Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.93225
Write A Review
May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

This summer will be my sixth summer as a camp nurse at Odayin. When I signed up six years ago, I was expecting to enjoy a week away at camp, on a lake, with some fun kids. What I ended up with was a life-changing week and a second "family." The kids weren't just fun, they were amazing. I was with the oldest kids (ages 14-17) and was blown away by the respect and concern they showed for others. Everyone was included, no matter their looks or level of ability. As someone who has worked with kids for years, this was nothing short of amazing (especially for teens!). At camp there are no bullies or hurt feelings; only friends, encouragement, and smiles. The kids make life-long friends and it is pretty cool to see.

Camp itself is also like nothing I ever experienced in my days at camp as a kid. The cabins are clean and comfortable, the food tastes great, and the activities for the kids are ridiculously awesome. The summer staff up at Camp K are super qualified and always have fun things planned.

Lastly, the Odayin staff and volunteers are great. The staff are organized and enthusiastic. They treat the volunteers and kids with the utmost appreciation and respect. The volunteers are awesome people with huge hearts. I have made some of my closest friends with fellow staff and volunteers at camp.

Camp really is just one of the most fun, amazing, life-changing places in the world. It is not an understatement to call Odayin a "family." I hope to still be volunteering there as a nurse in thirty years when I am old and gray!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

Our son Kyle has been diagnosed with Long QT Syndrome. Kyle attended Camp Odayin for the first time last summer and had an experience he will never forget. For the first time since he was diagnosed he had the freedom and the confidence to join in and forget about his condition and limitations. Camp Odayin creates a magical safe exciting place for sick kids to blend in and enjoy being a kid.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

This will be my fourth summer volunteering at Camp Odayin as a camp doctor. This is a tremendous organization that offers a unique and amazing experience to children with heart disease. Part of this is ensuring that activities are safe and that staff is well-trained so that parents rest assured that their children are cared for while away. Fantastic leadership. I only hope they are able to expand further geographically in the near future so that more people can benefit from the services they provide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

My son is still too young to be a camper during the day camp & sleep away. He's only four. But we have been a part of Camp Odayin's Family camp for the last three years. It has been a wonderful experience for both him and I. We've met fantastic families and love seeing the Camp Odayin staffers each year.

Chase was the youngest camper to attend Family Camp three years ago. It was a little daunting to hand my child off to someone I just met so I could share in the Parents Time and participate in the Q&A with the Pediatric Cardiologist. Of course I had nothing to worry about. Chase had a blast with Matt and the older kids.

Each year we look forward to Family Camp- I don't know who gets more excited me or him! It is so nice to have a home away from home. My kiddo will grow up with kids like him and I have the support of parents who have gone thru this journey before me. I am forever thankful I found Camp Odayin.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

I attended camp Odayin for 3 years! During my time their I was able to make life-long friends that understand what it is like living with a heart condition. I felt like it was a place where I truly belonged. The staff their were all very friendly and made camp even more enjoyable. I hope to one day be able to give back to Camp Odayin as they have given so much to me! I am a completely different person now than I was before I went to camp. I have so much more confidence!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Two years ago I was convinced by some amazing Moms to allow my Oldest daughter who has Marfan syndrome to attend Camp Odayin. The only place she had slept without me was at my parents house. But she was excited to go and be part of the residential camp experience. I agreed to let her go because I knew this would probably be the only Camp suitable for her needs. She came back home a different girl, with more passion for life than she already had, she came back independent, strong, powerful. Last year my youngest decided to take the risk and experiment residential camp. On their return date she cried because she wished camp was longer, because she didn't want to let go of her cabin sisters and all the wonderful people at Camp. Throughout the whole year we deal with the anxiety at least once or twice a month of her stating she just can't wait until Camp, the wait is too long. This year we have our 11 year old going for her third time and our 10 year old going for her second time and even though other plans might have to be cancelled, family gatherings missed we are all happy to do it just for the smiles and memories that are made at Camp Odayin.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Last year was my first year as a "Camp Doc" at Camp Odayin - after hearing so many great things from my patients, it was great to get to finally go experience camp myself! Wonderful place filled with the best, most positive and uplifting folks you can imagine. I'm excited that I have several patients that will be going to camp this year for the first time. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Forget Disney... Camp Odayin is the most magical place on earth! I was a camper for 3 years, only because I didn't find out about it until I was 13. I live in West Virginia, but the trip out to MN was completely worth it. Before Odayin, I had attended other summer camps, but never had an enjoyable experience due to misunderstandings about my heart condition. At Odayin, I was never made fun of for my scars or not being able to "keep up," and best of all, I got to meet other kids just like me! I had never met anyone else with a heart condition that was my age, and having that opportunity was truly life-changing. I am now pursuing a degree in Biology/ Pre-Medicine to prepare for a career in pediatric cardiology. I have the confidence to follow my dreams, and hope to return as a volunteer physician (shout out to Dr. Chip)!

THANK YOU, Camp Odayin!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Camp Odayin helped my son forget about his heart for a short time each summer and makes him feel like just one of the kids. Words cannot express the gratitude I feel and my family feels for just a wonderful place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2012

more

August 19, 2012

Camp Odayin not only has a summer residential program, but it's efforts to support kids with heart disease is year 'round. My daughter has learned fantastic leadership skills and has gained immeasurable confidence from all its programming. She loves family camp, winter camp, and the community/ fundraising events. It's a yearlong endeavor for her -- and us! The staff is amazing -- knowledgeable, professional, and caring.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers