's Family camp for the last three years. It has been a wonderful experience for both him and I. We've met fantastic families and love seeing the Camp Odayin staffers each year.

Chase was the youngest camper to attend Family Camp three years ago. It was a little daunting to hand my child off to someone I just met so I could share in the Parents Time and participate in the Q&A with the Pediatric Cardiologist. Of course I had nothing to worry about. Chase had a blast with Matt and the older kids.

Each year we look forward to Family Camp- I don't know who gets more excited me or him! It is so nice to have a home away from home. My kiddo will grow up with kids like him and I have the support of parents who have gone thru this journey before me. I am forever thankful I found Camp Odayin.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

I attended camp Odayin for 3 years! During my time their I was able to make life-long friends that understand what it is like living with a heart condition. I felt like it was a place where I truly belonged. The staff their were all very friendly and made camp even more enjoyable. I hope to one day be able to give back to Camp Odayin as they have given so much to me! I am a completely different person now than I was before I went to camp. I have so much more confidence!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Two years ago I was convinced by some amazing Moms to allow my Oldest daughter who has Marfan syndrome to attend Camp Odayin. The only place she had slept without me was at my parents house. But she was excited to go and be part of the residential camp experience. I agreed to let her go because I knew this would probably be the only Camp suitable for her needs. She came back home a different girl, with more passion for life than she already had, she came back independent, strong, powerful. Last year my youngest decided to take the risk and experiment residential camp. On their return date she cried because she wished camp was longer, because she didn't want to let go of her cabin sisters and all the wonderful people at Camp. Throughout the whole year we deal with the anxiety at least once or twice a month of her stating she just can't wait until Camp, the wait is too long. This year we have our 11 year old going for her third time and our 10 year old going for her second time and even though other plans might have to be cancelled, family gatherings missed we are all happy to do it just for the smiles and memories that are made at Camp Odayin.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Forget Disney... Camp Odayin is the most magical place on earth! I was a camper for 3 years, only because I didn't find out about it until I was 13. I live in West Virginia, but the trip out to MN was completely worth it. Before Odayin, I had attended other summer camps, but never had an enjoyable experience due to misunderstandings about my heart condition. At Odayin, I was never made fun of for my scars or not being able to "keep up," and best of all, I got to meet other kids just like me! I had never met anyone else with a heart condition that was my age, and having that opportunity was truly life-changing. I am now pursuing a degree in Biology/ Pre-Medicine to prepare for a career in pediatric cardiology. I have the confidence to follow my dreams, and hope to return as a volunteer physician (shout out to Dr. Chip)!

THANK YOU, Camp Odayin!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Camp Odayin helped my son forget about his heart for a short time each summer and makes him feel like just one of the kids. Words cannot express the gratitude I feel and my family feels for just a wonderful place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2012

more

August 19, 2012

Camp Odayin not only has a summer residential program, but it's efforts to support kids with heart disease is year 'round. My daughter has learned fantastic leadership skills and has gained immeasurable confidence from all its programming. She loves family camp, winter camp, and the community/ fundraising events. It's a yearlong endeavor for her -- and us! The staff is amazing -- knowledgeable, professional, and caring.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers