Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next
Write A Review
February 26, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have served as a volunteer for Camp Horizon for many years. The Camp Horizon experience is "magical" for both the campers and volunteers. The camp provides a family like experience that fosters resilience in the most fragile youth. Children who have experienced abuse and/or neglect have the opportunity to escape their daily stressors and focus on the joys of being a child. Volunteers have an opportunity to make a meaningful impact in the lives of children who need it most! Each moment of camp is sprinkled with intentional acts of love!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have been apart of Camp Horizon since of the age 9 now that I'm 23 going on 24 I am grateful for Camp Horizon. They do great work with the many different campers that come through the organization. They are hard workers and believe in the vision of changing youth lives. Opening up the youth mind to different aspects of life and culture. Helping each and every child to open up and be their true selves. My honest open opinion we need more organizations and dedicated people like them. CAMP HORIZON ROCKS!!! We have a purpose we have potentiality and they help the campers realize this.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

We have been volunteering with Camp Horizon for over 13 years and realize how important the mission of this organization is to the kids they serve. Foster care, in many cases, is a poor fix to a problem outside the control of the children who are in the system. We have witnessed year after year how this organization teaches these children what proper love looks like, and in the process welcomes each of them into a family of unconditional love. With the creation of the programs for teens and young adults the organization has been able to continue to mentor these youths through the ups and downs of these critical years to lay a foundation that will help them make their way in this world.

You can be a part of the mission through volunteering or financial support. We have witnessed personally how far this organization can stretch its resources and the sacrifices they will go to in order to serve these kids of exceptional promise. Come join the fun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Being involved with Camp Horizon has been life changing both for the children in foster care that Camp Horizon serves, but also everyone who is involved with these children.

I have been privileged to have known some of these children from the time they were 8 years old and entered our
program to their graduation from high school and college. For many of these children, the adults they have known through Camp Horizon have been the most constant thing in their lives. As they are often moved from foster home to foster home, they have very little sense of stability or self worth. Camp Horizon provides them with both stability and unconditional love.

I couldn't be more proud to be involved with this organization.

It is truly life changing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

What could possibly be more important than helping to heal the wounded heart of a child? What could demand more action than child abuse? Who could be more vulnerable than a child in foster care?

Camp horizon has no famous spokesperson. They have no advertising budget. They have no
lobbyists or political action committees. What they do have are the most dedicated, compassionate volunteers I have ever known.

Because of these volunteers and the programs designed by them, 82% of Camp Horizon youth graduate high school compared to 46% in foster care nationwide. 64% of them go on to college compared to only 20% in foster care nationwide.

For over 30 years Camp Horizon has been making a positive impact on not just the lives of the children they’ve touched, but on the communities that they live in. I am proud to be a donor, volunteer and board member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was initially introduced to Camp Horizon through my work as a youth development and social work professional, and began volunteering in 2004. My volunteer experience over the past 8 years has given me behind the scenes access to the heart and professionalism of this organization, its staff, board, and volunteers. It is easy to see upon a visit to Summer Camp or by volunteering to assist at Outings and events, how much painstaking care goes into quality program design and volunteer training. Even more important, the number of campers turned volunteers indicate the sheer power of this program and ability to reach children and youth when and where they need it most. I'm proud to be a volunteer and donor of Camp Horizon.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I started with Camp Horizon in 2006 at Summer Camp, where each year I volunteer as a mentoring counselor to one little girl between the ages of 8 and 11. We spend the week doing fun summer camp things, but it's our 1:1 match that makes camp so special for these children. Our campers are in foster care. They have suffered abuse, neglect, trauma and loss. They often live a life of chaos. We provide for them a safe haven, where they can be themselves, interact with other kids like themselves and feel, maybe for the first time, what it means to be surrounded by love, support, compassion, encouragement and affirmation.

Maybe for the first time our young campers realize that they are good at something. Some come to us barely able to speak their names above a whisper. Many need help with the basics, like learning how to wash properly. We use positive reinforcement. We talk about the 3R's: respect, responsibility and resilience. The ability of children to bounce back is innate, but somehow for children of abuse, it seems even more remarkable.

The positive changes we see within only a couple days of summer camp are almost unbelievable if I hadn't witnessed it myself for the last 7 years. A former Board Member of ours is a psychotherapist, and equated our one week of camp to one full year of therapy. By fostering the mentoring relationship, the trust builds, and in time, depending on their coping mechanisms, our children may break out of their shells, build confidence, exude better behavior, and lead in a group of their peers.

Volunteering with Camp Horizon is the best and most meaningful thing I do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

| 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers