Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It was a privilege to attend the camp as their photographer. Seeing the kids and all the volunteers through the lens of a camera is amazing! What the camp does for the children is truly amazing and inspiring. To see the children laugh, play and socialize and to capture that special moment will always be one of the most special highlights of my life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing, they do a wonderful job!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I had the honor of being a volunteer at Camp Koala this year located at Camp Thompson. What I witnessed was beyond amazing. What Camp Koala does is hard to put into words. It takes a very serious topic, grief, and presents it to children and teens in a way that helps them learn how to process, understand, and work through it. The people I met at this camp are unlike any I have seen, they are truly dedicated, passionate, giving, and have so much to teach.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the program even more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been blessed to meet the fine, selfless people who volunteer their time and energy and the wonderful individuals who have participated in from Camp Koala. This is an amazing organization which helps not just children, but families heal. The benefits will be felt for generations!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

After I went (to the Family Workshop) I had a healthier way of dealing with my Mom's illness, and enjoyed hearing others share. A very worth while time for me, and I hope the program grows and reaches out to the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 4, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

My son attended Camp Koala in 2010. He loved the experience. It was good for him to see that there are other kids, like him, who have experienced the loss of a close relative. It made him feel less 'different' and less alone. He still mentions the weekend from time to time and is hoping that someday he can be a volunteer. It truly is a wonderful experience for these children who have had a devastating loss in their lives. I am so glad that I learned about the camp and was able to make it possible for my son to participate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I am very proud to be a volunteer at Camp Koala. I have witnessed the companionship and support given and received, and the healing process throughout the camp weekend. Volunteers have given their all, and children have had so much fun. What a great group of people. Kids learn to be kids again! If you are a donor, this is a great place to entrust your money to, its money well spent. I am proud to be associated with such wonderful people. Thank you for this wonderful experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Camp Koala is a children's grief camp. It takes what sounds sad and lonely and turns it into a joyous weekend for children who've experienced the most unfair of losses, their parent or sibling. Our 4th annual camp happens in early June this year, with all the spots filled months before camp. We hope to expand Camp Koala from helping 6 to 12 year olds by adding a camp for teens too, and eventually a family camp, where all the surviving members of a grieving family can share a fun weekend and learn coping skills. We are working to become a FIVE star organization as we grow bigger and better!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After the loss of a dear friend, her young daughter was able to apply and attend Camp Koala, that was years ago and she still talks about the friends she made, the crafts she created and the fun times she had at the Camp.
Camp Koala is an outstanding opportunity for kids who are dealing with
grief. I've experienced firsthand how much this organization cares about kids. Attending the camp really makes a difference in a child's life following a loss of a loved one. I can’t think of a greater cause than helping children cope at a time when they have few options available. Thank goodness for the many volunteers who put their time and talents forth and give of their precious time to help children they don’t even know. This organization is really making a difference in the community they serve.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the returning camper, filled with hope and generally happy as she returned from Camp.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it available to more kids

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

don't remember

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

I have been a volunteer for four years, and I love being a part of this program. I have witnessed the magic of Buddying a child, and seeing them release their anger and bottled up grief. I recommend this camp to any parent or caregiver of a grieving child, or any person who is looking for a volunteer opportunity. If you are a donor, and are looking for a worthy cause, this is definitely a place I would recommend. This has grown so far in such a short time, and is doing such incredible work, I wish you could see it first hand. Magic, magic, magic!! Life changing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 13, 2011

Camp Koala is a wonderful non-profit bereavement camp for kids. I was amazed how the camp weekend was beneficial but also so fun. You could see the kids change as they realized they were not the only ... more

April 13, 2012

As an adult I can see more clearly the importance of grief. I lost my father and brother during my childhood. Camp Koala is a great weekend for grieving kids to get together to support each other but also to feel normal and just have fun. I love leaving camp knowing we made a difference in their lives. They will carry these memories with them always.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2011

Camp Koala is a wonderful non-profit bereavement camp for kids. I was amazed how the camp weekend was beneficial but also so fun. You could see the kids change as they realized they were not the only ones at camp who had lost someone. With continued donations and support Camp Koala will soon grow into teen and family bereavement camps too. I am very blessed to be part of such a great organiztion!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I loved sharing 72 hours with my little buddy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see it continue to grow to touch even more people.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Complete a mailing: address, stamp. Attend camp and set up a meal. Volunteer